We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loft room was different” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loft room was different”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the loft rooms when we visited here in June 2012. The main area you walked into was very small and old looking. There was a narrow winding staircase which lead upstairs to the bedroom (which was fun for our 3 year old son). The bedroom upstairs was actually very roomy and bright; it even seemed to be updated. The pool area looked like it could use some updating but it was still clean and fun. Over all it was a nice, clean place to stay if you don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cck2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review! We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us last June. It is reviews like yours that allow us the opportunity to improve our facilities and increase guest satisfaction. We hope to have the opportunity of having you back to our hotel during your next visit to Banff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    292
    153
    56
    45
See reviews for
209
365
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel was better than I expected. Room sizes were good. Large bathroom. Comfortable beds.

Was hard to regulate the temperature in the room. Heat was way down and still had to sleep with the window open.

Breakfast was very minimal. Not even cereal. That could be improved.

Otherwise very good room for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been staying at this property for over 8 years now. When ever we pass through Banff it is our frist choice, and never disapoints us. The room clean and spacious, as well the staff helpfull and polite. The walk along the outside pedways to the pool, hot tub and sauna area can be cool in the winter but is soon forgotten once back inside this great facility. The aid of a supplied robe from the room is a nice touch. We have recommended this property to our family and friends. Our only complant when the property is booked and we need to stay elsewhere. We have stayed in a room with the loft and found the loft quite warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50skiseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We did not sleep the first night. Service was amazing. Hotel very clean but we got the loft and we could not sleep at all it was so hot from the fireplace. Which sucked because I got these accommodations because they had a fire place. Second night was even worse we slept with the door open to seek comfort Hotel room was way to hot. It's kinda annoying when you spend so much to have a great time to be so disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iasha17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

aylesbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Justed stayed for one night as just passing through Banff and picked it off the internet not knowing what to expect. The room was beautiful with a large bedroom on a mezzanine and sitting area with a fireplace below - very comfortable. No bar or restaurant but it is in easy walking distance of town centre and it's sister hotel where you can use all it's facilities and charge them to your room. Complimentary continental breakfast that was very good as was the pool and hot tub. Will return next year for a longer stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniec c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay at this quaint, very clean, quiet hotel. The staff were all very helpful and polite. Our loft room was fresh and clean included a king bed and fireplace! Be sure to ask about regulating the heat as it is a loft...We had dinner at the Evergreen down the road, a few minutes walk, It was one of the best meals my fiance and I had ever eaten out! It was all I could do to keep myself from licking the plate spotless! I would not think twice about booking this hotel and eating at the Evergreen! Top notch dining, be prepared to spend some money for excellent cuisine!

Room Tip: The loft room near the centerof the hotel were quiet, be sure to see about the heat before you settl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were glad to find Charlton's for our recent ski trip to Banff with two exchange students. We needed a unit providing some privacy for my husband and I...and the family unit worked well. We had a partially private bedroom with queen bed, and the two boys had twin beds in a private bedroom with a small kitchen/eating area and bathroom between the two rooms. The unit was in great repair - looked like it had been fairly recently renovated. Great large walk-in shower. The ony improvement I could suggest to the room is to have a door on both the bedrooms to provide complete privacy.

The price couldn't be beat in usually pricey Banff - it included a very nice breakfast bar with a very helpful attendant, and a welcome package with a half bottle of wine and chocolates (part of a Spring Special). Also included was a $30 credit for the Evergreen Restaurant at their sister property - this was the only disappointment of the stay - the restaurant was quite pricey, but the food didn't stand up to the complexity of the menu or the prices.

Also appreciated finding a pet free hotel as I develop asthama when exposed to cats & dogs. I find it frustrating that so many hotels are becoming "pet friendly" with no rooms set aside as "pet free" for those of us with allergies! Seems like the pet owners receive priority over those of us with a medical condition we cannot control.

Overall a pleasant stay. We usually stay in a condo unit in Canmore, but found this to be a good alternative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dophi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#15 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing