We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient Condo”
Reviewed August 16, 2006

In July we stayed for a week at this convenient condo complex. It has a great location near tunnel mountain away from the chaos of downtown Banff yet within a couple of miles.
The accomodation was large with main floor kitchen, living room and full bath and a loft bedroom with a half bath. It was well equipped and had daily maid service. Our unit had a great balcony with a mountain view on which we spent many evenings. (It stays light very late in the summer).
Our negatives were it was dark with only the sliding door and a skylight for outside light and the indoor lamps needed bigger bulbs and more of them. Also parking, underground was tricky to maneuver.
All the staff were great and helpful.
We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank travelismyjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    398
    157
    68
    39
See reviews for
627
137
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

My wife, kids and I just spent a week at Douglas fir resort, The kids loved the waterpark and were pleasantly suprised by the opening of a giant indoor playground on our last day there.
Our One Bedroom condo was quite large and had everything our family needed.
While this place is not a luxury resort it is perfect for families.

  • Liked — Recreation facilities
  • Disliked — everything was a-okay
  • Tips/Secrets — be prepared to have fun
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

We just got back from our first visit to the Canadian rockies in late June 2006. I picked the Douglas Fir Resort based on Trip Advisor reports. It was a great choice for my wife, myself and our two kids, ages 15 and 10.

I reserved a "loft in lodge" room about six months before our trip. This room has a full kitchen and full bath downstairs, with a pull down queen size bed, fireplace and balcony. Stairs lead to a loft with two queens and another (half) bathroom. A great arrangement for staying with kids. There are two great indoor water slides that the kids loved. It drained a lot of the excess energy out of them. There is an indoor pool as well.

Our only problem was that when we arrived they put us in a "corner" room which faced the road, was noisy and had less privacy (pedestrians could look in our room). My wife called the front desk and luckily for us they put us in the same style room, but facing the other direction. Wow, like night and day!! We got excellent views of the mountains and Bow River valley. Be sure to ask for a mountain view. I would sit on the balcony at night (it never got dark until almost 11 pm) and just soak in the view while sipping a glass of wine.

The resort is about a mile from beautiful downtown Banff, up a hill and in a wooded area. My daughter walked to town round trip one day. Close enough to be accessable, far enough away to avoid the congestion and noise of the town.

We loved Banff. The Bow river, Bow falls, the Banff Springs Hotel, the Canada Day (July 1st) parade were all great. Never had time for the gondola, warm springs or horseback riding. We did drive into British Columbia to do white water rafting on the Kicking Horse River using Wildwater Adventures and they were great as well. Highly recommended for being professional and friendly.

We took the long drive one day to Jasper, the Columbia Icefields and Lake Louise. Jasper is not worth the six hour round trip drive from Banff in my opinion. It is not nearly as nice of a town as Banff. The Columbia Icefield is very interesting and we did see a black bear cub on the side of the road during our drive.

Lake Louise is beautiful, but there is nothing there to the town except the nice hotel and a small mall strip about three miles away by the highway. Lake Morraine and Emerald Lake are both nearby and equally as beautiful as Lake Louise. I recommend staying in Banff for the shopping, restaurants and activities.

Helpful?
13 Thank Greg92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

My husband and I stayed at a loft suite in the lodge. The loft suite could sleep 6 (there were two queen beds in the loft bedroom and one pull out double in the living room) but I think it would be crowded if 6 were to stay in this room. For two, it was spacious. There was a ktchenette (open plan) which was a bit small but had microwave, oven, stove, dishwasher, big fridge and plenty of utensils. Dishwashing liquid was provided, so was salt and pepper. The place was clean and the wood-burning fireplace a delight. Our balcony had a view of Mt Rundle. The on-site laundry operates with 3 dollar and 4 dollar coins (depending on the size of your load) abd there are dryers as well (for additional cost). The small grocery store next door to the laundry was quite well stocked (particularly when you want to buy an ice-cream to enjoy whilst waiting for your laundry) and the people there very helpful and friendly. Car parking was not a problem as the spaces were numbered with the room numbers.

We had a car so travel to Banff was really easy - a couple of minutes away. We saw people walking up the road to the resort area (apart from Douglas Fir there are some other resorts nearby) but the walk would be quite tiring since it is uphill.

Enjoyed our stay at this place. The only thing that I am not sure about is whether or not it would be too hot in the summer. The lodge suite that we stayed in did not appear to have air-conditiioning (there was a unit mounted onto the wall in the loft but it did not appear to be working during our stay).

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BooFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2006

My husband and I stayed in one of the Douglas Fir Resort one-bedroom-plus-loft suites with another couple for four nights. Its practical, comfortable, and a good value, especially if you are traveling as a group. We had a fully functional kitchen, separate sleeping quarters, and complimentary firewood. It was very comfortable suite, with lots of space. The kitchen was very clean with fairly new appliances. We greatly enjoyed playing like kids in the indoor water park. Request a room with a view. We had a great view of a mountain from our room.

Douglas Fir Resort is in a forested area of town, while being a less than five minutes drive from downtown Banff - so, great location. We would consider staying there again.

Although the employees at the mini-grocery adjacent to the hotel lobby were very nice, avoid it. It was grossly overpriced. The Keller Foods grocery store downtown on Bear Street was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MTBeeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2006

My family just returned from a stay at the Douglas Fir. It's not a 5 star place and the loft suite was a little small for our family of 5, but other than that it was all we'd expected. The staff was very nice, although we didn't ask much of them. The water slide was a great diversion for our kids, ages 11, 12 and 13. They used the slides three or four evenings over our week's stay. Not a lot of supervision, but that is a double edged sword. Too much and you have less fun. Too little and things can get a little wild. On the weekend the slides were very busy.

For a unit that sleeps 6, there isn't much room. The square footage is very minimal (not enough places for six people to sit)and our unit had a "one person" kitchen. If one person was in the kitchen, it was full. No exageration--it was tiny. We still made our breakfasts every morning, so we made due. We weren't expecting an eat in kitchen.

The fireplace in our unit had a defective damper, that led to a smokey unit as we arrived. After my first fire, I knew why. As the alarm went off, maintenance showed up and advised that the damper was defective and that I had to manually open it (not with the lever, but with the fireplace tool). Problem solved.

The bathroom was quite new and the place was clean. Daily maid service was good and almost unnoticable, as it should be. The stove wasn't the best and the "stick to everything you cook" fry pans left much to be desired--buy a can of Pam.

We aren't walkers and although we saw people walking up Tunnel Road, from town, each time we traveled it, we thought they were crazy. The walk from town is long and all up hill. I can't imagine doing it unless you had too.

Elk just up the street and mule deer in your front or back yard.

Not 5 star, but a good place for a family to stay--no complaints, but next time we visit Banff our kids will be older (not as interested in a water slide) and we'll need more space. This is a very appropriate place to stay when in Banff. With a proper description, I'd recommend it to anyone without hesitation. If you are looking for luxury, however, not your place.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2006

We had a group of 5 including 3 teens, in a unit with a loft and kitchenette. The space was manageable for the 5 of us with no problems. A dishwasher was a welcome feature, though not absolutely necessary.

The room's haven't changed much since the last time I stayed in the early 1980's but again this isn't a major concern.

The onsite pool, hot-tubs, waterslide are nice to have for teens.

Instructions about controlling the in-unit heating would be helpful.

It is a good walk into town but the Town's bus service stops at the door providing those without their own transportation with a convenient option. Door-to-door service is also available for the buses to ski hills.

Overall, we were happy with this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing