We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to return”
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
east sussex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cant wait to return”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have been on holiday to Canada several times as a couple, with friends and also with our young grandson and always return to the Bow view, the staff are excellent right from we make our booking to the time of check out they are always helpful and even rememberd that I had celebrated my 50th birthday back in 2010 and also that we had stayed with them with our grandson last year, when we where booking our stay with them for 2014. It is an excellent hotel very clean, a fantastic location and stunning views.we are returning in 2014 with our friends that have been with us once before and they wanted to book early so that they made sure that we would be staying at the bow view.See you in 2014 Bow view.

Room Tip: river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tetleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    317
    200
    49
    15
See reviews for
180
369
49
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humble, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff was friendly, room was clean, bed and pillows comfortable, frig and microwave provided. No a/c, but the provide a fan and considering you are in Canada where it cools off at night, one can't complain. The room was a little small if you have more than 2 people, but everything was satisfactory compared to the price of other motels. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mals46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylerville, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a very reasonable and clean hotel. You had access to their sister hotel which was right accross the way. Staff was very accommodating. Was within walking distance to most everything in Banff. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I would try and get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the suite which was so much fun to stay in! 2 queen beds, 2 sofas, kitchen, separate area for toilet and shower (walk-in with rain shower head). For feeling like being in a little luxury, the price was not bad for Banff. Beautifully located on the Bow River - gorgeous view. Would have been nice to have a balcony or door to walk out. Only complaints we had was that the front desk had no clue how to take the closed captioning off our tvs and, for the price of the suite, I had expected wifi to be included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is approx. the tenth hotel I've tried in Banff. This one I will stay at for all my other Banff trips or Banff Park Lodge next door (their sister property). 2 blocks away from downtown, right on the Bow River (canoe rentals and bike trail right across the street), serenely quiet, well maintained and very clean rooms (you will never get Vegas 5 star in Banff with marble washrooms probably due to park restrictions for rebuilding/etc), excellent staff, and all the amenities of the beautiful Banff Park Lodge next door for much less money than any of the hotels in town (we paid significantly less for the busiest week of the year). Banff Park Lodge is beautiful next door, but you get the same great management/upkeep at Bow View Lodge (we saved $30/night, but both hotels were well priced for this time of year). Oh, and free parking right in front!!! No twists and turns or undergrounds.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fair-sized with good views, no need to be picky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoanneH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

While this wasn't one of the nicest place in Banff which were charging $275 and up at the time, I think it is a good tourist grade hotel. We stayed 2 nights and found the hotel to be clean and staff very accommodating. We had a room with two queen beds for 4 people which was crampted with only a walkway at the end and between the beds but we made the best of it since we really only were in the room at bedtime. As someone else said, it was a good place to stay and spend our money on other things. Our room through trip advisor was $149. The location was just a block or two from the main streets of town. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DD4535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location, next to the Bow river, close to the supermarket, and main street shopping. Clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and help full. Stayed there for three nights and would recomend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 33 in Banff
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Property: Bow View Lodge
Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing