We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service at a comfortable hotel”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was older, but well taken care of and clean. The staff were really great, upon check in they gave us an overview of the area with dining recommendations and things to do along with a map.

The room was very comfortable, a little older and could use an update, but very nice. We had a room that had two bedrooms with a kitchen and bath in between, had everything we needed. Our air conditioner had a problem and the maintenance man was quick to fix it, he wanted an air conditioner person to look at it as well but couldn't reach them so brought us fans in case we needed them. The air worked fine after he fixed it, but it was nice they were so concerned about making us comfortable.

The pool and hottub were very nice after a long day of hiking.

It was a little further from the restaurants than some of the hotels, but only by 5 minutes (walking) and was a nice walk to the shops and restaurants.

It was so nice to have breakfast included. I hate wasting time going to a restaurant, ordering from a menu, waiting for food, then check at breakfast time. I want to get going to see things, so it was nice to have a litte buffet included. It was a bit busy, but the breakfast ladies were very nice and did a great job taking care of the area. They had some muffins, pastries, frozen waffles, toast, fruit, cereal, juices, coffee and I know I'm forgetting a couple things, but plenty for most anyone to find something.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjinazPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Charlton's Banff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 811 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nothing really bad to say about it EXCEPT the breakfast sucked! But other than that it was very pleasant, clean and spacious. We stayed in a loft with the spiral staircase. My bf and I both found it charming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briseis2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve...your feedback about the breakfast has been taken into our consideration for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were in one of the loft units and found every aspect to be great. Lots of space, great bed, superb front desk staff - especially Rosalie. Liked the two patio areas. Breakfast was excellent and all the plates etc bio-degradeable. Excellent towels and robes, and so on.
Stayed at Charleton's some 40 years ago (or more!) and was delighted to find it still there, much changed but still excellent.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are great - space and romance! (not for the mobility impaired!)
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Especially the ladies running the included continental breakfast, which was a pretty good spread. The room was quite nice! Pool was pretty good too. And really nice to have a/c!! The room was a bit pricey but was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The location is great, within walking distance to town, yet far enough to be away from the crowds. Room had a very useful fridge but sadly no full length mirror. Breakfast was ok, but there was loads of rubbish produced as everything is served on plastic plates with plastic cutlery and throw away cups. I would have preferred they use proper crockery and cutlery. Also warm eggs would be better than cold hard boiled eggs. Milk next to the coffee station would also be better than us having to use 5 of those little tiny milk shots:) I was just aware of the loads of waste going out at the breakfast area as we are quite environmentally conscious. Other than that the rooms were comfortable and staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great little hotel and we enjoyed our stay, just the breakfast setup let it down a bit.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank LetsGoGoGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Was just a stop over for us, to break up the long drive a bit. It was nice and clean, friendly staff.
However we were only staying one night, but were rudely awoken at 6:50 am. Looking forward to sleeping in, but the phone in our room was ringing. When my husband answered it was a recording.Informing us of things to do while in Banff. The town is full of info if your looking for things to do. You dont need a phone call! I meant to bring this up to the staff when we were checking out, but I was still so tired I forgot.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We are sorry for the early morning interruption. Thank-you your feedback and we hope you had a great time in Banff regardless of the incorrect wake up call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel has a good location (only a 10-minute walk to the center of Banff), courteous staff, and clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. Gloria in the breakfast room was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to the two-story suite with the sitting area and bath on the first level and a spiral staircase leading to the bedroom on the second level. While the suite was comfortable, we did not like having to go up and down the stairs to dress or to use the bathroom. Otherwise, this was an establishment we'd stay in again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 33 in Banff
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $120 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing