We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I may not want to go home...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I may not want to go home...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The day was cold, the conference was draining, I arrived at the hotel and felt like I had come home. The clerks were beyond courteous. They were caring, empathetic, and eager to help, even offering suggestions about things one might never have dared to ask. The room itself was comfortable...remember that lovely word "cozy"?...well, it was cozy. My room even afforded me a restful view of Mt. Rundle. Need more shampoo? No problem. Need an extra glass. With pleasure! I almost hated going home, but then, after all, home really is home. This experience, however, was the next best thing. Thank you.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    232
    129
    24
    5
See reviews for
113
252
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
weymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we stayed at the Bow lodge for 3 nights on our journey through the Rockies from Vancouver to Calgary. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the Bow River.....'What a View to see first thing in the morning'.
Our room was a large room with a nice size bed which was very comfortable, coffee maker, fridge, shower over bath with plenty of toiletries. A balcony to sit outside & a large, if not a bit outdated TV (but who watches a lot of TV when you are staying in one of the most beautiful places in the world).
The room was warm very clean...maybe to some the décor would be considered outdated, but to us on only paying $80.00 per night we were more than happy, especially when we had stayed in other hotels for a lot more money per night during our trip and were considerably more outdated.
The sister hotel was very glamorous, but their rooms did not have the lovely river views, however it was nice to be able to use the pool, steam room & Jacuzzi.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a nice clean accommodation with a lovely view (just request a river view room).
Would definitely stay again......without a doubt.

Room Tip: River View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jahoWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a room at the back of the hotel facing the Bow river. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I loved being able to go out on the balcony and look out over the river and up at the mountains. The hotel is a few blocks away from Banff Ave but it's a quick walk and you're right in the action. The only drawback to the balcony is that it's connected all the way around and they advise locking the door to keep your belongings safe. Still worth having the balcony. We had a great stay and want to book our next trip back at the Bow View.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SibinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was clean. We enjoyed the river view and little balcony. There was a very large buck on the property, just laying down and chewing, so that was our first wild animal sighting upon arriving in Alberta. Close to the rest of town to walk to dinner but on a side street and quiet. We appreciated the service at the front desk. Warning: Wifi is not free. There is no restaurant in the motel so we ate at Melissa's around the corner which was adequate. This was a good choice for a one night stay on our way to Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or all you will see is the parking lot and the rear of the sister hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here (2) nights as part of a Canadia Rockies bus trip. The location is very good and beautiful. The rooms are small but comfortable with a small deck with sliding doors. Easy walking (2) blocks in to town surounded by mountains. Wi-fi available for $5 dollars per night, although they let us have it for free. The only negative was that you could here the ajacent room doors when guests were leaving or returning to their rooms. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
236 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a 3rd floor room with views of the Bow River and a small balcony to enjoy. The sliding door was hard to open and I called front desk. The gentleman on duty came up immediately to open and explain how to open. We had a king size bed, coffee maker and refrigerator in this room. The bathroom was large and adequate. The location of this hotel was excellent to downtown and to walks along the Bow River to see the Falls. This hotel was also close to the Catholic Church. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukeanthonywflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

So we checked in on Sept 7 and the front desk agent wouldn't get his butt off the chair to serve people. None the less we got registered.

Later on I called from the room to try and find out the instructions for pool use next door and the phone just rang and rang. I went downstairs to find him making a reservation. The least he could do was put them on hold and answer other calls. My training is in the hotel industry as well and I know that you can never afford to miss ANY call.

We came back from swimming and I asked for some extra coffee sonce there were 3 adults in the room wanting some. I made the coffee and it was weak! Not impressed when I pay an average rate of $135/night.

Upon checking out we left a wash cloth in the room by accident. I got home that night to see if they could mail it to me on my dime. Mysteriously the cloth was never found in the room. Infact I know it was probably seen as junk and discarded just the same. Hotels are not forced by law to hold your items but as a courtesy; should do so. THIS ONE DOESN'T!

To bad though, location was conducive to what we required but the cost of the hotel, and attitude of all staff interactions make this a tough sell to me a 2nd time around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Property: Bow View Lodge
Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing