We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Stay and View of the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed in a loft unit that slept six people. The kitchen was fully equipped and we had a great view of the mountains from our balcony. There was underground parking so that was very convenient as the elevator was close. We used the shuttle service that stopped right in front of the resort to go to downtown Banff. There is no restaurant on site but with a full kitchen cooking was easy. Barbecues are limited, so that was an inconvenience. I would recommend this resort for anyone who wants to be away from the busy downtown area.

Room Tip: loft units are on top floor and are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Douglas Fir resort in August and were very pleased. We had a studio suite with 1 queen bed and a sofa pullout. Even with four people and all of our luggage we had plenty of room to move about the room. We were very pleased with the kitchen which had a full size refrigerator, oven and tiny dishwasher. The cupboards were stocked with anything you would need to cook meals. Our kids really enjoyed the water slides. Since we had our own car, we did not take advantage of the free bus rides, but it was a very short trip into Banff. The only thing I would say needs improvement is a little better supervision at the water slides. Some of the older kids got pretty crazy and it created some dangerous situtions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irongrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

While our room was over the shop and a little noisy at times we must congratulate the staff on their help with the location of an item left in the room after we checked out. They kept in regular contact with us via email and organized the postage back home. Could not ask for better service. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Room has older, cabin feel, but they paid attention to the details: murphy bed in living room, kitchen, nightlight in bathroom to help you find it, safe in room, DVD player in room, supplies to make fire in fireplace, balcony, free wireless internet. Beds are comfortable and the shower is hot. It does not look like a luxurious 5 star hotel room, but the details make it very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d33j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We thought this was going to be the highlight of our accommodation in the Rockies, instead it was a huge disappointment. We had a 3 Bedroom A-Frame Chalet which was quite inadequate for 6 adults.
- the lounge/dining/kitchen was very small and cramped
- the table had only 2 chairs, but the chalet is supposed to accommodate 6 people
- the bathroom was very small, and inadequate for 6 people
- the stairs, which are very steep, have no hand rail, and were not safe for the 2 elderly ladies in our group.
- Reception staff curt and unhelpful on check-in
- No matches or candles when a power failure left us with no light
- Sheets were too short for the beds

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have been to the Douglas Fir for the past 3 years with our daughter who is now 4 years old, and we have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. The playzone climbing gym itself is worth the price of the room for us - our daughter has enjoyed it from the time she was 2 up to now, finding new ways to explore every year! The waterslides are really fun, and the fitness room is quite good too. The suites and chalets are lovely and well maintained, with everything we needed while we were there. The beds we got to sleep on this visit were soooooo comfortable, I actually got a decent night's sleep! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the corner store hours are great to pick up things you forgot. The free shuttle bus downtown comes right to the front door, and makes it really easy to visit downtown without having to find parking. We have no complaints at all, and will probably be back next year!

Room Tip: We love the one bedroom condo for a family of 3-4. Lots of space to roam around, and a private slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank persbjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

we stayed two nights but they put us above the automatic garage door and although not too loud, it was bothersome.
kitchen was not properly cleaned when we arrived and a long streak of something that had fallen over the stove door was visible and yucky
water slides were ok since they were included in the room price but we would have preferred a lower price and cleaner rooms

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveHuanchaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $130 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing