We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just wanted a relaxing day in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Just wanted a relaxing day in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

and we loved our stay at the Charlton's Cedar Court...we stayed in the Kitchenette suite...liked the suite and would like to stay there again...just that it was a bit overheated in the night...liked having a TV in each room...the kids could watch their own shows...would like if you could have a little more variety for the breakfast spread...

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coreena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    288
    147
    52
    42
See reviews for
203
354
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Clean, updated rooms. Had a kitchenette with 3 beds, great with 2 teenage boys. Enjoyed our stay. Nice to have the complimentary breakfast included in stay.

A little more variety at the breakfast buffet would be nice and walls are paper thin so able to hear all your neighbors, only caused a problem when trying to sleep at night and someone walked by in outdoor corridor - woke us up a couple of times.

Very friendly staff and I'd recommend to anyone for a stay - just be prepared for the thin walls

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derbie432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in one of the King Loft Suites.
First impression walking in was that the loft suite did not appear near as large in person as it did in the photos. The bed was comfy and we did enjoy the loft except for a couple of down falls. The heat upstairs was unbearable, where on the main floor it was enjoyable. There was no happy medium in the entire room. And there was this light upstairs on the heater that lit up the entire room while we were sleeping. Also, if you are planning in staying in one of the loft suites, do know that it is not directly connected to the pool area. It was quite a chilly walk!
Also do know it is
NOT TRUCK FRIENDLY. They have a 6'6" covered parking and we had about 2 inches of leeway. There is no other parking available, so be advised that larger vehicles do not fit comfortably.
We did enjoy the quiet, the pool area and the staff was friendly. The rooms were always very clean and carpets were freshly vacuumed each day, but will not likely return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

You have great staff. I will recommend this hotel to others. It is about a 10 minute walk to get to the main area of Banff but that's not bad if it is not too cold out, but there are lots of taxis if it is. There isn't a restaurant on site but there is one that is next door and they do have really good food. The breakfast at the hotel isn't the greatest, but it works.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the loft room. I thought it was good, but I don't know what the other rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. They have a policy where it's "quiet time" after 11 pm. The first night, it was obvious that the people beside us was a group of young people enjoying their weekend. We decided to give it until midnight, but someone must have phoned down sooner, as it was suddenly quiet about 15-20 mins later (nice that that policy is "enforced"!) Rooms were very good, and no issues (good bed and pillows). There is a complimentary breakfast (cereals, toast, waffles) which was also very good.

When we got home, we realized that we had forgotten a shirt hanging in the closet (it was my husband's favorite golf shirt, so he really wanted it back). We phoned the hotel, and they were eventually able to inform us that it had been found, and offered to send it back to us C.O.D. We were more than willing, and it was shipped via UPS and arrived the following day. Fabulous (husband was very happy !)

The pool and hot tub were wonderful, unfortunately the steam room didn't appear to be working during our stay.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall Charlton Cedar Court is a very good place to stay. The room we have was Deluxe Queen room and everything in the room are meet our expectations. Front Desk staff are very helpful and nice.

We chosen a Full Canadian Breakfast instead which in Charlton Royal Canadian Lodge 's Evergreen Restaurant. Just the hot food helped us to start a day.

It takes 15-min walk from Downtown area which i think that's ok. I definitely will recommend to anyone and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a suite with a queen bed and two twin beds. The room was big clean, and the kitchen had all we needed to cook our dinner.
On site breakfast in the morning was also nice.
We had a good time and definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marje77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing