We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bit pricey for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Voyager Inn
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bit pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked online and discovered upon arrival that they did not have a room. However, the sales manager personally stepped in and upgraded us to a lovely room in the sister inn, Spruce Grove Inn which is next doors.
The advantage was that we had undercover parking. The negative was that our specific room did not have any wireless. Somehow the hotspot did not reach our area and I had to sit in the lobby to try and complete important correspondence.
The real negative was the strange behavior of the senior front desk manager who literally rolled her eyes and pulled faces at me when I informed her that our room did not have wireless and that the guest service directory states that we had to get patch cords to plug into our computers. She then proceeded to point out that I was incompetent and hence this was not her problem. I noticed her bully some other staff earlier on, so I assume this is her style. The other challenge was that they were understaffed, so the reception staff simply do not answer the phone. I literally had to walk to the one building to speak to the front desk.
The positive is that I did not have to deal with her at checkout and instead had a wonderful, warm experience from the Spruce Grove front desk this morning which redeemed the Inn.
Overall the two inns are easy distance from downtown. It was full of ski and snowboarding enthusiasts which always creates a fun and relaxing vibe.
Our room 404 overlooked the mountain which is a lovely way to wake up. Good size bathroom and lots of luggage space.

Room Tip: Avoid room 404 and two others at the back of the hotel as they do not have any wireless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomad1966A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your observations and comments, it is always helpful to the Hotels to receive constructive "feed back" as it assists in the on-going goals of improving.
I do know that December 1st did catch the Hotel off guard somewhat as it turned out to be a very busy day (a one off) in the middle of a normally very quiet time of the year - i.e. begining of November until the Christmas Holidays is normally the slowest time of the year - hence the shortage of available staff.
Because of the day being a very busy one I am very glad to hear that the Guest Service staff were on the ball and upgraded you from the Voyager Inn to the sister Spruce Grove Inn next door. The Spruce Grove is a much newer property with larger rooms etc but it is only rooms and Guests have to use all the facilities - lounge, pool, hot tub, restaurant, liquor store - at the Voyager, fortunately (especially during winter months) there is a connecting underground corridor.
Also the free wireless internet is available in all areas of both Hotels but as you pointed out sometimes (it can be dependant on the wireless supplier service) the signal can very weak in certain areas: thank you for the observations re connection cords which should be at the Front Desk but obviously were not.
Your observations with regard to Guest Service staff are very helpful and will certainly be used in the continuous departmental training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    94
    43
    60
See reviews for
67
85
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in early winter season. The rooms are very average, small and with little storage space for ski gear (also, skis and boards are not even allowed in the hotel which I found very strange and annoying. If you do not have a car to store them in, they have to sit outside all night). There is a sauna and heated pool as well as a bar, restaurant and liquor store which was very convenient. It is a bit of a trek into the main part of Banff, 15 minute walk maybe but there are buses and taxis if necessary . Service was great and the staff seem to be knowledgeable about the local scene.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paolo692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good day to you and very many thanks for your informative "feed back" review.
It is always very helpful to the Hotel(s) to receive good constructive comments & observations (both good ones as well as not so good ones) as they help the properties move forward and develop especially in the areas of Customer Service and Guest Experiences.
The Banff Voyager Inn is certainly an older (1960/70s) property and as such the rooms tend to be smaller that is the trend with modern/recent built properties - i.e. the sister Hotel right next door to the Voyager Inn; the Spruce Grove Inn (in fact the two hotels are linked by an underground passage) built in early 2000's and as such has larger rooms etc.
The facilities for both properties (Voyager & Spruce Grove) such as Lounge, Restaurant, Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Liquor Store are all located on-site at the Voyager Inn: which is helpful for Guests as it is a good 10 to 15 minute walk to Downtown.

You are absolutely correct when you mention that Skis, Snowboards etc are not allowed in Hotel Rooms - this is the case with most all Hotels in the area - this is purely due to the damage that can be done to Rooms when the equipment is stored in the Rooms: as I mentioned this is the policy for most all accommodations in the area.
At the Voyager Inn the hotel provides Ski/Snow Board Storage Racks - with chains & locks - directly outside the front doors of the property (in full view of the Hotel Front Desk): the Spruce Grove has Ski Lockers (again with locks available) in it underground parkade.

It is good to hear that the Staff were both friendly and helpful as the Customer Service and Guest Experiences qualities from the Staff is always the ongoing goal of the two very "family" style properties.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotels should you be returning to Banff and if during the Ski season please enquire to rooms at the Spruce Grove as they may suit your needs better (larger size rooms; as well as underground secure ski lockers).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm not quite sure why this lovely hotel is getting horrible ratings. Well, let me just say that this hotel was perfect!! I felt, comfy, cozy, safe, and at home here!!! The staff was AMAZING!!!!! The location and scenery cannot be beat!! I hope to come back here, next time I'm in the area! This hotel gets a solid five stars!! 

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good day to you,

Thank you very much for your "Review" - all constructive such "Reviews/Observations & Comments" both good & bad truly help the Hotel & its Team in their continuing efforts to provide for Positive Guest Service & Experience.

It is was pleasing to read that your stay was both very enjoyable & well met expectations: we are a small, older "Family" Hotel that strives to cater to Families and Budget minded Guests; we do not pretend to be a 4 or 5 Star Hotel which we are definitely not.
We always strive to provide good, friendly and welcoming service for Guests; it is lovely to hear that you were treated in such a way.

Banff is a very special & beautiful place and the Hotel is positioned to take advantage of some of those lovely sights.
I am so pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay and we would be very happy to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the wonderful mountains & beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Late season still few rooms left at last minute, then Voyager took us in for one night, apparently closing off many rooms next day. Anyway, a confusing place, apparently built in stages, clumsy to manoever hallways if hauling luggage carts. NO CENTRAL HEAT turned on although previous night was 35F! So they sent up a space heater. We snuggled, survived. Room antiquated. Ice about a half-block of hall-ways away. Staff nice.

Room Tip: Try for "near elevators" as long corridors lead off in unclear directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartman551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for your review comments & observations all Guest "Feed Back" is very helpful.
Yes as you say the High Season is coming to an end as Fall sets in with cooler nights for sure (fortunately so far this year the Fall days have been beautiful & the nights not as cold as usual).
Your observations with regard to the age and lay out of the Voyager Inn are interesting as the property is one of the older Hotels in town (built back in the 1960's) but was built as one & on a simple - Lobby & Amenities in the middle & then 2 wings (with 2 floors in each) off this central area (one to the right & one to the left). You mentioned that a Guest should try to get "near to an elevator) but there are no elevators in the Voyager Inn - the sister property next door the Spruce Grove Inn does have 2 elevators!
The Spruce Grove Inn is a very much newer property (built in 2003 & 2006), it is a "Rooms Only" property (Guest use the facilities at the Voyager Inn) and its Ice Machines are on the second & third floors & close to one of the elevators.
But with regard to the Central Heating - the Voyager Inn as it is an older property has a central system for the whole hotel which was turned up mid month: whilst the Spruce Grove Inn has individual HVACs in each room so the Heat & Cool can be controlled by the Guest.
It is very pleasing to hear that you were treated well by nice & welcoming staff; hopefully you got to enjoy the beauties of both the mountains & Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

PNW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Banff Voyagar Inn is located on Banff ave but is at the extreme corner of the street. You would not be able to walk to the center of the town. I had to stay here one night and I knew going in to keep expectations low. The hotel room key itself is testament to how old the hotel is. It is like a computer punch card from the 80s.
The folks at the check-in counter were efficient and helpful. The breakfast was quite decent. There are much better properties in Banff. You should stay here if you have to not because you want to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for your observations and comments it is always beneficial to receive constructive guest feed back.
Absolutely correct the Banff Voyager Inn along with 2 other properties are at the very begining of town on Banff Avenue (there is also one other Resort that is closer to the Highway) and it is about a 15 minute leisurely flat walk to downtown - pleasant in the lovely summer months less so in the cold winter!!
The Hotel is one of the older Hotels in town and is very much geared towards budget/family guests; the amenties do include (amoungst others) a restaurant and we are glad to hear that it provided well for you; the restaurant is currently under going some development to increase it's service times as well as new 'themed" menus etc.

Once again many thanks for your comments as they will be helpful in our ongoing efforts to improve Guest Service & Experience at this Budget/Family property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Other reviews mention poor custom service, I disagree, Spoke to at least four different staff while staying there overnight and found them very courteous and helpful. They went out of their way to help me print some important information and I was very happy with them and the room which was clean and comfortable. The only negitive was the poor wi fi that kept dropping out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisbaneDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Good day,

On behalf of the Hotel and all of the Staff I thank you very much for your positive "feed back" - all constructive "feed back" both positive & negative is very helpful to the hotel in the on-going quest to improve Guest Enjoyment, Experience and Satisfaction.
We very much accept that it is an always continuous process and sometimes we (the staff) do not perform to the best but it is truly encouraging that the on-going efforts are producing ever improving Guest Service!
Often the physical product & the age of the property can not produce the best results but then it is always up to the "employees" to go the extra mile to provide quality "care, service and experience" - it is always nice to hear that we have done just that, thank you.

I have to agree that sometimes the "wifi" can be pretty slow & not always available; these problems tend to occur either due to the hotel server not performing or when the property is busy and lots of Guests are online - it is definitely an area that needs to be looked into.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to beautiful Banff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We knew there was no A/C in the room but the outside temperature was 90+ degrees and they had no oscillating fans so our sleep was restless. After 2 nights, we were happy to move on. The front desk reception woman was brusque, short and in hospitable. The staff needs a review on manners and must understand travelers are important if they want to keep their job and wages; and the hotel definately needs refurbishing and some modern conveniences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments & observations; these sort of constructive comments are very helpful towards the Hotel's on-going goals of improvement.
The Air Conditioning situation is & has been a concern at the Voyager Inn but the property is like a number of similar Hotels in Banff that do not have AC mostly due to the fact that at the most it might be required for 3 weeks in the year. But it is definitely a case that there needs to be fans available for those really hot days - definitely something that will be looked into being provided.
With regard to your observations re the Front Desk staff this will certainly be investigated & if some refresher training is needed that will be done; it is surprising in that during the summer it has been the quality Customer Service given by the Front Desk Staff that has helped Guests over some of the "aged issues" at the Hotel (up grades are an on going but slow process) and as such the Guest Service has garned good praise, obviously on this occassion it was not the case and as such I thank you for your observations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#32 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Property: Banff Voyager Inn
Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing