We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good resort in a fantastic ski location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good resort in a fantastic ski location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit at the BRMR for 2 week at the start of April 2013.

The resort is the only timeshare within Banff National park and is located close to the highway and a 5 minute drive to town. There is a free shuttle to Banff town every hour on the hour from 11 am till 11 pm.

Our 2 bedroom unit was located on the top two floors of a three story building. The living area, dinning table, kitchen and bathroom (shower only) were on the 1st floor with both bedrooms (two doubles) and full bathroom on the 2nd.

The unit was very clean on our arrival and was well equipped (Dishwasher, Microwave, Full cooker, Large fridge/freezer, etc) with lots of storage areas. No washer/dryer but these are available in the main building.

The resort had a full programme of activities for all ages. One of the organised activities is a camp fire on Saturday evening, it’s free and our kids loved roasting marshmallows over the fire.

The resort is part of the Banff Lodging Company which allows restaurant and spa charges from a number of hotels in town to be charged back to your unit. We’d highly recommend the The Keg Steakhouse at the Caribou and Chili’s Grill at the Fox Hotel.

Overall we felt that this was a very good resort in a fantastic ski location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Especially the shuttle driver who accommodated our request to be dropped off at a stop other than the regular stop on a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ochil17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    338
    175
    68
    41
See reviews for
280
314
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights with 5 teenage boys, and we had an amazing time. Tons of things for the boys to do, close to the ski hill, I couldn't have asked for anything more! The resort offered a pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs and a pool table. They also provided us the option to buy our ski passes ahead of time so we wouldn't have to wait in line at the hill. Beautiful accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo close to the pool, this will save you from walking outside when it's cold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldengrl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our party of 4 stayed at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort for 2 nights during a recent skiing trip in January. We had one of the Wolf units on the ground level. The unit had 1 bedroom, full kitchen and a small living area with a sofa bed. Our unit was very nice and appeared to have been recently renovated. Two flat screens TV's are provided and there's a nice assortment of TV channels available. The bathroom was clean and modern with nice fixtures and good towels.

The bed in the bedroom was very good with nice linens and pillows. It's worth noting that the living area is very small so when the sofa bed is pulled out it's a very tight fit. It works well for children but adults will be very cramped for space. There's also a small dining table but with only 2 chairs.

It's a busy resort and many travellers appear to be larger groups or families with children so noise can be an issue. You can definitely hear people in the unit above you or when people are going up and down the stairs, so if you're after peace and quiet, it will be the "luck of the draw" on how noisy your neighbours are. There's also a freight train that runs through the area and I heard it both nights that we were there, friday and saturday.

We had a nice stay because the price was reasonable for our party of 4 but our Wolf unit was a tight fit for 2 adults and 2 older children. Note also that the resort is actually located just outside of the Banff townsite so it's about 3.5 kilometers to downtown Banff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The first night we stayed in a studio wolf suite. The suites are great I have no complains about the rooms they are set up perfect and have everything we needed, beds are comfortable and its a great value. However the reason for not returning here will be that we had partiers above us and could hear everything. By 2am I had to call the front desk, who in return were great and sent security over asap to the room above. Yes. they did tone it down I could however hear them walking back and fourth for about an hour upstairs before things settled down. Than at 6:30am the people located behind us decided to get up and have a loud conversation with each other, in which we could here word for word. I went to the front desk and advised my husband did not want to stay another night unless we could be moved to a suite upstairs to avoid all the noise. The lady at the desk was great, there was nothing at the time but when we returned from our day of skiing they had a loft wolf suite ready for us. WOW what a suite, perfect in every way and great value. We assumed we would have a great sleep tonight. Not so much the suite directly behind us upstairs also decided to hoot and holler several times threw out the night inside and outside there suite, lots of loud laughing and my husband was ready at 1am to pack our things and drive home as this is how feed up he was. My sleep was much better the 2nd night, however we both were woken again by the noise of other travelers several times threw out the night. I normally stay at the hidden ridge and even thow there set up is similar the rooms are much quieter. I won't be returning to the Rocky Mountain resort.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay..ask for a room on the upper level all one bedroom and stuido suites are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had the Junior suite as we only spent 2 days in banff. I can't find anything bad to saywith this hotel. We have stayed in different hotels in banff but this one is gonna be on my fave list. Yes it's pets friendly, but we never had any problems with it. Rooms are clean and spacious compare to regilar hotels in downtown area, staff are great, pools are clean as well. it's not close to downtown but that's ok. We go to Banff to see the nature and enjoy it, so who needs the busy downtown. But of course for some that still wants to walk around downtown, it's not that far of a drive, probably 10 min drive. They have shuttles to accomodate you, either to downtown or to skiing resorts. The view is outstanding, doesn't matter which area of the hotel you are in. since ours is just a junior suite, we go to downtown to eat and walk a little bit then back to our hotel to relax and enjoy the view. They have suite that are condo style for those who wants to bring and cook they're own food. Overall, I love this hotel. I'll deffinitely stay at this hotel again next time we go to Banff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mekeni512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went there last year and we really enjoyed it. We had a cabin with fireplace and kitchenette. I got absolutely no complain about the place. I like the location, it was not too close to downtown and the crowd... it is all surrounded of forest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a 1-bedroom condo (w kitchen) on the ground floor. The unit had everything we needed for our stay, but every night at 10pm the inhabitants from the floor above would come "home" and start running till 12am. On the last night of our stay they kept being noisy the whole night. We called the front desk 2 times but there was no improvement in their behavior. We were able to hear each step made upstairs and they did not stop moving around.

I will never sleep in this resort unless it is a top floor unit.

Room Tip: Book a top floor unit. Ground floor units must be avoided due to very squeaky upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northern_prairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing