We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a great place to stay with kids. We used the indoor playground three times. I like the wood burning fireplaces. I think the kitchens are adequate. We had a loft with another TV which was great for the kids. It is a great facility.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jmzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in lower condo, not sure what it was officially called. We thought we had booked the upper level, but seemed the person on the phone was not a good communicator. Kids love the play zone, water slides and pool. We will probably give it another try.

I can only rate as average because of the following:
:- Rugs needed a good cleaning. My socks were disgusting.
:- Rooms could use some updating.
:- Kitchen supplies are minimal. Knives (All 2 of them) were dull. Frying pans were hard to cook with. Not sure if pots, plates, utensils and glasses were not being replaced when broken or slowly being stolen, but pretty minimal.
:- One burner on the stove didn't work.
:- Asked for some supplies and room service, but room service staff lost the order and we only got about 1/2 of what was asked for because by the time we returned the service staff was all gone. Front desk did their best with what they had on supply there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It is a place for families. My kids loved the play zone and the water slides. The hotel is in a beautiful location with many access points to trails. The town us close and you could walk there. It's really close to a great hike up Tunnel Mountain. Only two complaints, first the hotel needs some investment to modernize. Though clean, it is dated. Second, pets are permitted, which is fine unless you have yappy dogs beneath you.

Last but not least I will say their service was excellent. My wife and I realized we made a mistake on our reservation. We booked Thursday/Friday but meant to book Friday/Saturday. We realized this on Friday and they had us as a no show. However, without question they moved our reservation and did not charge us an extra day nor any fees. I'm sure the big chains would not have extended that kind of understanding and service. Well done Douglas Fir!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ddoige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Once you got to this place it was amazing the address on the paper confirmation does not work right in your GPS i suggest calling and asking . They were awesome when we called lost they talked us through on how to get there. We booked the 1 room loft it was amazing for the 4 of us room 184 has an amazing view of the mountain even saw deer walking through the woods .
We loved that the fire wood was free so made fire in fire place every night and cooked out on there grill for dinners. Everyone there was supper helpful even the guy working the store gave us some short cuts if didn't want to drive through town again. Went to the water slides and tried o go to steam room but to many kids running in and out the steam room slides were fun . So ended up going to the pool and hot tub for guests only was very nice the only ones there and could relax. Would stay here again and telling friends about this place.

Room Tip: room 184 looks out through the trees and yo can see the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knitefxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in the family suite and found it to have plenty of rooms and bathrooms for 5 sisters. We loved sitting at the large kitchen table and catching up. The view was incredible and we found hiking trails right outside of the resort. We will make this resort our go to resort for our annual sister's weekend!

Room Tip: For 5 or more people the Family Suite is the way to go. There is no restaurant on site but they do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ålesund
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Studio, with underground parking. We stayed here with our 7 months old son, extra bed/crib for no extra charge. Our son also had his first swimming experience in the pool, we think he liked it.

Nice location in Banff, some old but still nice studios, you will find what you need for cooking, free bus to the town center.

Recommended for families.

Room Tip: Studios (rooms) from 300-311 sure has a nice view to the mountains, do also have underground parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betjent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Chalets nice and quiet...and the kids loved the slides

Would go back there.....good for families

Only complaint was that the chalet looked like it needed to be refurbished....and the lightining was so dim it wsd a joke

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing