We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Energizing View------Doris M.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Energizing View------Doris M.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Bow View Lodge still has the best view of the Bow River and I feel great while staying there. The very clean, comfortable and quiet rooms made my stay very pleasant. My late husband and I had spent many anniversaries at B.V.L. and this year would have been our 61st. so I had VERY happy memories. Receptionists were very considerate , efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: third floor River view rooms are my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    248
    143
    33
    7
See reviews for
129
280
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Bow View Lodge for many years. We would not stay anywhere else. We find the staff very friendly, rooms clean and perfect for couples. Ask for a river view and you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Third floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We travel quite a bit and it's a breath of fresh air to find a great place with an awesome view and super nice and helpful staff. It's location is fantastic for a several reasons-The view, Walking trails next to the bow river just across the quiet street, a short walk to lots of shops: just to name a few. The room was very clean and this review would not have happened if there was even one thing not clean. We will be staying there again. I've uploaded a few pictures. Enjoy !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Bow View Lodge from August 12th thru August 14th, 2012. My wife and I were on a 53rd Anniversary celebration trip. We had stayed at the Lodge on our Honeymoon in August 1959. It was a memorable stay then. The Lodge had been remodeled in the ‘70s on the same site and bore no resemblance to the one in the ‘50s. BUT – it is still the only hotel on the Bow River in Banff and our river-view room on the 3rd floor was delightful. The balcony is open and you can see other guests – but they wave and say “Hello” as we watch the canoeists boating on the Bow River. The Lodge is only minutes away from all of the down-town activities. The very economical shuttle to various locations in Banff is two blocks away. Our room was spacious and met all of our needs. The desk personnel were very helpful and personable. The parking lot is small – it would have been nice to know at check-in that overflow could be accommodated at the Banff Park Lodge garage at no charge. There is no air-conditioning but the weather was good for us in mid-August. We’re sure that the Lodge will be remodeled in the near future to bring it up to the new tourist expectations. For us, it was a great revisit to this place on the Bow River! For newcomers, it’s a great value for Banff lodging on the Bow River.

Room Tip: A river-view room is the only way to go. Beautifully tranquil views of the river flowing by and peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent two nights here on our Rockies Cosmos tour. A one minute walk to the Bow River. Make sure you see the wonderful reflections in the river, first thing in the morning. Free internet available. Friendly counter staff. Reasonable size rooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I came to Banff to relax and get away from home. The hotel was basic but it did what I needed it to do. The room was small but perfect for me. I think for 4 people it would be a little crowded but for 2 people it would be perfect. The bathroom was small but I always had hot water. There is a fridge in the room. The room is older but clean. No complaints there. You pay for wireless but it is very reasonable. $10 for 72 hours. Much cheaper than in other hotels. Location is perfect. You can walk right to the main strip within minutes. The Bow River is behind the hotel. Perfect view of the river. There are trails right there that you can walk or run down. I have found the service to be very good. Everyone has been friendly and more than accommodating. A bonus is that parking is free too. If you want a pool or hot tub you can go across the parking lot to the Banff Park Lodge which is the sister hotel. I did not take advantage of this but noticed others did. Good value for the price I paid in Banff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a real little gem - yes it was a little tired looking, and shabby in places, but it was scrupulously clean and had everything we wanted for our short stay. (2 nights). We had a room overlooking the river, with a balcony,so we got up early and see the sunrising over the beautiful river, went for an early morningwalk along the river and got refreshed. Hotel next door also has a coinlaundry but sadly too many people using the one machine -but we found a friendly little coin-op on Wolf street so we were able to get all cleaned up before starting the next leg of our trek across Canada. One thing I should mention, if you stay here - get ear plugs!! The trains hoot all night long, haha, and will definitely wake you. very loud! Banff is very easily accessible from this hotel,within walking distance, and has a plethora of shops and cafes and restaurants, we were really very spoilt for choice. Go for a drive round the golf course - we didn't see any wild bears in the mountains, but we saw one on the golf course!! awesome.
And of course, everywhere is surrounded by the Rockie Mountains. Stunning. Do yourself a favour, if you want to stay in Banff stay in this quaint little hotel, Staff were great, cleaning was great, it had good strength wifi. we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, it's worth that little bit extra, for stunning views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanieH2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.7 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Property: Bow View Lodge
Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing