We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic Getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay at this quaint, very clean, quiet hotel. The staff were all very helpful and polite. Our loft room was fresh and clean included a king bed and fireplace! Be sure to ask about regulating the heat as it is a loft...We had dinner at the Evergreen down the road, a few minutes walk, It was one of the best meals my fiance and I had ever eaten out! It was all I could do to keep myself from licking the plate spotless! I would not think twice about booking this hotel and eating at the Evergreen! Top notch dining, be prepared to spend some money for excellent cuisine!

Room Tip: The loft room near the centerof the hotel were quiet, be sure to see about the heat before you settl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    291
    151
    54
    43
See reviews for
206
359
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were glad to find Charlton's for our recent ski trip to Banff with two exchange students. We needed a unit providing some privacy for my husband and I...and the family unit worked well. We had a partially private bedroom with queen bed, and the two boys had twin beds in a private bedroom with a small kitchen/eating area and bathroom between the two rooms. The unit was in great repair - looked like it had been fairly recently renovated. Great large walk-in shower. The ony improvement I could suggest to the room is to have a door on both the bedrooms to provide complete privacy.

The price couldn't be beat in usually pricey Banff - it included a very nice breakfast bar with a very helpful attendant, and a welcome package with a half bottle of wine and chocolates (part of a Spring Special). Also included was a $30 credit for the Evergreen Restaurant at their sister property - this was the only disappointment of the stay - the restaurant was quite pricey, but the food didn't stand up to the complexity of the menu or the prices.

Also appreciated finding a pet free hotel as I develop asthama when exposed to cats & dogs. I find it frustrating that so many hotels are becoming "pet friendly" with no rooms set aside as "pet free" for those of us with allergies! Seems like the pet owners receive priority over those of us with a medical condition we cannot control.

Overall a pleasant stay. We usually stay in a condo unit in Canmore, but found this to be a good alternative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dophi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Kitchennette suite. We liked that our girls each got their own beds, the pool area was nice & not busy! Breakfast was fine...not a lot of choice on the 3rd day (which was Tuesday) maybe because hotel was less busy then? Room got very hot at night, had to sleep with windows open. Good location - walking distance to main street & many restaurants. Only downside was our daughter's wallet going missing (stolen??) from our room, no idea what happened possibly someone slipped in when housekeeping was cleaning our room...in the process of searching the room for the wallet we found a bottle under the bed, used kleenex under the dresser, underwear under the mattress, dust bunnies in the corners... we thought the room was clean until doing a search of it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callalilly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in king loft room. The staff was excellent, very friendly and professional. The continental breakfast was lovely, tasty and great that it lasted til 10:00am. Unfortunately, the heater in our room was exceptionally loud, it kept us awake at night. When we asked to be moved to another quieter room, we were told that all rooms were like that. They did have other available rooms, and we were very disappointed that they wouldn't move us even though we were unhappy with our room. I would not go back for those two reasons.

Room Tip: The loft room has the bed upstairs and it gets very warm due to heat rising. We had to keep the cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel staff was so helpful and pleasant in accommodating a change in our plans. We were delighted that the room actually looked like the photo on the website and the heated floor in the bathroom was awesome. All in all, we found the Cedar Spring package made an excellent spring break trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1968cLb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in the loft king room, it was very nice. The spiral staircase and the gas fireplace topped it all off. We went in the busy season, and still had a great room for a very reasonable price. It's walking distance to a lot of nice restaraunts and downtown! Very happy with my experience. The only issue was that the upper half of the room got very hot if the heat was on or the fireplace on too long, but that's to be expected.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the outside or all you view is other rooms and the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the loft suite. The room was very nice and comfortable but when we arrived the room was very cold. It had a cozy atmosphere and the bed was great to sleep in. The location is very close to the where the little shops are. If the weather was better we certainly would have walked but it is was only a couple minute drive. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing