We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay with family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Quiet place, incredible kitchenettes, comfortable clean rooms, great flexibility with accommodation of bigger families (more than 4 people). A lot of fun for kids (waterslides, swimming pool, excellent play-zone). The rate is really pays for itself.
It was our second visit and we are planning to visit again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    385
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
593
136
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just stayed here for 2 nights (my husband and my 2 year old son). We had booked this primarily because of the facilities for kids. For my 2 year old I was a little disappointed if I should say...the indoor playground was great but more suited for 4+ age group and a little wild on a Saturday evening...then again it was a playground. The one bed suite itself was nice and homely and definitely gave us the relaxing getaway we needed. We had spent a little extra on this place hoping it would provide more for our son and on that note I was disappointed...I feel we could have got more for our money or a cheaper place with same facilites.
One big kudos was...on the first night my husband asked where our son was sleeping and I said with us in the bed...he was not too happy so he called reception (this was @8pm) to see if they had a travel cot...we did not fancy our chances but within 10 minutes we had delivered to our door with fresh blankets so that was a big plus. On a final note I would not stay here again until my son was @ 4-5 and can make the most of the facilites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillficent6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

As always Douglas Fir was awesome. We have been coming here when our two children were
8 & 10 - we all went skiing and had great fun! Our children now - one has moved to Ontario and has only been to Banff once since but our daughter had her honeymoon at Douglas Fir and is now coming with her husband and son and just love it. We as the old grandparents are still coming, although we do not ski anymore we just love to relax in the one bedroom condo and walk around and see the different animals. We hope to return every year usually in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glory47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rooms are run down it appears no money has been used to upgrade the rooms or facility. Fireplace left room smelling smokey, tiny bathroom with no fans, limited plug in room for devices and underground parking stalls so small regular sized truck could not fit. Won't be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Route113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albert, Ab
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just had the pleasure of spending 4 days at Douglas Fir. This was our first visit here but will definitely not be our last!! If you are looking for an upscale modern resort with all of the new fancy bells and whistles, look somewhere else. If you are looking for a very comfortable place to stay with almost everything you would need then this is the place for you. Douglas Fir is without a doubt one of the most family orientated resorts we have ever been to!! If the Mountain weather is not cooperating you have more than enough stuff to do at the resort with the kids. Pictures of the playroom do not do it justice!! The place is massive and a great workout for the kids. Between the mountain air, play gym and water slides your kids will sleep the night away!!
We rented one of the 2 bedroom (1 bedroom with loft) chalets. It was just right for the 4 of us. The kitchen was basic but had almost everything we needed. It was nice to enjoy a morning coffee on the deck while watching the wildlife mingle around the property. It was very quiet and peaceful here during the week but I imagine it gets much busier on weekends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is an old property. But the rooms were ok, and the kitchen was fine - just a bit short of utensils. Normal. The bathroom was quite modern, but a little small. The pool was great, and we spent a lot of time on the water slides. We stayed twice, a week apart, and we had no problems going back a second time. There is even a tiny store on site where you can feed yourself.

My only worry was that something made a meal out of me on our last night. My hip was quite extensively chewed and itchy. Not good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elwood_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is awesome. If u are looking for a top of the line fancy room then go somewhere else. We reserved a one bedroom condo that had a pull down double Murphy bed in the living room. Our two kids slept on it and the mattress was great! Way better than a sofa bed which was also in the living room but there wouldn't have been any room for it for be opened up. So it was nice to have a couch to sit on while the bed was down. The room also had a small round table for four, and a full kitchen-with a dishwasher and soap tabs for it! The kitchen came fully complete with everything from frying pans to wine glasses to kettle to boil water for tea-which was also in the room. The was a toaster and coffee maker. We received coffee packets each day. The room was very clean considering there are wood panels on the walls so I thought maybe there would be spider webs but I didn't find one anywhere! Was very pleased. Our queen bed in our bedroom was very comfortable and there were two flat screen tv's-1 in living room and one in bedroom. Full bathroom had a huge deep tub and the shower had lots of pressure. It really feels as if this was your own homey condo. I would next time ask to get the upper floor instead of being in the lower part of the condo. Internet was iffy due to being on the bottom. There is a liquor store and a mini grocery convenience store near the lobby. Our kids LOVED the ginormous indoor tree play structure!!! There is also a simple pool and little hottub for hotel guests only. The water slides are open to the public. We have young kids (7 and 5) so much preferred the regular pool since there are two watersides but not really a pool to swim in(it is separate from the hotel pool). We loved being able to make our own full breakfasts and have a fridge and freezer in our room. We will also be staying here again-anytime we are back in banff for another quick weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Get a upper level condo if possible-better Internet service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kymmy_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing