We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heater in room was way too loud and prevented sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heater in room was way too loud and prevented sleep!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in king loft room. The staff was excellent, very friendly and professional. The continental breakfast was lovely, tasty and great that it lasted til 10:00am. Unfortunately, the heater in our room was exceptionally loud, it kept us awake at night. When we asked to be moved to another quieter room, we were told that all rooms were like that. They did have other available rooms, and we were very disappointed that they wouldn't move us even though we were unhappy with our room. I would not go back for those two reasons.

Room Tip: The loft room has the bed upstairs and it gets very warm due to heat rising. We had to keep the cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    303
    163
    59
    46
See reviews for
216
382
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel staff was so helpful and pleasant in accommodating a change in our plans. We were delighted that the room actually looked like the photo on the website and the heated floor in the bathroom was awesome. All in all, we found the Cedar Spring package made an excellent spring break trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1968cLb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in the loft king room, it was very nice. The spiral staircase and the gas fireplace topped it all off. We went in the busy season, and still had a great room for a very reasonable price. It's walking distance to a lot of nice restaraunts and downtown! Very happy with my experience. The only issue was that the upper half of the room got very hot if the heat was on or the fireplace on too long, but that's to be expected.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the outside or all you view is other rooms and the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the loft suite. The room was very nice and comfortable but when we arrived the room was very cold. It had a cozy atmosphere and the bed was great to sleep in. The location is very close to the where the little shops are. If the weather was better we certainly would have walked but it is was only a couple minute drive. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hello

The room was nice but we did notice a 'smell' of old sweat as we sat in the lower part of the room watching TV. Smell likely came from the sofa. Needs to be cleaned more often.

Otherwise the rest of the room was a 4/5.

Gil

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Sangudo, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel. Staff is very friendly and service was excellent. We had the loft suite and if we kept the heat off and window open upstairs, it was comfortable sleeping, otherwise it was just too hot. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was super. Great variety and tasty. Above average for continental

Room Tip: Choose a regular suite as the loft suites can get hot and stairs are steep for old people or small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Charlton's Cedar Court through Living Social coupon. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but definitely showing it's age. Loft room with fireplace is very cute, however the upstairs bedroom gets very warm with all the heat funnelling up. Complimentary breakfast not fancy, but adequate. Would stay here again, but would choose a different type of room. If using Living Social coupon, make sure you understand the rules for your dinner discount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
749 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing