We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel in Banff”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nothing special, but clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable, but we had a loft suite and even with the air conditioner on the bedroom was too warm...and we were there on a cool day.
Not much around and a bit of walk into town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinsFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay in Banff. I am glad you found the cleanliness of our hotel to your liking and I am sorry that your guestroom did not meet your expectations. At this time we do offer additional floor fans upon request to assist with airflow however the Owners are investigating a permanent solution so temperature will be better controlled in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 834 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted a lovely weekend getaway and that is exactly what we got.

We stayed in a loft room, it was clean and very cute. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Continental breakfast was great and was served for a decent amount of time (7-10).
It was a 10 minute walk to downtown Banff with an excellent selection of restaurants and pubs within walking distance.
We booked online with a hot springs package and we received exactly what was specified online.

All in all very satisfied with this hotel. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibroul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in a Loft Suite and received excellent service from our staff! I hope you had a good time at the Banff Upper Hot Springs during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Banff.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Banff is an extremely pricey town, so at $250+ per night, we got a room with kitchenette, and two queen beds. not too roomy, but enough for our family of four.
the positives: hotel location is very good, close to downtown banff.
negatives: kitchenette suites, though expensive, have no mountain views. the rooms are dark and stuff.
we got a $50 voucher for their restaurant, the evergreen, and two adult passes to the hot springs.
clean rooms and beds.
nice swimming pool and hot tub.

negatives: kichenette is equipped with old, outdated utensils and appliances.
room cleaning was altogether skipped one day. we had to complain twice, and finally our room was cleaned at night.
the following day and all days after that, the person who cleaned our room did not touch the couple of dishes we had in our sink. we had ONE rinsed pan in our sink one day, and they did not have the courtesy to wash it up.
there was no dishwasher, so we rinsed our dishes everyday, but no one even touched the washing up.
breakfast was complimentary, but very minimal. no hot chocolate pouches for the kids, only canned fruit, cold hard-boiled eggs.
the reception staff was nice enough, but overall, service was impersonal, especially at breakfast.we were there four nights,
recommended for families, but dont expect them to go out of the way to accommodate your kids' needs.

Room Tip: ask for a room with mountain views. the interior room we got was stuffy and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chhavijainporwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room that we got was not the one that I have booked. I talked to the lady at the reception and she said that I shold have mentioned that I wanted to have the same room that was displayed at their website when I booked online. Furthermore, she said that she couldnt offer us a better room because the hotel was booked out. However, we did not get a discount. In addition to that the price I for the breakfast is in my opinion too high- 22 dollars per person.
The room was also located near the stairs so we woke up by other people all the time, who used the stairs.
To sum it up, I would not recommand anyone to stay at this place. I have booked tis hotel because I hoped it is going to be a very good one. However, the accomodation of the room was old and by far not the one that was shown at the website. Totally disappointing.

Room Tip: Take another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 1 week here and enjoyed it thoroughly. Nice setting, at the end of the main street, so within a comfortable walk to all shops. Staff was very accommodating, polite, helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was basic - coffee, toast, hard eggs, juice and diced fresh fruit that most likely was packaged (not tasty). Coffee is available in the lobby at all times. The fireplace in the lobby was a nice feature. The beds were most comfortable, ample pillows(4) on each of our queen size beds, and warm comforters.
It's a welcoming place.

Room Tip: We requested and received a walk-in shower. We do not like a shower curtain. Ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaraschipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. We appreciate your feedback regarding our continental breakfast and I am pleased to inform you that we now offer a larger selection of items including cereal and fresh baked goods. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Charlton Cedar Court in May, 2013. We stayed in a loft room. Our stay was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, continental breakfast were very good. It is about a 10 min walk to the downtown area, but is a beautiful walk. Lots of restaurants close by. We will be staying here again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! I am so pleased to hear that your received the quality stay that our guests deserve while. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff, your room and our continental breakfast. Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to having you back to our hotel!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

So here it is, it was terrible! To be fair it was not the staff, loft room or location of this hotel that made it terrible, it was the misfortune to have our stay be ruined by the loud voices and other noises from a couple in an adjoining room. The walls are super thin, they might as well been in the same room as us. Calling security at 3 AM to alert them to this disturbance, they came around and could not hear or locate the room causing this disturbance. By this time we had already conceded and packed and left this property. I contacted the hotel later that same morning and they apologized and did not charge us for the room, there was no debate, just an apology and that was good. They also gave us reduced rates for another stay at the Delta Banff Lodge, their sister property, which we appreciate and will take them up on. I will say the staff was very courteous at check in, there was a minor billing error as they posted someone else's payment on our room account, but did correct. The loft room was spacious for 2, four would find it tight in this room. The bathroom was very clean with good quality towels and amenities. The king bed was firm and had good quality sheets. There were two flat screen t.v.'s, 30 " i think. Lighting in the room is good. Had A/C and a ceiling fan. Room was in good condition, walls very clean and no damage, furniture was a bit tired, but was clean in appearance and rug was clean and in good condition. Note the stairs leading the loft are a spiral stair case and very narrow, a large person or elderly would find some difficulty on these. I would however not stay here again and will book newer and better star rated accommodations in this town for future visits. Oh yes, the clerk did say the GM was sending me a follow up email, but it has now been 48 hours and nothing as yet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Travelersweare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $105 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing