We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old and Tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old and Tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The good news is that Douglas Fir have pet friendly rooms. The bad news the rooms are tired. Main bedroom mattress is terribly uncomfortable tried the fold away wall bed the following night turned out as uncomfortable, the kitchen doesn't have any oven proof glass dishes or salad bowls it has the bare essentials. Also don't count on the free Wi fi we weren't able to connect the entire weekend. For the money you pay I am pretty sure they can afford to upgrade the units.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    370
    139
    59
    30
See reviews for
576
127
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The facilities at the Dougal Fir are so much fun for families, it's too bad that they haven't put anything back into the rooms. They are in need of some refreshing. Our door was broken, thankfully we figured it out, but it's too bad that the staff didn't notice and we came back from the pool to find our door wide open. The wood burning fireplace is nice to have in the room, it is too bad something was wrong with ours, it probably needed cleaning as we left the room for a couple of minutes to put our PJs on and came back to find the room filled with smoke and ashes. We also had an issue with our oven, I turned it on to preheat and opened it when it beeped to put our meal in and a huge puff of smoke set off the fire alarms and the smell was awful. We'd like to come back, for the playplace and pools, but I will probably research other options until I hear that they've clean this place up a bit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had an excellent time here! Everything was great! It's just outside the Banff Downtown core, like two minute drive, and beautiful walk if you can! Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay out of downtown but close enough to enjoy all the activities. Water park was great for the kids and only a 15min drive to Sunshine Village!! Would recommend to anyone and will stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great, checking in was efficient and very friendly chatty staff. Found room 183, parked right outside, room was large enough for 2 adults & 2 children. Bit run down, shabby looking but this did not put us off. Dishwasher great, log fire brilliant and really good views out the patio door, deer were in view every morning, ideally located, and free Banff bus was a bonus. We stayed 5 nights over New Year and had a brilliant time. Pool and slides a bit poor and again run down, but not put off using them a couple of nights. Would recommend this place if your standards aren't to high. Get what you pay for. Good times, enjoy yourselves

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just don't expect renovated facilities or fancy fare. This older hotel is well-known for its indoor water slide. (There is an adjoining hot tub). Choice of room configurations: opt for the ones with kitchens and buy the breakfast option, as it's cheaper and much easier than restaurant. We upgraded to the loft/ kitchen suite with fireplace; our 3 kids liked it. (Remember heat rises!) Everything about the hotel is "comfortable but a bit dated".
Unlike the fancier hotels, there is NO charge for parking (saved about $40!), the breakfast option saved time and $. It's in the coupon book and check specials. Location is a bit out of the main core (3 min drive) - we used both our car and the public bus that comes to the hotel's door and which is actually paid for by the hotel! Yes, I recommend it.

Room Tip: Location depends on what configuration of beds you choose; there are kitchen suites, lofts, etc. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed at Douglas Fir many times and thought it was the best place in Banff, this trip was different, the furance didn't work, the housekeeping didn't come till I phoned, the service was sub par and the resort needs to be fixed and upgraded! I won't come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently booked a 4 night stay at the Douglas Fir resort in a 3 bedroom chalet for our family of 5 (three small children). Within 10 minutes of arriving our 5 year old son found a cigarette lighter, dirty gym socks and some pieces of trash in one of the upstairs bedrooms. The resort was full and so we had to stay in that room. The hotel staff came by to "re-clean" the room. They did offer a 20% discount, however how do you come back from that first impression? We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan19782014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing