We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, clean motel, and quiet near the river”
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room was clean. We enjoyed the river view and little balcony. There was a very large buck on the property, just laying down and chewing, so that was our first wild animal sighting upon arriving in Alberta. Close to the rest of town to walk to dinner but on a side street and quiet. We appreciated the service at the front desk. Warning: Wifi is not free. There is no restaurant in the motel so we ate at Melissa's around the corner which was adequate. This was a good choice for a one night stay on our way to Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or all you will see is the parking lot and the rear of the sister hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for Bow View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 768 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here (2) nights as part of a Canadia Rockies bus trip. The location is very good and beautiful. The rooms are small but comfortable with a small deck with sliding doors. Easy walking (2) blocks in to town surounded by mountains. Wi-fi available for $5 dollars per night, although they let us have it for free. The only negative was that you could here the ajacent room doors when guests were leaving or returning to their rooms. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a 3rd floor room with views of the Bow River and a small balcony to enjoy. The sliding door was hard to open and I called front desk. The gentleman on duty came up immediately to open and explain how to open. We had a king size bed, coffee maker and refrigerator in this room. The bathroom was large and adequate. The location of this hotel was excellent to downtown and to walks along the Bow River to see the Falls. This hotel was also close to the Catholic Church. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room on upper floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukeanthonywflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

So we checked in on Sept 7 and the front desk agent wouldn't get his butt off the chair to serve people. None the less we got registered.

Later on I called from the room to try and find out the instructions for pool use next door and the phone just rang and rang. I went downstairs to find him making a reservation. The least he could do was put them on hold and answer other calls. My training is in the hotel industry as well and I know that you can never afford to miss ANY call.

We came back from swimming and I asked for some extra coffee sonce there were 3 adults in the room wanting some. I made the coffee and it was weak! Not impressed when I pay an average rate of $135/night.

Upon checking out we left a wash cloth in the room by accident. I got home that night to see if they could mail it to me on my dime. Mysteriously the cloth was never found in the room. Infact I know it was probably seen as junk and discarded just the same. Hotels are not forced by law to hold your items but as a courtesy; should do so. THIS ONE DOESN'T!

To bad though, location was conducive to what we required but the cost of the hotel, and attitude of all staff interactions make this a tough sell to me a 2nd time around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had reserved one night here, but were ahead of schedule, so we called to book another night, and were able to do so without a problem. We were in a great room at the end of the hall on the second floor. Not facing the river, but we had a balcony which we liked. Our room had a king bed, small sofa, table, refrigerator and TV. It also included a table fan. As far as we could tell, this room did not have A/C, so that's what the fan was for. We would have preferred A/C, but luckily, it wasn't too hot while we were there. We used the laundry, which was in the sister hotel next door. One set of machines was broken, so we had to use the other, trying to share one washer and one dryer with two other guests. The free hot breakfast was also in this sister hotel and was substantial and delicious. All the staff were wonderful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Seahorse825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our buffet breakfast at our sister property Banff Park Lodge. We call the room you were in a ‘standard room with one king bed.’ These rooms have private balconies and offer a nice view of Cascade Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is right next to the river boo, all or most of the rooms turn to the river direction. Hotel is about a hundred meters from the main street of the town. Room we got on the first floor contained two large beds was big and clean.. Room has a refrigerator and coffee maker. Reception staff was not particularly nice. if you asking the price for the room was expensive for consideration.

Room Tip: take room in the river side
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about the Bow View Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean and spacious room. 26 of our 58 rooms overlook the Bow River and we are pleased to provide fridges in all of our rooms. We are sorry to hear that you did not connect with our front desk agents. We will contact you personally to see how we can improve our level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It really is just your typical little hotel, ok rooms for the price, clean a bit small for 4 people but it didn't matter to us as we only stayed a couple nights. What was really fantastic about this place was the Customer service. When we arrived in our room I was looking around and noticed that there was a few cans of butane sitting on the floor with one can being opened, we have two children so I figured it was not a very safe thing to have sitting around, so we brought it down to the sevice desk and the very friendly lady ( cannot remember her name :( ) was very upset about it, and later suprised us with 2 vouchers for free breakfast for our family. So all in all we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank synthiastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BowViewLodge, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. Safety and customer satisfaction are among our top priorities at the Bow View Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that the actions of our front desk agent not only conveyed our priorities as a business but also met your satisfaction by providing you with appropriate compensation.

Travel Tip - For families requiring more space please consider reserving one of our family rooms. These rooms feature 1 queen bed + 2 double beds spread out over 2 adjoining rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 33 in Banff
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 33 in Banff
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $72 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing