We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place, but a few km from Banff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, but a few km from Banff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Queen bed was comfortable. Pull out sofa was adequate for our kids (8 & 10 years old), but wouldn't want to sleep on it as an adult.

Full kitchen was really nice. We had all out breakfasts there. The half bathroom was perfect for the kids and the full bath was really nice with a great shower! Queen bed in the loft was nice so we could be away from the kids after they went to bed.

Pool wasn't great but the outdoor hot tub was okay. Needs a bit of an upgrade.

Was a trek from town (and all the amenities) but we brought our bikes so we biked to the Cave and Basin for the Sundance trail. Otherwise, we drove.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWR228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Your comments about the pool area are appreciated. We are planning an upgrade of the building that includes the pool and hot tub area. It sounds like you stayed in a One Bedroom Loft which is a nice room for a family as it has a little bit more space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    361
    191
    78
    45
See reviews for
310
335
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here, but they were a day apart.

We stayed here on a Wednesday night, which was great. They upgraded us to a suite with 2 queen beds, 2 stories, with a kitchen and 2 bathrooms. The room had everything I needed and was cozy and comfortable.

We came back for Fri and Sat night which was a disappointment. The room had 1 queen bed and a sofa bed (which is the room we reserved) but the heater was broken and it got really cold at night. They didn't have any extra blankets at that moment. Wifi did not work at all- it didn't even connect! They said it's simply because they were 100% booked and too many people were using it.

Bottom line- if you want a kitchen and somewhere near banff downtown, it is a decent place. If you want a more comfortable room, you might want to look around a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mingeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are glad you were happy with the two bedroom condo that we upgraded you to. The comfort of our guests is important to us. I can assure you that I will investigate your comments about the heat in your room. We are working on upgrading the wifi here at the resort. It is taking longer than we had anticipated and our IT department tells us they can fix our issues. I am so sorry it was not available while you were here. Thank you for taking the time to provid comments about your stay. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitscoty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

How do I even start! My newly wed husband and I had our wedding reception planed at the resort and amazing meal it was but what amazed me the most we had planed on getting married at the now falls and Mother Nature didn't allow for that. The Banff Rocky Mountain resort helped us in 45 min notice and set up a room for us to be married it, I can not even begin to thank them for all that they did and helped save our wedding day and made it the most meaning full and unforgettable day of our life's! Thank you all for your hard work get customer service and excellent hospitality! Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aharasiuk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It was our absolute pleasure to provide a place for your ceremony to be held. Congratulations on your marriage. We wish you many years of happiness and joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton - Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We live in Edmonton, about 4 hours away from breathtaking Banff! We have come here at least once every year for the past 35 years and NEVER get tired of this beautiful little town nestled in the Rocky mountains and this resort is simply awesome! Great staff, great management, especially Marla L. who does a great job for us time-share owners, trying to fit us in during busy times. This resort is a must stay for families, it has everything you could possibly need. We are seasoned travellers and have travelled to many countries and written many reviews but yet never stopped to write a review about one of the most beautiful places on earth, right in our back yard! So here it is: Visit Banff and stay at this resort! you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahasri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I will pass your comments along to Marla. I think she is awesome, too. Banff is a magical spot and we are lucky to live, work, and visit here. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The one bedroom we stayed in was small but decent. Along the path to our room in block 2700, there was a used diaper and garbage tossed in a window well. After it being there for a few days, we called to ask for it to be cleaned up. It was not cleaned up for our entire stay!! Even after calling and complaining. Unreal and disgusting. Makes you wonder about how clean the units are (or aren't!).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lethbridge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
All I can do is apologize. You are right we should have dealt with your concern right away. Better still our grounds staff should have done a better job. I have reviewed your comment with our staff and want you to know that your concern has been addressed. Thank you for taking the time to share your comment which will help us improve the service at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel and it was great. We were upgraded to a wolf suite which was wonderful as we were able to cook our dinner and breakfast. The suite was very well equipped and the loft bedroom was extremely comfortable. The location was good as we were able to cycle to Vermillion Lakes . As the resort is a bit out of town, it is very quiet, but certainly within an easy walking/biking distance. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. We would definitely stay here again, as we did not encounter some of the concerns that have been.mentioned.

Room Tip: The wolf suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugosagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcome upon your arrival and that you were pleased with the junior suite that you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a really good value hotel with great room layout, friendly staff and good amenities. It's also only a short drive to Banff town centre.
We are a large family so find their room layouts excellent for fitting the maximum number of people in a room comfortably whilst still allowing each person o have some privacy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannineBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our room size suited your needs as a family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing