We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities but shabby chalets under stocked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have had two stays at the Douglas Fir chalets and the second time round in winter with young under fives. I think that the indoor playpen is great, a brilliant facility that the kids enjoy. The pools are good too. Tunnel mountain is a wonderful location and the huge side wall of Mt Rundle is incredible.
the downside to this is the accommodation. it is really over priced for what you get. In dire need of renovation, really shabby and spartan, not attractive even in color scheme which would be easy to change. Te kitchen is not stocked with very much, no wooden spoons, rubbish cheese grater, we bought all our own knives after our last visit. No room in kitchen except just one person, very cramped. Also, we had two bedrooms upstairs with single beds and our double bed downstairs. Needlessly to say the kids woke up a lot so we needed up Having to sleep up stairs in single beds!

Another aesthetic nightmare is the labyrinth inside the main building, it's horrible!

They should close one winter and really update, refresh and open up the buildings.

Overall, great facilties available but they are resting their laurels on that. I have stayed over the road at the Hidden Ridge twice and the accommodation is incredible. I chose this because of energetic toddlers but may next consider going back to the hidden ridge for the lovely apartments and space indoors and using Banffs facilities more instead.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank berolpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Waterpark:
The Resort has an indoor waterpark with two giant waterslides, a hot tub and kiddie pool. The waterpark is free for registered guests and at $20 per person to drop in for the day, you definitely want to be a hotel guest! There's also a separate swimming pool for those staying at the hotel that is not open to the public. We had an awesome time in the waterpark after playing outside in the snow and found it to be a great way to finish off the day.

The waterpark provides life jackets for kids as well so no need to bring one from home.

Indoor Playzone:
The Resort also offers a giant indoor play park exclusive for their registered guests and it opens at 8am! If you know the mountains, you know it's way too cold to go outside with kids that early. We were even able to get some play time in before checking out the next day.

Rooms:
Nothing fancy and could be refurbished but they are comfortable and offer a kitchen so you can cook your own meals and save money on eating out. Wood burning fireplace is a nice touch and we loved our loft suite with separate bedroom for mom and dad.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalgaryGirlYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in Banff last week. We booked chalet #116 and it was awesome! Very small, but cozy, warm and fun with the deer coming right up to the door. It's not a 4 Star resort and I guess it's all a result of your expectations. The cleanliness of the chalet depends on your level of cleanliness. To me, it was fine (and I am a germ-a-phobe). The corners of the rooms could be a little cleaner, but it didn't bother me. Very small rooms but lots of places to put your things. It is an A-frame so that limits the amount of space. Two twin beds each in separate bedrooms upstairs and a main bedroom downstairs. I won't call it a master-bedroom because you had very little room to walk in there. However small it was, it was tidy, cute and cozy. I could have stayed longer, but that's just me. The rest of our family of 4 agreed. The only downfall is that they open the water-park to the public and even for the guests of the resort, not until 4PM. It was VERY crowded. I would hope that for the amount of money spent to stay, they could give the guests of the resort an earlier time to enjoy it without all of the people. Our kids spent about half an hour and then wanted to leave because of the crowd. All-in-all it was a good stay though. Just don't set your standards too high and you will love it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooner1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My family and I have been coming here for a couple of years. When we went in the beginning of December the temperature was -45*C . That didn't matter much. We had all kinds of activities to keep our 4 and 6 year old happy and burning energy all day long. Indoors was the place to be and that is where we stayed but were able to do so very easily here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Kids had fun at the water slides and indoor playground. Free bus passes were convenient. Front staff was friendly
However, does not make up for how dirty and run down the place is. Outlets were loose, thought the lamp was unplugged and when I went to plug it in behind the bed was met by a large amount of nasty filth on the carpet.
Beds are old and uncomfortable. Bedding is also old and tattered and questioned whether the extra blanket had ever been washed.
Pretty sure the mouthwash was diluted soap, so gross.
Carpets are in need of an update.
Dried urine between toilet seat and tank.
Kitchen floor was sticky.
Pool area and change rooms were dirty.
Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RAAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have stayed here previously, however this particular time, the room was outdated.
Mattress and sofa was very old.
Am a fit, healthy 30 something and left with a sore back.
Would NOT recommend or consider going back unless it was remodelled and refurnished top to bottom.
Kitchen was also outdated. No decent cooking utensils.
Dish soap was watered down.
Mouthwash appeared to be a refilled bottle with chunks floating in it...disgusting! Casts further doubt over the cleanliness of this place.
Management insisted on a 3 night minimum over the long weekend with no exceptions. Just horrible!
Much nicer places to stay in banff.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed November 2013 in a 2 bedroom chalet. Lovely view of Mount Rundle, free parking, quiet chalet. Fireplace was a nice touch. Only one water slide was working and they need to enforce that parents needs to take their shoes off on deck. We ended up trying to avoid the dirt and mud people were tracking.
Overall we would stay again. The staff were quite nice. BUT the hotel NEEDS to update the suites - the wear & tear shows.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mommy_of_Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $123 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing