We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Value Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Banff
calgary
Level Contributor
450 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good Value Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Bow View Lodge is located along the River in Banff and a ten minute walk from the heart of Banff. The rooms are clean and while not overly large offer more than adequate accommodation for the price. Some of the rooms on the river side featured king size beds and sofas and were larger. There are no dining facilities here but the hotel is attached to the Banff Park Inn so meals can be had there. We were offered a reduced rate for the breakfast buffet -- the buffet was one of the very best I have encountered - omelette stations, a lovely selection of fresh fruit and cold cuts, cold and hot cereals, selection of toasts and pastries....
The hotel does charge for wifi which I think should not be - they were kindly offered me complimentary wifi....this hotel is very good value in every way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skychaserCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    232
    127
    24
    5
See reviews for
113
251
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I thought I was dreaming, 5:30 sunday morning an excavator (loader) equipped with a back up beeper for 2 hours outside my patio.really? it was the response from the front desk tha tgot me as well. shrub of the shoulders.also charged me $20 more for sat after quoting me for the 3 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I felt I should write a review because I've stayed in everything from Fairmont's to Hostels and I think a lot of the negative reviews are unwarranted.

First of all... the location. Not only is this hotel in the beautiful and world famous resort town of Banff, but it also only a 5 minute walk from downtown Banff Ave.

Secondly, with this location they still only charged $79/night. That is amazing. But when you pay that low a price you have to adjust your expectations. And for that I can say I was happily pleased... I had everything I would have expected in a hotel that only charges $79... in Banff... that close to downtown.

Thirdly... Some of these commenters need to be a little more accurate in their descriptions of the beds. I was worried I'd be sleeping on a plank of plywood after reading a number of these other reviews. That simply is not true. While the beds are indeed very firm, they were hardly rocks.

I went up for a guys weekend and we had a blast. I would definitely stay again - save money on the hotel and spend the rest at the bars or on the slopes!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akasparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

we stayed at this hotel one night while in banff Jan 4 2014. The room first off was extremly dated and i do not think the red carpet has been changed since the early 80s. The two twin beds in the room were like sleeping on a board. The room was cold upon arrival so i adjusted the thermostat to 25'C and it didnt turn on all night, average room temp of maybe 16 or 17 degrees. In the morning it took three or four minutes before the water in the shower got hot, then was either an extreme of too hot to stand under or too cold, with a twenty or thirty second delay between adjusting the taps and a temp change. When we checked out i informed the manager of my issue and offered a discount if we retuned at a later date as he could not offer a reduction since booking through expedia... Needless to say we will not be going back.

Room Tip: Dont go not worth it even at a cheap rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. The hotel has many options to remedy the issues that you brought to our attention.

We have a 24-hour front desk that can immediately assist you with moving rooms. We also have a maintenance department that is always on call. If moving rooms is undesirable we can provide a portable space heater that will quickly increase your room temperature while our maintenance team addresses heating concerns.

Our premier property Banff Park Lodge has new pillow-top mattresses in all their guest rooms. A room-move to our premier property would have been easily accomplished on this particular date had this been brought to our attention.

Unfortunately, when I asked the guests whether they reported the problem with the heat, the beds being uncomfortable or the appearance of the room they indicated that they did not contact anyone until departure.

We feel that we could have rectified the problem promptly had it been reported to us upon discovery. We offered a $40 room rate for a future visit this winter and we hope the guests will return for a stay with us or in our premier property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked a room in Dec 2013. We were excited to have an evening in Banff with our kids. However, within 1 hour of checking in, one of our kids had a medical issue and we had to rush to Children's hospital in Calgary. No one's fault. After a long night at the hospital, our child ended up being ok. However, Even though the hotel was not sold out that night and we only put our bags in the room (ie hadn't used the room yet), the manager said he could not refund our night.. He gave us his number and said he would give us a significant discount on our next visit. We called 1 week later and the significant discount ended up being a discount off their inflated regular rate which was significantly higher than what was being offered at various discount internet websites. In the end we would end up paying $10 bucks below the regular internet rate. Obviously this manager does not have kids. He is not thinking of his customers. This experience definitely will ensure we never go back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have contacted you directly to assist you with resolving this matter.

Kind regards,

Bow View Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Bow View Lodge several times. This is an older hotel that is meticulously maintained, has a great front desk staff, and is very affordable. It's a short stroll to downtown to grab something to eat if you don't want to eat at the lodge next door (although they have a nice breakfast buffet). The front desk staff will give you directions around town or help with restaurant recommendations. I've always had a great stay on every visit and will continue to stay at Bow View Lodge on my travels.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel has a good location in Banff with plenty of parking and friendly, courteous staff. We were initially given a room with two queen beds and asked if we could change to a king bed, this was no trouble and the king room was ideal. We had a nice view from the balcony and the bed was huge and comfortable. The hotel has a 70's style vibe that we liked and the price was very fair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Property: Bow View Lodge
Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing