We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with great location”
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We came to this hotel as it offered a good deal in the internet. However when we asked to stay a third night they asked us to pay 50% more - not what I would have expected.
Location is great, two blocks from downtown. Rooms are ok, though you can hear your neighbors. You can use the indoor pool in the Banff Park Lodge which is sort of nice.
Paying for Wifi is from yesterday - today I expect it to be a complimentary service (and it is nearly everywhere).

Room Tip: Look for a special deal, and for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Bow View Lodge and for taking the time to post an honest review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay but were sorry to hear that the third nights charge may have been out of your budget. We do change our rates on a daily basis to reflect how busy the town and other hotels are but I agree that 50% more may have been a little excessive. I will use this example as a training opportunity for our front desk staff and remind them that they can maybe be a little more flexible when someone is enjoying our property and wishes to stay a little longer.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 826 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

169 bucks a night for this demoliation delight - we feel like we were ripped off. Second trip to Banff we decided to give this place try due to the good reviews, I think the majority of reviewers are bending the truth - check their previous review history to make sure they are legit.

Okay, let's start with the positives, errrr yeah location is good for downtown and errrr that's
about it, oh yeah the beds are compfy (if you like 'em kinda hard). Negatives a-go-go at this dump - pokey hot rooms, scalding hot or freezing shower water on a 30 second cycle, poor security on doors to communal balconies, a distinct lack of parking (58 rooms, but not nowhere never 58 car spots). It would be a good deal for less then 80 bucks - but 100 plus you have got to be kidding me for this hotel that provides one glass per hotel room. This place needs a serious makeover for the prices they charge ....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DoctorRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Bow View Lodge.

I was very sorry to read that you were not pleased with our property and felt that it was not good value.

Our rates do fluctuate on a daily basis and are tied directly to how busy the town is as well as other hotels and I am confident in saying, as others have, that you will be hard pressed to find a property in Banff that offers what we do for the prices we charge.

Between the parking at the Bow View Lodge and the parking at the Banff Park Lodge, our sister property, there will always be a spot to park that is close to our front doors. At any given time, a number of our rooms can be occupied by groups travelling by bus and because of this it is not necessary for us to have 58 parking stalls. If you did have trouble finding a parking spot then I am truly sorry.

We will have our housekeeper’s check the showers for the issue you mentioned with the temperature and if we can find the issue have our maintenance team take care of it right away. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

If you would like to discuss your issues in further detail, I am always willing to listen so please feel free to contact me at the Banff Park Lodge any time.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great location and helpful staff. We stayed two nights in a riverview room with a king bed. We enjoyed having a small fridge and small charge for wifi. Pretty comfortable room overall and the location was very convenient to Banff Avenue and the walking path along the river. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room as most of the others will be over the parking lot, it is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Bow View Lodge and for posting a nice review on Tripadvisor.

Your review title hits the nail right on the head and the words that follow are all very true.

We are very happy that you would stay with us again and indeed we hope that you do.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rooms are very small, not a place to hang out...but right close to everything in Banff town, steps to the Bow River walkway. Clean rooms, friendly staff, free parking, pool is shared with Banff Park Lodge (which owns Bow View Lodge) so you have to go across through underground parkade and up to pool. Balconies on each room provide you with great mountain views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bow river or else you face the parking lot (still has great mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dm_wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Bow View Lodge and for taking the time to post an honest review on Tripadvisor.

Some of our rooms are more compact then others but we do have some larger rooms available as well.

Please visit our website for more information on different room types if you require a larger unit.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night and we were not disappointed. Good value for the money. The room was a bit small for three people, but it was clean. Beds were comfortable. A bit leery of having the duvet on the bed instead of blankets. Wondered how often the duvets actually get washed as they serve as bedspreads as well. Having a balcony was a nice perk as it was quite warm when we were in Banff. It would have been nice to have AC - instead had a portable fan going all night. Staff was friendly and helpful. Very quick check-out. Would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Bow View Lodge and for taking the time to post an honest review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you are likely to stay again.

There are definitely a few odd nights during the summer in Banff that AC would be a plus but they are few and far between which is why the majority of hotels do not offer this luxury that many people outside of Banff have become accustomed to. Many nights during the summer months it will dip below 10 degrees Celsius which makes a room with an open window quite pleasant for most.

We look forward to being your hosts again in the future.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have stayed in the same room with a king bed and view of the river for three years in a row. We have never been disappointed, and find that it is good value for your dollar. I think the ideal location of both being seconds away from the path on the river as well as backing onto the shopping and restaurant district is the one of the best parts of this lodge. They are always pleasant at the front desk and helpful. We will book again anytime we want a getaway to the mountains to go hiking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5gophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for always choosing to stay at the Bow View Lodge and for taking the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

One of the biggest compliments we can ever receive is a repeat booking and we are happy to say that you are not the only one as made evident by past reviews.

Our location, our staff and our value are definitely our greatest assets and we are glad that you have noticed these things.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel many times over the last ten or so years and we were never disappointed. It has a very good location only meters from the main street, staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms are fairly comfortable. For the money one will not find a better hotel in Banff.

Room Tip: Book during early weekdays or else you may be out of luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farskeho341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Bow View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Bow View Lodge as your home away from home when staying in Banff and for taking the time to post such a nice review on Tripadvisor.

I think most would agree with you that the Bow View Lodge is one of the best values in town, especially since our guests have easy access to the health club facilities at the 4 star Banff Park Lodge right next door combined with the things you have already mentioned.

We look forward to your return.

Kindest Regards,

Jim Milley
Operation Manager, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 34 in Banff
1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 34 in Banff
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $56 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing