We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Town fringes, but very good family location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Town fringes, but very good family location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife, and 2 year old son stayed here for 6 nights in January 2013. The hotel came highly recommended by our travel agent in Australia and for family comfort and kids amenities, it would be the best option in town for sure. However, when I do say in town, it's actually on the ring road about, 20 mins walk, 3 mins drive or 5 mins on the bus that runs non stop every 40 mins and is on time.
Don't be fooled by the external appearance as the hotels rooms, kitchens and living areas were solid and comfortable. We had no issues at all the kids facilities such as the absolutely magnificent "Playzone" was heaven for my man to play in, even me. Pool and spa all good also as they are indoor. The small supermarket and bottleshop are located on the front of building and very helpful. Staff were terrific and helpful also in the hotel.
We are avid skiers and during our stay, we didn't have car hire as we gave that back post Fernie etc, so in order to get on the buses to the resorts required a little bit of scheduling and hassle to be fair, such as I had to get 7am bus into town to get the 7.40 bus to Lake Louise Resort, which was a long day by the time I got back form a big ski. Also, when we used the day care in town, this provided more logistical challenges. So, I guess the next time we come, my boy will be skiing in 2 years, so we would probably stay in town directly, or stay at Douglas Fir but with a hire car definitely.
Overall, really good stay, even though it was a -20 cold snap for 3 or so days. Finally, one of the highlights was as we drove into the hotel there was about 10 big stags walking around unfussed and this was amazing to see for our son and us, and later in the week we have a small one walk past our room and followed us back to the bus stop out front. This is one advantage of the location on town fringe.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MORIMAGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    385
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
594
136
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
regina, sk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful if you have children. The watersides are awesome, and the indoor play area is stellar, you could literally eat of the floor it was so clean. This hotel is approx. a 3 min drive from downtown Banff or you can take the bus which stop right in front of the lodge. If you book a room with a kitchen you can cook all your own meals, which saves a ton of money. We stay here every year and have never been disappointed. Will continue to come back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank taispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a wonderful time and our little ones had a fabulous time in the pools. Wonderful but can't wait to see renos done to pool. Great mid week as it was very quiet and we had the watersides to our selves only wish all pools were connected.

Room Tip: Loft is great with kids though steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heatherkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed here many, many times. We seem to return to it everytime since our eight year old boy loves the pool, hot tub and waterslides, especially after a day of skiing. The rooms are dated and old but cozy and clean. We enjoy the open fireplace and the kitchen with the cook your own breakfast option. I look forward to the day that the rooms are updated including the beds. With our son getting older, we may have to find a newer place in trade for waterslides.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starchub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

LIKES: We liked the comfy beds, new TV's, stunning vistas, great location away from town, free bus, friendly and helpful staff, wood-burning fireplace, wildlife, village experience.
PROBLEMS: This resort is overpriced.The building construction is deficient. There is no soundproofing so you hear and feel the activity of neighbours. The living room was always cold. There was ice on the INSIDE of the balcony sliding doors. We had to close the curtains and barricade the floor with pillows and blankets, and couldn't enjoy the awesome view. Replacing the rattling windows and leaking doors might save on heating costs. Weatherstripping on the entry door might help too. The decor was dated, shabby and dark. The 1960's cheap motel floral bedspreads (try duvets) and uncoordinated furnishings were amateurish not rustic. The 1 bedroom +loft (Room 146) was smaller than the photos would imply. We couldn't watch a movie because the ripped and sagging sofa didn't accommodate 3 adults and it abutted the freezing glass door. I made 2 requests for an armchair, and they recommended using a kitchen chair or barstool. I have rented condos in Colorado for less money, with ensuite laundry, garage, soundproofing, view, new furnishings and good skiing. But the US mall-obsessed towns don't compare to the wilderness experience of Banff and Canada's spectacular parks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Talkopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place has so much going for it. Great for a couple wanting a weekend away, lots of room for families or a fun and affordable place for a group of friends to rent. Whatever "group" you belong to, there is a room here for you.

It's right on the bus route so you can get into the main streets of Banff easily. From there, you can catch a shuttle to the ski hill, catch another bus anywhere along the main drag or up the hill to the Banff Springs or just wander the path along the river and visit the museums.

Great location. Good amenities. Clean and well kept. Never had any problems with neighbours. Sufficient parking. What more could you want?

I admit, the first time we stayed here we didn't end up using the pool or waterslide at all and the second time, the waterslide was under construction so I can't comment on this aspect of the hotel.

I would and will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: I personally liked the rooms in the complexes outside the main lodge. It made it seem more like cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SilentEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a wonderful, relaxing, getaway from Calgary for a couple nights. The pool was lovely and the hottub was nice and hot with powerful jets. Our room was lovely and we especially enjoyed the wood burning fire place.We also took advantage of the free shuttle bus to Main street. We were able to have a couple glasses of wine with dinner and just hopped on the bus back to the resort with no worries. We'll definetly be back

Room Tip: The studio is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing