We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
West Kelowna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel and it was great. We were upgraded to a wolf suite which was wonderful as we were able to cook our dinner and breakfast. The suite was very well equipped and the loft bedroom was extremely comfortable. The location was good as we were able to cycle to Vermillion Lakes . As the resort is a bit out of town, it is very quiet, but certainly within an easy walking/biking distance. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. We would definitely stay here again, as we did not encounter some of the concerns that have been.mentioned.

Room Tip: The wolf suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugosagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcome upon your arrival and that you were pleased with the junior suite that you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    346
    181
    73
    41
See reviews for
298
317
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a really good value hotel with great room layout, friendly staff and good amenities. It's also only a short drive to Banff town centre.
We are a large family so find their room layouts excellent for fitting the maximum number of people in a room comfortably whilst still allowing each person o have some privacy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannineBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our room size suited your needs as a family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The receptionist was really helpful and welcoming. We stayed in a standard room 1001. It was clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable. They provide free shuttle to and from Banff downtown. Very happy with my stay here. The scenery is beautiful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time in Banff. Yes, the scenery is beautiful. We were happy to see that the Front Desk staff made you feel welcome at the resort and that you were pleased with our junior suite. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Banff again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matheson, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Went to the hotel to see what it was like absolutely beautiful must see. Full of things to look at and stores to shop at plus u can stay there. A bit expensive for me. But if I was staying in banff for a few nights id stay there just for the view

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mome2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
315 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for seven nights. The rooms could use a little bit of a face lift but overall they were well worth the price. The two bedroom condo, provided a good night of sleep after a day of hiking. The flat screen TV came with a DVD player if you asked for it. The kitchen is adequate for breakfast and the rooms were clean. The fireplace was nice, but you had to pay for the un-seasoned wood. The location was minutes from town and a though we didn't use it, a free shuttle is provided. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. Glad to see that you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park and the time you spent with us at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed at this resort about a half dozen times and won't be staying there again. It's a shame how badly it's deteriorated over the years service wise. We planned this romantic getaway in advance and wanted to stay at this resort because of the quiet location away from the town and knew what the accommodations were like in advance so we weren't disappointed there. What was disappointing was the service, because of the Canada day long weekend the resort was full but that doesn't excuse not cleaning a room, the front desk told us that they had 170 plus rooms to clean ???? At almost $300 per night I expect to come to back to a cleaned room, period. The noise from the adjoining rooms went until after 1 am and the front desk did nothing to address it so we had to ask the guests to please keep the noise down. Again when your paying these kinds of rates you'd expect a good nights sleep and unfortunately that's not what we got on our weekend getaway. Very disappointed. The resort did give us a free movie for our troubles. If you are staying at. This resort don't take a bottom unit.
Banff is a beautiful place to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $50 and stay somewhere better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
This is truly disappointing. Yes, Banff is a busy place over long weekends and during the summer months. I am so sorry that we did not meet your needs with the service we provided. Our staff did call security to deal with the noise issue but they did not respond in a timely manner. We also could have provided more help to you upon checkout. I was glad to see that you liked the accommodation you booked. I hope that you will return to the resort in the future and would like to discuss your visit. Please contact me directly at 403-762-7456 or send me an email with your contact information and I will call you. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice "cabin type" accommodations ... very good shower ... very good cable tv .... good kitchen with fridge and stove .... small bedroom ..... the restaurant was very poor in food quality and selection but the restaurant staff was polite and efficient .. front desk staff fair .... they were however able to find my folio and email me a copy immediately upon request a couple of weeks after the visit ... close to downtown .... fair choice given the price .. very good value

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TravelClick and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing