We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wanted a relaxing day in Banff”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed January 6, 2014

and we loved our stay at the Charlton's Cedar Court...we stayed in the Kitchenette suite...liked the suite and would like to stay there again...just that it was a bit overheated in the night...liked having a TV in each room...the kids could watch their own shows...would like if you could have a little more variety for the breakfast spread...

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter ...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coreena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for Charlton's Banff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 812 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Clean, updated rooms. Had a kitchenette with 3 beds, great with 2 teenage boys. Enjoyed our stay. Nice to have the complimentary breakfast included in stay.

A little more variety at the breakfast buffet would be nice and walls are paper thin so able to hear all your neighbors, only caused a problem when trying to sleep at night and someone walked by in outdoor corridor - woke us up a couple of times.

Very friendly staff and I'd recommend to anyone for a stay - just be prepared for the thin walls

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derbie432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in one of the King Loft Suites.
First impression walking in was that the loft suite did not appear near as large in person as it did in the photos. The bed was comfy and we did enjoy the loft except for a couple of down falls. The heat upstairs was unbearable, where on the main floor it was enjoyable. There was no happy medium in the entire room. And there was this light upstairs on the heater that lit up the entire room while we were sleeping. Also, if you are planning in staying in one of the loft suites, do know that it is not directly connected to the pool area. It was quite a chilly walk!
Also do know it is
NOT TRUCK FRIENDLY. They have a 6'6" covered parking and we had about 2 inches of leeway. There is no other parking available, so be advised that larger vehicles do not fit comfortably.
We did enjoy the quiet, the pool area and the staff was friendly. The rooms were always very clean and carpets were freshly vacuumed each day, but will not likely return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

You have great staff. I will recommend this hotel to others. It is about a 10 minute walk to get to the main area of Banff but that's not bad if it is not too cold out, but there are lots of taxis if it is. There isn't a restaurant on site but there is one that is next door and they do have really good food. The breakfast at the hotel isn't the greatest, but it works.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the loft room. I thought it was good, but I don't know what the other rooms are like.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. They have a policy where it's "quiet time" after 11 pm. The first night, it was obvious that the people beside us was a group of young people enjoying their weekend. We decided to give it until midnight, but someone must have phoned down sooner, as it was suddenly quiet about 15-20 mins later (nice that that policy is "enforced"!) Rooms were very good, and no issues (good bed and pillows). There is a complimentary breakfast (cereals, toast, waffles) which was also very good.

When we got home, we realized that we had forgotten a shirt hanging in the closet (it was my husband's favorite golf shirt, so he really wanted it back). We phoned the hotel, and they were eventually able to inform us that it had been found, and offered to send it back to us C.O.D. We were more than willing, and it was shipped via UPS and arrived the following day. Fabulous (husband was very happy !)

The pool and hot tub were wonderful, unfortunately the steam room didn't appear to be working during our stay.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall Charlton Cedar Court is a very good place to stay. The room we have was Deluxe Queen room and everything in the room are meet our expectations. Front Desk staff are very helpful and nice.

We chosen a Full Canadian Breakfast instead which in Charlton Royal Canadian Lodge 's Evergreen Restaurant. Just the hot food helped us to start a day.

It takes 15-min walk from Downtown area which i think that's ok. I definitely will recommend to anyone and stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a suite with a queen bed and two twin beds. The room was big clean, and the kitchen had all we needed to cook our dinner.
On site breakfast in the morning was also nice.
We had a good time and definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marje77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 33 in Banff
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $119 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing