We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Got what I paid for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Voyager Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Got what I paid for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I purchased a Groupon ticket for this hotel, as an inexpensive way to have a mountain getaway during high season in Banff. I didn't have huge expectations, and I figured it was only for one night so how bad could it be? Similar to a previous review, we also probably had less than 6 hours of sleep. The beds were really uncomfortable, and the room was very warm without the ability to change the thermostat. That meant we had to open the patio door, but then it was quite noisy. The room itself was what I was expecting - it's an older property so the décor was dated and tired, but clean nonetheless. Same with the bathroom, and the shower worked well with decent water pressure. The breakfast in the morning was the usual continental fare, with an additional charge for the hot portion, but having to pay an extra $7 each for eggs and bacon seemed a little high.

I'll be more careful next time when purchasing discount hotel deals....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgiannelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for your review, observations and comments the Hotel always welcomes & encourages constructive feed back as it is very helpful in the ongoing quest to improve our Guests experience.

You are absolutely correct when saying the Hotel is an older property (built back in the 1960's) and as such it does not have some of the amenities that newer properties do have - such as A/Cs (there are a few older properties in Banff that are similar i.e. no A/Cs), but every room does have a small balcony and therefore a full balcony door (with screen door) to help air flow but on the down side it does mean one hears more of the passing noise unfortunately.
Being an older property means that in some areas it can show its age somewhat - i.e. less modern decor etc. - but the Housekeeping team work to ensure it is clean & tidy; as far as beds are concerned it is difficult to ensure that all beds meet the many various preferences. The Hotel does continue to have an ongoing up grading & renewal process that does includes the beds.

The breakfast is a buffet that means all Guests can eat as much as they want (with numerous visits to the buffet) and correctly the Continental (cold section) is Complimentary but we do charge for the Hot part of the Buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns) but one still gets all of the Continental as well.

As we are an older property as well as being some 15 mins walk from downtown the room price reflect this hence the lower rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    94
    43
    60
See reviews for
68
85
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
221 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After reading the reviews I was nearly put off going here but I also like to see for my own eyes. This hotel is a short 15 minute walk from the centre of town and buses regularly depart from a minute's walk outside the hotel. Banff is expensive as a destination in summer and so this hotel was very reasonable in price considering this fact. The staff were courteous and helpful the food was okay, with no frills but of a fair standard. The breakfast was a buffet which was about $7 for the hot mealoption. The hotel was generally quiet and we had fans in the room as there was no aircon. The room was fine as we only needed the basics. If you are a very light sleeper and are woken at the sound of a bird tweeting then don't get a room right near the road as there is a slight hum from traffic. We did not find this an issue. We were pleased with the service and wifi worked fine . Definitely a good option if you don't want to pay through the nose for expensive accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnaynsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
A very good day to you,

Very many thanks for your comments, observations and review as such constructive "feed back" is always very helpful for the Hotel and its staff.

I am very glad to hear that the staff were polite, helpful and courteous, as the Guest Service area is were a lot of effort is focused to try and ensure a good experience for our Guests.
The Hotel restaurant aims to provide good and basic fair, as there are no shortage of high end restaurants in downtown Banff so we aim for good home cooking.

The Voyager Inn is an older property hence it does not have A/C but all the rooms do have balcony doors (with screens) that can be opened and as you mentioned we can provide fans of the few really hot days/nights: this is an area (A/Cs) that is being looked into for possible future renovations.

As an older property the Hotel aims to provide a more reasonable price geared towards the budget traveller.
The noise hum as you mentioned does come from the busy traffic on the main avenue plus the trains and the birds; I guess all of these add to the Mountain experience? but not always kind to the "light sleeper" as you so correctly said.

I am very glad that the Hotel and the staff were able to make your stay & experience enjoyable and we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful mountains in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we probably sleep for less than 6 hours. Our room is next to the parking lot where all the tour buses or trucks parked. They start the engines around 4am in the morning. The trains pass all night long. I don't think there is air condition in the room and it was very hot during the time we stayed here. The room is outdated and the bathroom door can not close. the parking lot is run down and It looks kind of scary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank may1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your observations & comments; it is always helpful to receive such.
Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done with regard to the trains as they pass through town (& can be heard from every hotel in town) during the night.
With regard to the buses & trucks most of the ones that start up that early in the morning are in fact parked out on the road as it is very rare for any that stay in the hotel to be leaving much before 7am.
The parkades (1 on either side of the hotel) are infact semi covered - as they are below the first floor rooms but are open on 3 sides - tend by nature to be somewhat dark or dull even with lights but they are safe, monitored by cameras and patrolled at night by a security company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I booked this room on Priceline without knowing what hotel I would be getting. I was scared when I looked it up on Trip Advisor afterwards but Luckily my experience wasn't like some of the other reviewers. Although my carpet wasn't vacuumed very well, everything else was ok. It doesn't have any curb appeal whatsoever, but it was a good enough place to sleep for what I paid. There is a restaurant on site and a bar as well as a liquor store. There is also a pool which I didn't use so cannot comment on. It is located about 1Km from downtown right on Banff Ave but there is a bus stop right outside if you don't want to walk it. There is also a couple of restaurants and a gas station in the close vicinity. I hope an exterior renovation will be taking place soon as it is one of the most run down looking places I saw in all of Banff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan668907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Good day,

It is always heplfull to hotel operations to receive Guest "feed back"; it is used in the on-going efforts to improve Guest Experience.
Absolutely the Hotel is one of the furthest properties from the downtown area but as you mentioned the good local bus service stops just by the hotel and it runs on a regular basis: the property is only a 15 minute (level) walk from the downtown area.
The Voyager Inn is one of the older hotels in town (built back in the 1960's) and as such does not have the same curb appeal as the newer properties - which include the Spruce Grove Inn (sister property to the Voyager Inn) which is next door (built in early 2000's) - slowly the Voyager Inn is getting continual upgrades and eventually these will include the exterior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

As pleasant as the staff were the building, rooms, amenities were outdated and run down.
The walls are very thin and noise from other rooms was easily heard.
The outdoor pool was enjoyable but the pool washrooms were not clean.
I bought our stay on a Groupon deal and I got what I paid for.
I did not see any bugs at all, thankfully.
I was a bit surprised that the hotel required a refundable $100 damage deposit given the age and furnishings of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello to you,

Thank you for your review & comments, the Hotel always welcomes constructive feed back.
It is good to hear that the staff performance was welcoming & friendly, this is an area of operation that the Hotel is continually working on & takes pride in being of good service to our Guests.
The property is one of the much older accommodations in Banff and as such it needs renewal & renovations, these do take place as an on-going process during the winter months but it is a process that will be taking place over a long period of time with certain jobs being done each year.
The deposit that was taken was obviously not explained correctly - the process will be re-trained with Guest Service Staff - it is not a damage deposit in fact it is just a "Pre Authorisation" placed on a Credit Card and is for any incidental charges that might occur such as phone calls , restaurant room charges etc. If nothing is charged to the room nothing gets charged to the "Pre Authorisation"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am now not quite sure where we stayed--it was one or the other. As they are side by side and under the same ownership and share the same breakfast facility I am not sure it matters over much .Apparently one has better rooms than the other and the one we stayed in had the underground carpark. It was all OK but not particularily special ,not perhaps quite up to the 119cad per night cost but Banff is not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidpeters158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and feed back. The Hotels welcome constructive observations as they help towards the continual on-going process of trying to improve our Guests Stays & Experiences.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

For a resort community, you'd think even the most basic of hotel accommodations would provide better rooms and service for the price they ask for. I've stayed at places even cheaper than here, both within Banff and Jasper, and they've had superior everything. Apparently they're upgrading, but until they do something about the service quality of their staff (they were slow and confused) it won't really make any difference.

Room Tip: That's easy. Don't stay at this hotel. Guaranteed you will find something better and most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryshtyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and the Hotels will certainly take your comments and use them towards improving all areas of the operations.
It is unfortunate that you did receive the best service from the staff on duty because this (Guest Services) is an area that we continually work on and is an area that the staff receive a lot of thanks & positive feed back.
Again many thanks for your comments and feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#32 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Property: Banff Voyager Inn
Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing