We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were greeted on a late evening arrival by friendly hotel personnel willing to help us not only check in but also get a sense of the area, answer our questions regarding food and drink and also describe activities available to us. That is a lot to provide after 11PM. No worries! We found the room to be clean and comfortable, and the reservations as requested. We think we got the last room in the establishment, since the car port was full (we found the last parking space). The hotel is located a few blocks from the downtown and so quieter but near enough for an evening stroll to the activity center. We had a wonderful time in Banff, and the hotel staff contributed to it in no small way. Our car battery ran down, and we got a jump, no problem. We needed to get a package delivered, no problem. Etc. Decor is sort of "faded" English/Canadian and comfortable. Nice without being luxurious. A great big bathroom with both tub and shower. We liked the refrigerator in the room. When we return, we'll look to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jn0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    305
    163
    60
    46
See reviews for
217
382
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We rented a king loft room and were very pleased. The bed was comfortable. He bathroom is good sized and the shower is large. Nice assortment of toiletries. The couch is right in front of the air conditioning unit. You need to run on high to cool the loft so run on high while out to dinner. The continental breakfast is decent. The staff was courteous and helpful. Restaurants we ate at and enjoyed were Earl's, Tooloulous, and Carlitos. Ask for extra adduce on pizza. It is any easy walk to downtown Banff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryN0148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flatts Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night in July. Good price, good location. Nothing fancy, but clean, good staff and rooms are a good size. The rooms need some updating. Short walk into the shops on main street in Banff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana4552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August. The staff were excellent even booked some tours for us. Although we arrived prior to check in we were able to go to our deluxe queen room. It was on ground level which we had no problem with and we did not have any problem with street noise.
The room was quite large. There was a large entrance area with a closet that had plenty of room for three large suitcases. In the room itself we had 2 Queen beds which were softer than I like. There was a desk and chair, two arm chairs, bedside table, TV on a stand that had extra drawers plus a mimi fridge.
The bathroom was huge. Large walk-in shower, soaker tub and very big vanity with plenty of room for our toiletries as well as storage underneath. The toiletries provided were of good quality. The room was cleaned every day.
There was no safe but we used a safety deposit box at the desk for our passports. They were individual boxes so you have your own key for the one you are using. My grand daughter loved the pool and the hot tub was also a great addition. Continental breakfast was provided daily at no charge.
Based on some reviews I can only assume there is a difference in the rooms but I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is on Banff Ave. about a 10 t0 15 minute walk to the center of town.

Room Tip: Room 108 very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

the lobby is beautiful so are the pics on line but when you show up in person the rooms are a far cry from what they are advertising.
they also claim they give ama discount in fact its advertised and stated even with ama . but when we inquired when booking they said they couldn't do it that weekend ???

wasent overly happy the place needs major upgrades and the rooms are way over priced we wont be staying here ever again shannon

Room Tip: go to another place or ask to see the room before you pay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Front desk needs to learn that good customer service doesn't start with telling guests "check in is at 4". Yes we arrived at 2 :20 and at 4:30 room still wasn't ready so they gave us a different one. Check out wasn't any better when key stopped working at 10:30 and check out is 11. Not sure why room wasn't ready as not a great job with overall cleaning of unit we did get. Better choices to be found in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

As a budget place this was great! We stayed with friends in a kitchenette suite which was ideal as we had separate rooms with a jack and Jill style bathroom & kitchen. Very clean, we'll stocked and lots of freebies. Pool was good hot tub amazing. Fantastic for parking and walking into Banff in the evening

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing