We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ski Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ski Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We brought our 2 grandchildren up to Banff for a ski weekend and stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort. We have stayed with them there before but this time we booked a loft unit in the lodge. This was a good call as the kids did not have to go outside to get to the waterslide. It was convienient to have a half bath on the upper loft level. I booked enough in advance that we got the early bird special discount which was a decent savings. The Douglas Fir Resort is a great family resort and we will continue to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loislouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent ski weekend with us! It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and made great use of our Early Bird discount on your ski package. We have a number of great promotions throughout the year to help you save. You can stay connected to us through our Facebook, Twitter and e-newsletter to be the first to know when we have specials available. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    364
    133
    58
    29
See reviews for
566
125
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Quite a nice resort - not a dazzle you type place but very clean and well appointed. Great spot for kids. We had the one bedroom condo. Rooms were clean, applliances clean and functional, kitchen well equipped - everything we needed to cook our meals. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plus the waterslides and playzone was a hit with my 6 year old son.

My second time staying at Douglas Fir and I would definitely stay again if I have the opportunity to spend more time in Banff.

Room Tip: IF you have small kids, consider getting a room in the main lodge as you won't have to go outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. You sound like you made great use of our fully equipped kitchens and that our Playzone and waterslides lived up to your son’s expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Douglas Fir Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Recently stayed here for the first time for acouple of nights. It was soooo good. Upon arriving at Front Desk I was greeted by the lovely Front Desk staff, they were so friendly and helpful. I arrived alittle earlier so I could check out the waterslides and playzone and gym for the kids and everything which would kill time, but to my surprise I was instantly checked in! All the girls were so helpful with giving directions in Banff, they seemed to know the area like a tour guide which was nice. It was a privledge to be checked in by Wenke, she seemed to friendly and really wanting to help us in any way possible.
I had a little baby which needed a good sleep after such a long time driving which was a big relief as well!
I was pleased to say I arrived at my room TIP (Studio, 319) - to become surprised by the BEST VIEW EVER of the mountain scenery. Overall, used all the amenities and they provided instant help whenever an issue occurred with personal service. Its very roomy, well equiped and plenty of things to do to keep the kids happy. They didnt want to leave! Definetly return if I ever come back to Banff!

Chungy out!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chungy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Chungy, thank you so much for your kind words on your recent stay. It’s wonderful to know that our staff made you feel so welcome and went above and beyond your expectations to ensure your stay was a great one. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our staff. We certainly have some astounding mountain vistas from our rooms from our beautiful location on Tunnel Mt,. it’s great to hear how much you enjoyed the view from your hotel in Banff! You can stay connected with us with our Facebook and Twitter pages for our latest on specials!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We're just back from a great weekend (Saturday, Sunday) at the Douglas Fir. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo. We love being able to send the kids to bed in their bedroom while we relax for a while longer in the living room. The Murphy bed was very comfy, much more than sofa-beds tend to be. We brought breakfast fixings from home so had a great leisurely start to each day.

The kids spent a great deal of time playing in the play area and we all enjoyed guest pool. The waterslides were quite busy on Saturday, and the kids decided simply romping in the regular pool was much more fun. The staff were very friendly as they plowed out the parking lot, helped find a charger for the cell phone, and found information for us.

Closest thing to a complaint would be that the shower in the pool change room sprayed every which way but on us... oh and they couldn't arrange a bigger blizzard that would have forced us to stay an extra day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rinrat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are extremely please everyone had a wonderful time at the Douglas Fir Resort. Our One Bedroom Condo’s are perfect for parents with little ones, as they can send them off to bed in the private bedroom and still enjoy some quite time together. As for the blizzard you ordered, our apologies as it arrived just a couple of days after your stay! We hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Yet another fantastic holiday at Douglas Fir, this time with the whole family (9 of us in two condos) for 10 days. Service excellent and can't praise the staff enough.

Facilities also excellent and something for all of us from from 2 years old through to 63. Kids and adults alike loved the water slides, and the fitness centre was great for the adults. Everyone enjoyed the visits from the deer and squirrels, and the younger children loved the Playzone.

The condos are roomy, extremely well equipped, with comfortable beds, flat screen TVs and plenty of storage space. At this time of year, the log fires (logs provided free of charge) were very welcome after a day out in the snow. We will definitely return on our next visit to Canada.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that our staff went above and beyond your expectations and we will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments. We genuinely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Douglas Fir Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We went to Banff to ski and the Douglas Fir Resort was a fantastic place to enjoy before and after the day. With the generous breakfast shopping offered at the beginning of the stay to the waterslide by night, the kids had a great time. Saw lots of elk right outside the window of our room. And, enjoyed the fireplace in the evening. Short drive up to Sunshine! Will return again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Water F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Our Cook Your Own Breakfast package is a hit with a lot of families for the convenience it provides with groceries already in your fridge on your arrival. Be sure to check out our variety of year round packages if you’re thinking of staying with us again in the summer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a great way to spend time with family! Our one-bedroom with loft unit was roomy enough for 6 to sleep comfortably- and for all 14 of us to gather for a casual meal.
My only complaint is that the upstairs loft tended to get too warm.

Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear our One Bedroom Loft Condo provided all the space you were looking for and we will be sure to pass on your comment regarding the room temperature. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing