We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized rooms, central location”
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here as a family of four, the room was a good size and layout and was clean and well presented. Serve yourself breakfast included in the price which was fine. The pool and hot tubs were clean and decent temperatures. Good location with free parking so you can walk easily to all of the shops and restaurants that Banff has to offer.

Room Tip: Family rooms are a good size - we had a ground floor one which meant we had a small space outside to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for High Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 427 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. It was clean and modern, We walked downtown a couple times. Breakfast bar was ok. I would stay there again. The ice machine was broken and we were told to go next door for ice. That was ok. We were really glad we didnt' stay next door because it smelled musty and was dirty. I do not know the name of that hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel had a lot of hallways and turns in it. i got lost a couple times but it wasn't a prob...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennesseetraveler573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is very close to downtown - 3 blocks. They offer a continental breakfast that for most people works great. The rooms are clean and ours was roomy. Our view was of 2 mountains which was a request that we asked for and they provided. The rates are better than most and affordable. The pool and 2 hot tubs were well maintained. The only concern is the underground parking - if you drive a larger vehicle you are limited to a 6' 1" restriction. Our truck made it by 2 inches - be sure to measure or know your height!
The staff were excellent and very helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and had no issues.

Room Tip: When booking ask for Cascade Mountain view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights in one queen room and 1 king room. When we arrived check in was easy, but the king rooms patio door wouldn't lock, so they were moved to another room with a fireplace a Jacuzzi. the queen room was very nice but it had an old a/c that was very loud when turned on and basically didn't work.
I did notice a few of the rooms had the sink on the outside of the bathroom and looked strange, but both our rooms had normal washrooms.
I would recommend getting a room on the backside of the hotel as you can hear every vehicle that drives by on the front (and we were on the third floor).
Breakfast was nice, but it didn't offer any hot food. Just waffles, toast, bagels and cereal. not that, that bothered any of us.
It really is in a great location, maybe a 5 minute walk to the downtown. no one in our group complained about doors slamming all night or people talking as I had previously read. My only complaint would be that we didn't seem to get very many channels on the TV. But overall it was a nice hotel, could use a few upgrades such as the carpets, but the rooms don't look old.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a lovely room with separate kitchen and dining table as well as settee. This was one of the the last rooms left when we called on on the spur of the moment and we suspected other guests had chosen the smaller and I guess cheaper. However,we were thrilled with all the space and the cleanliness as well as the fact it was a short stroll to the centre of the town. I don't think all the suites are the same standard though as were offered another next door when our door key didn't work - and that one, while purporting to be a suite, had no separate sink in the kitchen. So - a good hotel - with a very basic breakfast - but near to the town. Just double check what you are getting when you book.

Room Tip: Check what facilities you have.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra201255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a good value hotel, not too far to walk into town, rooms a good size, beds comfortable price fairly reasonable, and the staff friendly and helpful. Does need some TLC however, in our room the kettle was broken, the air con unbearably noisy, and the plumbing in the bathroom was temperamental. For $200 per night, I expect a bit more. It's a good hotel, but needs some investment to get up to 'great'

Room Tip: Check the air con on both low and high settings before you take the room!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks for your great comment.
Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to all our bathrooms. We also recently completed renovations to our pool area, and changed every bed in all our rooms.
Our hotel is getting improved every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This establishment provided everything we needed on our 16 days trip to 3 US national park cabins and 2 Canadian National parks. We were excited to have some modern conveniences, a balcony facing to Banff Ave, TV, WIFI, and a king size bed. The complimentary breakfast was frill free, but okay. The underground free parking was a plus. The staff was courteous and informational.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view according to the desk attentant
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks for the review
I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay at the High Country Inn. Our staff works very hard to ensure all our guests expectations are exceeded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 33 in Banff
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $103 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing