We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“older, but very clean”
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We booked here based on TA reviews, and it was exactly like we expected it to be. BVL is an old building, but it is well maintained and very clean.

We were upgraded to a suite, which had 3 beds in 2 rooms. The bed in the main room was very comfortable, but the 2 beds in the back bedroom were hard as a rock. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave & coffeemaker, which made it easy to make our own breakfast, since there is none provided here.

There is no air conditioning, but we had a balcony and patio door, which locked in several open positions, so we always felt safe, even when the door was open a bit.

The hotel was very quiet, and no smoking is allowed in the building, but we did have to close the patio door at one point as a neighbour was smoking on the balcony beside us.

There is no pool in the building, but guests have use of the pool next door. The pool area is top notch; beautiful, clean and well maintained. There is a change room area with free lockers (you put in your own combination to lock/unlock) and towels are provided. There is a eucalyptus sauna there as well.

We originally booked for one night, and decided to stay for two. We had no problem doing so, but our only annoyance came when we had to pay...the girl at the desk didn't bother telling us that the price for the second night would be significantly higher than the first until we booked it. We would have paid the higher price to stay anyways, but it left a poor impression that she wasn't completely honest with us up front.

Other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1ove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 827 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Quiet, friendly and helpful staff, reasonable prices, comfortable room with great river view, easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants.

This hotel was a great place to finish a week in the area. Amenities include TV, coffee maker, fridge, hair dryer. Its partnership with neighboring Banff Park Lodge adds swimming pool, jacuzzi, laundry facility and restaurant to the list.

The only major downside of this establishment is proximity to the train tracks. Several trains, horns blaring, pass by within a city block at night.

And one request: provide hot water for tea-making separate from the coffee maker.

Overall, this is a good choice for lodging in the Banff area.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Booked this online in the UK for myself and my 13yr old son. Arriving a day early the Lodge Manager allweed us an extra night at this Hotel and even gave us a cheaper rate than we booked online. A small hotel but the staff are wonderful. Nothing was ever too much trouble. I had a GPS which I'd hired at Calgary Airport and on the second day it asked me for a PIN number which couldn't be found anywhere. I mentioned this to a young girl on duty at the desk, then went out for the day. When I arrived back she had taken it upon herself to call the Rental Company at Calgary Airport and managed to get the PIN number for me. Just wonderful!!! The rooms are small but we'd book a Lake View room and the views of the Bow Valley River and mountains were breathtaking. Would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flowerdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed one night and asked for a room with a view of the river, which we were able to enjoy from our deck. The rooms while older are very clean, and the beds comfortable, the front desk staff very helpful. The lodge is located very close to downtown, across the road from canoe rentals and riverside walking paths. We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank realtortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel staff very friendly. Blue canoe rental nearby. River proximity asset for peaceful stay. Hotel very clean; free access to wi-fi. Situated away from hustle and bustle of main street crowds and shops but close enough to go there if desired. Only drawback would be could hear the train passing by (whistle) during the night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuvdaRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here several times over the years. Nothing special but very conveniently located in town by the river, and inexpensive for Banff. Rooms a little small but quite OK - and you can use all the facilities in the much more expensive hotel next door.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We visited this hotel on a roundtrip through the Rockies in May 2011. Compared to other hotels in Banff, and especially comparing prices, this one wasn't too bad. The room was small but ok, we could use the nice pool and steam room in the next door hotel. The bathroom was a bit strange (bath and toilet seperate, but washing table in bedroom) and very old. The beds were quite good, but the air conditioning made noise (although we put it out, but it was connected to the hotel system). Overall, the room was clean, with old furniture (which doesn't bother us too much...). We had a balcony with river view, which was really nice. In the evenings, we saw the wildlife parade outside our room! The location is close, but not too close to the center. All in all, not too bad, but not too good either.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tineadam1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 34 in Banff
1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 34 in Banff
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $59 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing