We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here on June 7 for a staff party booking 12 rooms.. Rooms were spacious & very clean. There is an indoor pool & 2 hot tubs that were very clean & great views out very large windows. We did not have any issues our entire stay. Staff were friendly & always at the desk if we had any questions. Balconies are a great bonus to sit outside & enjoy the mountain air. All 23 people in our group would stay again. Great value & location.

Room Tip: I saw 7 different rooms. All were large with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    188
    65
    12
    11
See reviews for
108
159
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

HC Inn has one disabled accessible room. In general, furnishing met expectations and staff was friendly. The disabled room has an L-shaped entrance from the hallway which was accessible with a standard 28" wheelchair, however wider wheelchairs, powerchairs might be more challenging.

Washroom has a roll-in shower with a fold-down bench and a handheld shower head within easy reach of the sitting position.

The toilet grab bars are behind and directly beside the toilet, which is useless when one needs a forward hand hold to lift oneself up from a seated position. Overall bathroom size was small, but it does (barely) accommodate a person in a wheelchair and an assistant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the High Country inn, and it seems it gets better every time. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean. The rooms are nothing fancy yet more than adequate for a quick stop in Banff. You won't be pending much time in your room anyway as there is so much to do in Banff.. Still, it's nice to come back to a friendly atmosphere and a clean room after your day(or night) out in town.
I will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed here a couple times when I am staying in Banff. I like this hotel because it is clean, close to downtown and includes a free breakfast. The staff are always friendly and helpful as well.

The rooms are a decent size and include a mini fridge. If you are looking for something fancy then I would not recommend staying here but if you want a decent, clean hotel then this is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2eatandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location was the best, xo close to downtown!! The hotel was clean, beds we're so comfortable. Breakfast was free so it was for us a good saving!! The pool and the two hot tubs was amazing!! Would stay there again!

Room Tip: I stayed on the banff avenue side. The view was amazing. A little noisy at night but it is Banff aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Upon arrival, we were told there was an additional $50 damage deposit that had to be added to the pre authorization, which I was not told about upon booking the room. (I spoke with someone on the phone directly when booking).
Then when we got to our room, we were very disappointed with what we saw. I understand the pics online are not exactly what every room is going to look like but when we opened the door, we were immediately in front of the bathroom sink. The actual bathroom was very tiny as well.
I was expecting a fireplace and more space but we did not have a fireplace in the suite and it was alot smaller then expected.
Also, we had bought food and needed to put it in the fridge (and had turned the fridge up upon arrival) and noticed the next day when we wanted to eat the food, that the fridge was not working. We did bring this to the attention of the staff member at the front desk but we did not get a discount for the inconvenience, not to mention the money we lost from having to throw out the spoiled food (meat pizza that needed to be refridgerated).
Also, our suite was close to the stairs and the sound of people going up and down the stairs was unreasonably loud. You could also hear the housekeepers talking outside in the hall early in the morning and then all of the loud drunk people that were yelling outside till 2-3am (which I know is out of the hands of the hotel but it still was distruptive when I was trying to sleep) was annoying.
I would not recommend staying here and I will not stay here again.
Extremely disappointed, especially with this being our first time staying in Banff, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on our last night of a 10 day road trip - exactly as expected... nothing fancy, just a basic hotel room which had more than enough room for us. The bathroom was a little tight but worked. Breakfast was nothing special, but the location is great! Walking distance to everything. I have nothing to complain about, the service was good, the room was clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canmore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Property: High Country Inn
Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing