We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great rooms would def go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Cardiff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great rooms would def go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed in the bow view lodge for 2 weeks!!! we paid for breakfast over in the banff park lodge as they are sister hotels and you get to use the pool, sauna and gym.

Firstly we found the staff brilliant, extremely friendly and helpful. I have noticed others have said the decor was dated but I found it fairly pleasant. We had a large room with two great big double beds, a sofa, table and chairs and cable tv. the beds were very comfortable and i must say we didn't experience any loss of sleep due to noise other than one night there was a noisy group outside the corridor but that was one occasion!

The breakfast selection was amazing everything you could ask for. The voucher allows you the buffet breakfast which includes pastries, bagels, toast, cakes and muffins. Cooked breakfast, gammon ham, sausages, bacon, french toast, scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, corned beef hash (not the british kind, fried potatoes and small bits of beef), pancakes and maple syrup. Fresh fruit cereals, porrdige and a european breakfast of meat cheese tomatoes and cottage cheese. Eat as much as you like. we found after a huge breakfast we were set up till about 3pm!! Again service was great here.

If you have the time do use the pool and steam room. Its a eucalyptus steam room which helped my congestion problems due to the altitude as I am used to be at sea level. The pool jacuzzi and hot tub were great but we found the temp of the pool and room a little too cold.

The location was great too. Not dead center but you're a 5 min walk away from downtown and literally across the road from Melissa's and right by car rental place.

My partner and I were extremely happy with our stay here and if we retuned to banff we would stay here again.

The only down side was the internet connection, I am used to speeds of 20mb at home and the broadband speeds here could be mistaken for dial up!!

ps First time I stayed in Banff was at the Rimrock resort hotel. I enjoyed my stay more and preferred the staff at the Bow View lodge!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieRoseCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    249
    144
    33
    7
See reviews for
129
282
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

With the exception of the worn lobby and elevator carpets, this hotel is clean and comfortable. I was never disturbed by noise while I was there. And at less than $100 per night, the hotel provided good value for the money. But if you are looking for a room to be part of your vacation, rather than simply enable your vacation, look elsewhere.

There are few amenities, but the ones they do have (coffee in the room, small fridges, boot drawer) are handy. The pool and hot tub are actually in the much more plush hotel next door, the Banff Park Lodge. Reportedly, the pool is pretty nice. The Banff Park Lodge also has a couple of good restaurants: all February Bow View cutomers are eligible 2 for 1 deals for their excellent buffet dinners three nights a week. Unfortunately, Bow View did not tell me about this until I had already enjoyed the curry buffet night.

The wi-fi was expensive ($10 a day with some suggestion they could cut the rate if you took a week). I went to the nearby Starbucks instead.

The bus pick up for the ski resorts is in front of the Banff Park Lodge, which is about a two minute walk in ski boots. It's the last pick up spot before the hills and the first drop off spot. so that was nice (the bus service always put on a second bus quickly if the first filled up, when I was there). The Banff Park Lodge is also where you catch the bus back to the Calgary airport. Bow View has its own ski room, but they don't seem to mind if you take your gear up to your room. Banff Park Lodge let me store mine in their ski room, which was much more handy and seemed more secure (in fact they offered to store my gear).

The staff was sparse, but quite helpful.
The hotel is quite convenient to 'downtown' Banff -- perhaps a 3 minute walk.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We had a great time! The room is very very clean and quaint! Breakfast buffet, excellent!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Just arrived back from Banff stayed in another of the hotels - this one being right in the town as opposed to Banff Avenue. it was great! it is connected to the larger posher Banff Park Lodge where you can use all the amenities, pool hot tub etc which was always gorgeous - our room in the Bow view had a spectacular mountain view which i enjoyed every morning lying in bed - room was spotless and service was brilliant at this hotel. I would certainly book this hotel again - and it was also fantastic value - if you include a ski package for lift passes you can save a fortune!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed here in between Boxing day and New Year's day and got a great rate directly from the hotel's own website.

If you're fussy about the way your room & the hotel interior looks then this probably isn't the place for you as the decor is very dated, but if you're looking for a clean, practical, comfortable, quiet and well situated hotel (right next to the river) then I'd recommend it 100%.

We were on the top floor overlooking the river (we asked for exactly that when we booked) and our room had a balcony (smoking allowed), a TV with a good cable channel selection, a small fridge that will comfortably hold a few beers & snacks, a coffee maker, toiletries & a small hairdryer.

There are very few facilities at the hotel: 24hr reception, free car park, a PC with internet connection (for a fee) and an ice machine on the 2nd floor - but the thing that makes up for the lack of facilities is the access to the fab facilities at their newer sister hotel just across the car park.

We used their pool, eucalyptus steam room, hot plunge pool & jacuzzi and also had a great buffet breakfast there each morning. Not busy and a huge choice of hot & cold food with plenty of options for veggies like us (including freshly made omelettes, scrambled eggs, porridge, cereals, toast and muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, etc, etc). You get the buffet for a reduced rate of $11 if you opt to have it before or at check in. Otherwise it's $18.

The hotel is very convenient for the town centre but away from all the noise. It's about 2 blocks to the local cinema and only an 8-10 min walk to all of the pubs/bars on the main street.

I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We just stayed one night at the Bow View lodge on a road trip. We picked it because of the view and location and it was pretty cheap compared to other places in Banff. We have a room with a balcony and view over the river which was very nice. The location is pretty good as it is 2 blocks from restaurants and shops but quiet and secluded. The lodge is pretty old fashioned with the lift and corridors looking as if they had seen better days. The room was fine for what we paid not massive but the bed was comfortable and with the balcony it was well ventilated. The major letdown was the total lack of sound proofing between rooms. It may have been because our room had a internal door connecting to the adjoining room but it sounded as if our neighbours were in our room. Overall if you want a cheap base with a good location and stunning view in Banff stay here but maybe bring some earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aschoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Spacious room just off the town centre. Good value for money. Was only doing an overnight stop, but could imagine staying here for a few days.

Wifi is an extra $10 on top of the price of the room, but it's fast and reliable.

Full car park tonight (December).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eh10DotOrgSlashBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.7 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Property: Bow View Lodge
Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing