We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel.”
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Voyager Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We bid on a room on priceline (without knowing which hotel) and we were concerned when we read the reviews of this hotel. HOWEVER, we were pleasantly surprised.
GOOD: clean room, spotless housekeeping, average beds, best price in town, free parking, walking distance to food, flat screen TV, soft towels, tiny balcony, our check-in was friendly (tho we saw another exchange that was not). We had a quiet room at the end of the seond floor, east wing.
BAD: no elevator, wifi was not accessible, worn and chipped walls, $100 damage deposit (refundable), some road noise, and trains roll through town blowing their whistles. Ask for a room away from the liquor store.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTOTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
A very good day to you,

Many thanks for your very constructive review - your observations are very helpful with regard to staff training and property up grading.
We are very glad to hear that you found the hotel & your stay to be enjoyable and that the staff were welcoming and friendly plus your room was very clean & tidy (your observations have been passed onto both the Guest Service & Housekeeping Departments).
It is unfortunate about the Wi-Fi access it is proving to be a serious problem and issue for the Hotel and as such we are working with the Service Supplier to instigate a major upgrade & improvement in service.
The hotel being a much older property unfortunately does not have elevators for its 2 floors and it would probably not be possible to install them. As far as the CP Rail trains there is nothing that any properties in town can do about them as they run though the night & blow their whistles to scare animals off the tracks, the joys of living in the Park!

Again many thanks and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    110
    47
    65
See reviews for
81
93
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just came back from anovernight stay. NO air conditioning m and it was 30 degrees C outside. The Internet does NOT work. They would say..lots of people are on right now or it must be down. No time even an apology. A guy who lives. Across the alley bragged about how he comes to the pool everyday...he just goes right in. No security or door locks to access pools. Pretty evident. Not sure if I would stay here again. Ice machines did not work. The breakfast is a joke. Long walk to downtown. So there. Make it up to me

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank burnyourmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Welcome,

Thank you for your review some of your observations were interesting and valuable to the Hotel and its operations.

It is very true that the hotel does not have air conditioning due to it being a much older property and the fact that air conditioning might be needed in Banff for about 3 weeks in a year, the sister property next door ( a new property) was built with air conditioning.
The free Wi-Fi has been an issue this year what with the location and the greatly increasing demand it has been crashing with over use, as a result the Hotel is working with the service supplier to instigate major upgrades & improvements.
The ice machines in the Hotel like all equipment might stop working but when this occurs the service company is immediately called, but on no occassion this year have all 3 machines been down at the same time.
The Hotel Complimentary Buffet Breakfast (i.e. all one can eat as often as one wants) gets many positive reviews due to the choices available - various juices, tea, coffee, various cereals, toast, fresh fruit salad, fresh grapefruit, yogurt, various muffins, various pastries etc.
Not understanding the comments about the security locks on the pool doors; they are locked every night at 10pm and not unlocked until 10am (in fact we have had some guests asking why the pool is not open earlier & later - it is not for exactly the stated security reasons) - I would suggest that the comments made by another person are not worth taking notice off as his claims are not correct.
Unfortunately we can do nothing about the hotel's location in relation to downtown but there is a very good local bus service that stops right beside the hotel.

Sincere regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here and it was fine. Nothing fancy. Staff are nice, room is clean but as I've said nothing fancy. If you just need a place to sleep, I wouldn't mind coming back here. Around 10-15 minute walk downtown. I stayed for a night with my friend and didnt have any problem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello,

I am very glad to hear that you stay was pleasant and worked well for you.
The staff always like to go out of their way to help and look after the Hotels Guests with friendly & welcoming service.
Your comments in regard to the room cleanliness have been passed on the the Housekeeping Department as it is always important to let staff know when they are doing a good job & not just tell them about poor comments.

Again many thanks and we certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I decided to stay at the Banff Voy Inn because i was on a small budget. In all honesty I would've rathered stayed in a garbage dump rather than stay at the Voy. This terrible expierience happened as soon as i walked through the doors. I checked in at the hotel and the front desk was awfully rude with me. She ignored me and kept rolling her eyes at me as though i was a burden to her. I got checked into the hotel and as soon as I walked in I wanted to turn around and leave. There was blood all over the walls and it smelt like moth balls. I then went to the front desk to complain about it and the front desk said they would talk to the housekeepers in the morning and there was nothing done. I didnt even get a discount on the room nor didn't I even get my room cleaned the next day.

I recommend travellers to stay somewhere else rather then The Voyager. Stay in a dump, it's much better

Room Tip: just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your review,

The matters you relate to have been passed to the Department Heads to be investigated: they will also involve their staff in additional training should the investigations show there is a need to do so.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

decided to pick this hotel a few days beforwe the easter long weekend to avoid to masses of people and the increased rates, so the price was okay (i think it was like 115 per night or something). first arived and got some parking, it was a small sheltered lot which was fine because it wasnt busy . checked in and was give the comp breakfast coupons without the $7 upgrade and the wifi tickets, the guy did not bother to let us know what floor, or area in the builing we were located nor where the elevators were.....if there were any. brought all the luggage up to our room only to find that the houskeeping did not do a very good job. first thing we noticed was on the desk there was left over pot buds.. and it wasnt like u could really miss it if you were cleaning the room. i swept it onto the floor dispite some temptations, and my bf called down to let them know. they were quick to get a man to come up and vacume out floor but that was all they did for us. made me wonder what else had been "cleaned". the room still smelt like pot but we just desided to open the balcony door. the rest of the night went fine although we had to call down for a few things, we also asked if they had a mini fridge but were informed it would cost 30$ a day ( OMGGG) the front desk guy was a very kind man, he let us use the microwave in the staff room since they had none available. the morning we went to breakfast was very dissapointing, there were a few items we were aloude to have and they did not look very apitizing, and if you wanted and hot food you had to pay an extra 7$, sdo much for a "complementary" breakfast. we were leaving on the saturday and the night before i asked for a late check out and the front desk agent said it was perfectly fine.....here comes the most pathetic part !...the morning we were leaving , so saturday , we did not need service so we put up the DND sign. from what i understand this means you dont disturb the room . well a lady knocked on the door and i said nservice please, she then said its check out so i opened the door, she said we needed to check out, i explained that i called last night to get a late check out and they said i was aloud and she would not do anything to compromise she only said you cant have a late check out i have new customers coming be out by 1130 no later and she left. i was kind of shocked that she didnt seem to care to much about the situation. when we went down to check out i informed one of the front desk ladys how our stay when, she apologiezed prefusely and asked me to describe the lady that kicked us out of our room, she then told me that that was the OWNER OF THE HOTEL! I guess we now know how important the guest is to the owner of this hotel (on a scale from 1-10 probably in the negitives) the front desk agent also looked at our reservation and saw that we were in fact checking out at 1 not 11 and she apologized again, she even sugested that i write a review when i got the chance!
this is a bad quality hotel that needs a new cleaning system and owner!!!
avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: "internet did not work" "owner doesnt care about guests at all" "poor ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tjayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in April 2013 and had a very pleasant stay. Though the hotel is old (perhaps the oldest in Banff) and dated, the premises is very clean and comfortable. We had a very pleasant stay and would certainly stay here again, though only if the price was low enough (we paid $70 per night... wouldn't pay much more than $75 per night, or I would feel like we got ripped off). The hotel is right on Banff Avenue just as you enter town, and it is a bit of a walk into the heart of the town, but still walkable. I would recommend this hotel to budget conscious travellers, though I know better deals can be found in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review and comments; it is very helpful to hear what & how Guests feel about their stays and the Hotel - constructive comments (both good & bad) always help in the continual striving to improve.
I am very glad to hear that your stay - at the winter/low season rate (this type of rate will most likely always be the case in low season; except for "Long Weekends") - was comfortable and met your needs.
You are correct the Voyager is one of the oldest hotels in town & it is located at the begining of Banff Avenue as one enters town, therefore the walk downtown is about 10 to 15 mins but it is flat and providing the weather is kind it is a pleasant walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here March 29-30, 2013. First off they over charged us by about two nights extra.. not a big deal because it was sorted out eventually. Then we discovered that the wifi wasn't working.. which I understand it was a long weekend but when I called, all I was offered was "keep trying". What made it worse was there was about 7 fuzzy channels on the tv. When we got down to breakfast, the "free continental" breakfast had fruit and a few muffins and we would have been charged extra for the hot table food. Also, when we were checking out and voiced our complaints, the front desk really had nothing to say except "sorry, there's nothing we can do". Not impressed with anything about this hotel. Also, there was no parking because you would have had to have dragged your luggage through a lake in the middle of the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#32 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumpers Inn
Bumpers Inn
#29 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Property: Banff Voyager Inn
Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing