We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hardworking Calgarians needing to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hardworking Calgarians needing to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a wonderful, relaxing, getaway from Calgary for a couple nights. The pool was lovely and the hottub was nice and hot with powerful jets. Our room was lovely and we especially enjoyed the wood burning fire place.We also took advantage of the free shuttle bus to Main street. We were able to have a couple glasses of wine with dinner and just hopped on the bus back to the resort with no worries. We'll definetly be back

Room Tip: The studio is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    385
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
593
136
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The room was well appointed, the staff helpful however the noise level was beyond acceptable. First the continual banging of cupboard doors - could be heard from two or three rooms away. Overall the door banging was not an issue however people checking into the hotel late in the evening meant this could go on at any point (one night started at 11 pm and continued until well past 12 midnight). We were kept awake for two nights in a row due to party-goers; phone calls to the main desk helped however the partiers just seemed to move rooms and continue on. The first night we were kept awake past 3:30 am causing us to sleep in and miss our booking for the Ice Walk at 8:30 am the following morning. The same routine continued the following evening. Although the staff seemed to want to help they were unable to stop the noise. A woman must have confronted the partiers probably asking them to quiet down which led to the partiers walking the hallway loudly announcing there were women staying in the hotel who didn't appreciate the noise - again until the wee hours of the morning. We had a loft room in the main building, there might be less noise in one of the smaller buildings containing 2 to 4 units. The use of fireplaces is questionable, the hallway filled with smoke making it difficult to breathe and as a result I was concerned about the air quality in the rooms. We put a blanket at the bottom of the door to block some of the smell. The room was a great value for the cost however I won't be returning, the cost of 3 nights with little to no sleep was too high. I think I'll save up a little longer and try one of the higher end hotels instead - no guarantees but it's worth a try...

Room Tip: A room in one of the outer buildings not in the main lodge might be better. Mountain view was fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The watersides were a hit with the kids as well as the play place. We have stayed at this hotel every December for the last 3 years and enjoyed it every time. The only recommendation that I would make is that this time we had a "hockey family" sharing the room below us. At the best of times they were quite loud and disruptive. We noticed upon check out that there were several hockey families staying at the hotel. It may have been a good idea to try and keep all those families in one area of the hotel so that they were minimally disruptive to others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stay at the Dougals Fir every year for the American Thanksgiving week. They give us a great rate for an older super clean room with a kitchen. We save lots of money by cooking some of our own meals. The pools and water slides are fun for all. I will return for the great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We found the resort to be very fun and family friendly. We have a 19 month old and found the kitchen very helpful and the amenities (waterpark & kidzone) excellent. They were able to provided a playpen, highchair, and baby gate, no problem. The room was great and the wood fireplace cozy. We were very pleased with Douglas Fir. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BourneCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our most recent trip to Douglas Fir didn't go exactly as planned. It is our family tradition to spend a weekend here every Fall. This year was no exception. We booked our two night stay and were excited for a fun family weekend. We checked in at 8:00 p.m. on Friday night and by 10:00 that same evening my youngest son and I were vomitting uncontrollably. We both had Norovirus and were quite sick. Needless to say we needed to go home and checked out by 12:00 p.m. Saturday. Douglas Fir did not charge us for the second night although they had every right to and they supplied us with extra towels and blankets during our difficult night. They have always had my business but they now have my gratitude and respect.

Room Tip: One bedroom condos are great for families of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved the resort. Well equipped rooms with a kitchen. Had good variety of cooking utensils and dishes. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning everyday, once even cleaned our breakfast stuff- totally unexpected!!! Clean but slightly dated decor. Great service and service staff. Had assigned parking which was really convenient. Kids loved the indoor water park. Would highly recommend it. conveniently located.

Room Tip: Any room is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing