We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”
Review of Banff Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Voyager Inn
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm not quite sure why this lovely hotel is getting horrible ratings. Well, let me just say that this hotel was perfect!! I felt, comfy, cozy, safe, and at home here!!! The staff was AMAZING!!!!! The location and scenery cannot be beat!! I hope to come back here, next time I'm in the area! This hotel gets a solid five stars!! 

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Good day to you,

Thank you very much for your "Review" - all constructive such "Reviews/Observations & Comments" both good & bad truly help the Hotel & its Team in their continuing efforts to provide for Positive Guest Service & Experience.

It is was pleasing to read that your stay was both very enjoyable & well met expectations: we are a small, older "Family" Hotel that strives to cater to Families and Budget minded Guests; we do not pretend to be a 4 or 5 Star Hotel which we are definitely not.
We always strive to provide good, friendly and welcoming service for Guests; it is lovely to hear that you were treated in such a way.

Banff is a very special & beautiful place and the Hotel is positioned to take advantage of some of those lovely sights.
I am so pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay and we would be very happy to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the wonderful mountains & beautiful Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    116
    50
    67
See reviews for
86
100
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Late season still few rooms left at last minute, then Voyager took us in for one night, apparently closing off many rooms next day. Anyway, a confusing place, apparently built in stages, clumsy to manoever hallways if hauling luggage carts. NO CENTRAL HEAT turned on although previous night was 35F! So they sent up a space heater. We snuggled, survived. Room antiquated. Ice about a half-block of hall-ways away. Staff nice.

Room Tip: Try for "near elevators" as long corridors lead off in unclear directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartman551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for your review comments & observations all Guest "Feed Back" is very helpful.
Yes as you say the High Season is coming to an end as Fall sets in with cooler nights for sure (fortunately so far this year the Fall days have been beautiful & the nights not as cold as usual).
Your observations with regard to the age and lay out of the Voyager Inn are interesting as the property is one of the older Hotels in town (built back in the 1960's) but was built as one & on a simple - Lobby & Amenities in the middle & then 2 wings (with 2 floors in each) off this central area (one to the right & one to the left). You mentioned that a Guest should try to get "near to an elevator) but there are no elevators in the Voyager Inn - the sister property next door the Spruce Grove Inn does have 2 elevators!
The Spruce Grove Inn is a very much newer property (built in 2003 & 2006), it is a "Rooms Only" property (Guest use the facilities at the Voyager Inn) and its Ice Machines are on the second & third floors & close to one of the elevators.
But with regard to the Central Heating - the Voyager Inn as it is an older property has a central system for the whole hotel which was turned up mid month: whilst the Spruce Grove Inn has individual HVACs in each room so the Heat & Cool can be controlled by the Guest.
It is very pleasing to hear that you were treated well by nice & welcoming staff; hopefully you got to enjoy the beauties of both the mountains & Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

PNW
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Banff Voyagar Inn is located on Banff ave but is at the extreme corner of the street. You would not be able to walk to the center of the town. I had to stay here one night and I knew going in to keep expectations low. The hotel room key itself is testament to how old the hotel is. It is like a computer punch card from the 80s.
The folks at the check-in counter were efficient and helpful. The breakfast was quite decent. There are much better properties in Banff. You should stay here if you have to not because you want to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for your observations and comments it is always beneficial to receive constructive guest feed back.
Absolutely correct the Banff Voyager Inn along with 2 other properties are at the very begining of town on Banff Avenue (there is also one other Resort that is closer to the Highway) and it is about a 15 minute leisurely flat walk to downtown - pleasant in the lovely summer months less so in the cold winter!!
The Hotel is one of the older Hotels in town and is very much geared towards budget/family guests; the amenties do include (amoungst others) a restaurant and we are glad to hear that it provided well for you; the restaurant is currently under going some development to increase it's service times as well as new 'themed" menus etc.

Once again many thanks for your comments as they will be helpful in our ongoing efforts to improve Guest Service & Experience at this Budget/Family property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Other reviews mention poor custom service, I disagree, Spoke to at least four different staff while staying there overnight and found them very courteous and helpful. They went out of their way to help me print some important information and I was very happy with them and the room which was clean and comfortable. The only negitive was the poor wi fi that kept dropping out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisbaneDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Good day,

On behalf of the Hotel and all of the Staff I thank you very much for your positive "feed back" - all constructive "feed back" both positive & negative is very helpful to the hotel in the on-going quest to improve Guest Enjoyment, Experience and Satisfaction.
We very much accept that it is an always continuous process and sometimes we (the staff) do not perform to the best but it is truly encouraging that the on-going efforts are producing ever improving Guest Service!
Often the physical product & the age of the property can not produce the best results but then it is always up to the "employees" to go the extra mile to provide quality "care, service and experience" - it is always nice to hear that we have done just that, thank you.

I have to agree that sometimes the "wifi" can be pretty slow & not always available; these problems tend to occur either due to the hotel server not performing or when the property is busy and lots of Guests are online - it is definitely an area that needs to be looked into.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to beautiful Banff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We knew there was no A/C in the room but the outside temperature was 90+ degrees and they had no oscillating fans so our sleep was restless. After 2 nights, we were happy to move on. The front desk reception woman was brusque, short and in hospitable. The staff needs a review on manners and must understand travelers are important if they want to keep their job and wages; and the hotel definately needs refurbishing and some modern conveniences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments & observations; these sort of constructive comments are very helpful towards the Hotel's on-going goals of improvement.
The Air Conditioning situation is & has been a concern at the Voyager Inn but the property is like a number of similar Hotels in Banff that do not have AC mostly due to the fact that at the most it might be required for 3 weeks in the year. But it is definitely a case that there needs to be fans available for those really hot days - definitely something that will be looked into being provided.
With regard to your observations re the Front Desk staff this will certainly be investigated & if some refresher training is needed that will be done; it is surprising in that during the summer it has been the quality Customer Service given by the Front Desk Staff that has helped Guests over some of the "aged issues" at the Hotel (up grades are an on going but slow process) and as such the Guest Service has garned good praise, obviously on this occassion it was not the case and as such I thank you for your observations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tholen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. The Hotel looks like a bunker, it is concrete, square and from the seventies not to mention the”cozy” reception area that you want to flee from immediately. The rooms are small with furniture that has past its life time expectancy, it is squeaky and dodgy. Breakfast turned out to be a battle between the guests as there were two busloads of tourists that were squeezed in the restaurant between 8 and 9 AM. For the breakfast there were two areas one for the continental and one for the full breakfast with matching coupons yellow and blue. If you had the yellow coupon you could “upgrade” to the full for 6 CAD$. The hotel is outside the centre but for dinner you could go to Chili’s which is only 10 minutes away. In Banff there are better looking places but because of the high prime tourist area they are not cheap >150 CAD$.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenthaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Good day and many thanks for you review, it is always good to receive "feed back" from Guests (both good & bad as long as it is constructive) as it helps us in our continual striving to improve Guest Service & Experience.
Absolutely the hotel is old "1964" (one of the original Banff Hotels) and as such it was built in the then "top style" of concret form: internally it is also older in style but is continually every year trying to upgrade &/or renew various areas of the Hotel.
The hotel is popular with Budget Tour groups in the summer months and a number of them do have breakfast included with their package: the restaurant is open on a daily basis from 6;30am to 11:00am but of course the peak time (& therefore some capicity limits) is between 8 & 9am when the Tour Groups come in.
The Voyager being very much a Family/Budget property does sit at the lower end of the Banff price range - Banff being a "special place" & being in the Park does tend to be more expensive than outside the Park with most properties in the summer months having prices starting in the high 100s to low 200s; but the Voyager & some other similar (out of the centre of town) properties tend to be a bit lower in price.
We always try to greet & welcome our Guests with a friendly & warm family style care & service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel is very old and no air conditioner. I was scared to let my 3 year old walk around the hotel. You don't get that safe feeling. There is a bar and a liquor store inside the hotel. Will not take kids here ever again. Will pay the extra dollars to stay in a much nicer hotel. Front desk staff are not professional. We Forgot an item in the room, and realized 2 days after going home. Called the hotel, rude receptionist basically told me that if the item is not in the lost and found then she cant do anything about it. I do not think that the staff here had any basic customer service training. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this one is on the top for being the worst. If you have a larger SUV or a Truck, their underground parking is not for you. We ended up looking for parking in the road. Will Never Go Back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsTravellingMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Banff Voyager Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments and observations with regard to your recent stay at the Voyager.
You are absolutely correct it is an older building, in fact it is one of the old original Banff hotels; it does have on-site facilities such as a small lounge bar and a liquor store plus a restaurant and other amenities.
The hotel is popular with Budget Tours as well as families (as it has an outdoor heated pool, hot tub etc.) who are looking for a lower cost (in Banff terms) family friendly hotel: we have many families stay who feel very safe within the Hotel enviroment.
Not too sure with regard to the observations in regard to the semi underground (covered) parking not being suitable for trucks or SUVs as on a daily basis there are both regularly parked there, in fact even the garbage truck gets under there.
Your comments re Front Desk service are obviously concerning & most welcome to hear because that is the only way we can improve on the Hotel's Guest Service which has been receiving good reports this year; but it can always be improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spruce Grove Inn
Spruce Grove Inn
#30 of 33 in Banff
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 33 in Banff
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Voyager Inn

Property: Banff Voyager Inn
Address: 555 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Voyager Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing