We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overall good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

It is a place for families. My kids loved the play zone and the water slides. The hotel is in a beautiful location with many access points to trails. The town us close and you could walk there. It's really close to a great hike up Tunnel Mountain. Only two complaints, first the hotel needs some investment to modernize. Though clean, it is dated. Second, pets are permitted, which is fine unless you have yappy dogs beneath you.

Last but not least I will say their service was excellent. My wife and I realized we made a mistake on our reservation. We booked Thursday/Friday but meant to book Friday/Saturday. We realized this on Friday and they had us as a no show. However, without question they moved our reservation and did not charge us an extra day nor any fees. I'm sure the big chains would not have extended that kind of understanding and service. Well done Douglas Fir!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ddoige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    385
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
594
136
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Once you got to this place it was amazing the address on the paper confirmation does not work right in your GPS i suggest calling and asking . They were awesome when we called lost they talked us through on how to get there. We booked the 1 room loft it was amazing for the 4 of us room 184 has an amazing view of the mountain even saw deer walking through the woods .
We loved that the fire wood was free so made fire in fire place every night and cooked out on there grill for dinners. Everyone there was supper helpful even the guy working the store gave us some short cuts if didn't want to drive through town again. Went to the water slides and tried o go to steam room but to many kids running in and out the steam room slides were fun . So ended up going to the pool and hot tub for guests only was very nice the only ones there and could relax. Would stay here again and telling friends about this place.

Room Tip: room 184 looks out through the trees and yo can see the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knitefxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in the family suite and found it to have plenty of rooms and bathrooms for 5 sisters. We loved sitting at the large kitchen table and catching up. The view was incredible and we found hiking trails right outside of the resort. We will make this resort our go to resort for our annual sister's weekend!

Room Tip: For 5 or more people the Family Suite is the way to go. There is no restaurant on site but they do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ålesund
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Studio, with underground parking. We stayed here with our 7 months old son, extra bed/crib for no extra charge. Our son also had his first swimming experience in the pool, we think he liked it.

Nice location in Banff, some old but still nice studios, you will find what you need for cooking, free bus to the town center.

Recommended for families.

Room Tip: Studios (rooms) from 300-311 sure has a nice view to the mountains, do also have underground parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betjent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Chalets nice and quiet...and the kids loved the slides

Would go back there.....good for families

Only complaint was that the chalet looked like it needed to be refurbished....and the lightining was so dim it wsd a joke

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got a chalet (which is really a small cabin) but it had everything you would need, a full kitchen, little eating area, living room with wood burning fireplace and TV, full bathroom, two bedrooms with a little loft area to sleep a toddler if needed. The decor is outdated but it didn't really seem to matter as it was such a cozy space and the view was wonderful. We all had a wonderful time and my 3 year old son thought it was the coolest place he'd ever been. The resort had indoor watersides, hot tub and a small kids pool area which was perfect for us. There was also another small pool in the hotel area. We had to walk to the hotel area from our chalet but luckily it wasn't freesing outside so it was bare able. There is also a huge indoor playground which was awesome. The bed's aren't the most comfortable but definitely not even close to horrible. Overall it was a great place to stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Since our kids could walk we've been going to the Douglas Fir Resort. The waterslides, hot tub, play area, kitchen, fireplace are all wonderful. My only complaint (which made for a rather horrible sleep) is the poor poor quality in bedding provided. The comfort of the bed was fine however I would never dream of providing only a top sheet, thin blanket and horribly misshaped pillows to my family. This appears to be perfectly adequate for a family resort brimming with families and small children.

Aside from this we love the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghoulesohmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing