We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect stay in Banff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in Banff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a second time on our anniversary and it was a fantastic experience. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The location is a short walk from downtown, which made for a quiet weekend. Overall, a great experience. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gojustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    292
    153
    56
    45
See reviews for
209
365
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Despite some negative reviews, we booked a room here for a week and were very happy with our choice. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. It was well furnished, beds comfortable and the bathroom with a walk-in shower was very spacious. Everything was kept absolutely spotless. We also found the pricing very reasonable for the quality. The breakfast is a nice extra that makes life easier, as you are ready to hit the trails by 7 am - way before most people. The hotel is conveniently located about a 10 min walk from the heart (and hustle) of Banff town. I don't know about the other rooms in the hotel, but the deluxe room met all our expectations. The only downside is that the room was a bit dark and did get pretty hot - but the airco worked just fine. Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room on the second floor - better view and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you really made the most of a vacation in Banff. With our unique categories of rooms and a light continental breakfast, we think that this is as you said an excellent "base". Thank-you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel was comfortable and quiet. The layout of the room with the bed in a loft at a higher level connected by a circular staircase to the lower level was awkward. The air conditioning was located on the first level and the cold air did not rise to the second floor so the bedroom level was was always to hot and the lower level was too cold. The complimentary breakfasr was nice. The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from downtown Banff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is all on one level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in Banff in July. It wasn't overly hot but warm. We stayed at this hotel for one night. The location is a bit far from town if you are planning to walk (20 - 25 minutes) but it is in a quiet location. Our loft room was clean and ready before the check in time of 4. On the ground floor of the room is the sitting area with a long dresser and a T.V., the bathroom with just a shower is also on this floor as is the air conditioner. There is a set of open spiral stairs that leads up to the sleeping area and you can feel the heat building as soon as you hit stair 6 (there are 12). There is a ceiling fan but it is high up and does little to cool you. My husband did open a window but this did little to cool off the room. The king bed is comfortable and we did manage to sleep with just a sheet on. There is also a T.V. upstairs. I'm not sure I would stay in the summer again, unless I brought my own fan but I think it would be nice in the winter. The stairs can be tricky to navigate during a middle of the night bathroom trip. Can't comment on the free breakfast as we did not eat here. Looked like your typical continental breakfast, toast, bagels, cereals, juice and hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Liked this hotel for several reasons:

1) 10 minutes walk to downtown shopping area
2) friendly and helpful staff (changed our room to 2nd floor due to too much mosquitos on the ground floor)
3) kids friendly swimming pool; very clean and classy hot tubs. They also have sauna but I didn't use it.
4) air conditioned - don't be surprised that many hotels in Banff & Jasper do not equip one. We were there for a very warm week so nice to have that.
5) quiet even when we were at the ground floor parking area
6) spacious and clean bathrooms

Avoid: ground floor if you think mosquitos like you.

Overall I would recommend this one. (oh, Keg and Chili restaurants are right next to the hotel; so as Safeway, Gas Station - all walking distance.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMMW232431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked this hotel on-line and were pleasantly surprised. All the staff we encountered were very friendly, professional and helpful. We booked a family suite with a kitchenette to offset some of the costs associated with perpetually hungry boys. The rooms were well appointed and clean and we did not here any noise from adjacent rooms. The pool area and hot tub were a great way to unwind and relax after our very busy days.
I booked my husband a massage at the Grotto Spa, a short distance down the street, which he enjoyed and recommends. We initially planned to move on after four days, but extended our stay at this property because of the staff and their helpfulness.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gotzboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Il
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our 2nd stay during our trip and at check in on this 2nd visit we did not get the normal explanation or discount coupons to their sister dining room, Evergreen. We also had to ask for Internet service and so I decided to verify the room type at check-in. Only when I asked were we told we had been "upgraded" to a loft king, because they were nearly full. I immediately asked to have my original room type back because the loft rooms are notoriously too hot to sleep in and was told, there were two separate A/C units (not true) and that no other rooms were available.

Of course the loft was hot, there were not 2 A/C units, and we slept with the A/C on full blast, the fan on and fortunately were eventually able to open the window when it cooled down outside. We have stayed at Cedar Court several times because we liked the cozy atmosphere, good rates and A/C of this smaller hotel. We were very disappointed with this visit and are unlikely to return. We can no longer recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t1andjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing