We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“obe of the besthotel in banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“obe of the besthotel in banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had the Junior suite as we only spent 2 days in banff. I can't find anything bad to saywith this hotel. We have stayed in different hotels in banff but this one is gonna be on my fave list. Yes it's pets friendly, but we never had any problems with it. Rooms are clean and spacious compare to regilar hotels in downtown area, staff are great, pools are clean as well. it's not close to downtown but that's ok. We go to Banff to see the nature and enjoy it, so who needs the busy downtown. But of course for some that still wants to walk around downtown, it's not that far of a drive, probably 10 min drive. They have shuttles to accomodate you, either to downtown or to skiing resorts. The view is outstanding, doesn't matter which area of the hotel you are in. since ours is just a junior suite, we go to downtown to eat and walk a little bit then back to our hotel to relax and enjoy the view. They have suite that are condo style for those who wants to bring and cook they're own food. Overall, I love this hotel. I'll deffinitely stay at this hotel again next time we go to Banff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mekeni512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    337
    173
    67
    41
See reviews for
277
312
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went there last year and we really enjoyed it. We had a cabin with fireplace and kitchenette. I got absolutely no complain about the place. I like the location, it was not too close to downtown and the crowd... it is all surrounded of forest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a 1-bedroom condo (w kitchen) on the ground floor. The unit had everything we needed for our stay, but every night at 10pm the inhabitants from the floor above would come "home" and start running till 12am. On the last night of our stay they kept being noisy the whole night. We called the front desk 2 times but there was no improvement in their behavior. We were able to hear each step made upstairs and they did not stop moving around.

I will never sleep in this resort unless it is a top floor unit.

Room Tip: Book a top floor unit. Ground floor units must be avoided due to very squeaky upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northern_prairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a 2bed+2bth condo at the resort over the Holiday. Very clean and our room was up to date. It isn't the largest condo on the planet but plenty of room for us and our high school boys. There are limited ski-in/ski-out options in the Banff area so you will likely need to find your own place in or around town. I would recommend this place, especially if you have a car. The ski shuttle will pick you up and they offer a ride to town, but it is easier for my family with a car.

side note: Do not use Liftopia to rent ski's or packages. Rather, go direct with Ski Hub or the mountain itself. They took my $900 and then the local shop could not fill my equipment order which caused all kinds of issues. I eventually rented @ the mountain with no real help from Liftopia. But, they did manage ot insult me in the end by offering me a $20 credit toward my next rental purchase through them. That will never happen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Banff Rocky Mountain resort. I was able to trade my timeshare for a week during Christmas which was a surprise in itself, but the resort also turned out to be much better than I expected. We were upgraded to a Wolf suite upon check in and the room was well designed and comfortable - even with two adults and several teenagers staying with us :) The kitchen was pretty well stocked, the bathrooms were clean a roomy and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. Best of all was the staff - they were friendly and helpful and pleasant to deal with -even if they would have rather been spending their Christmas elsewhere, they never let you feel like anything less than a valued guest. The resort was a short drive from downtown, but here is a shuttle and honestly we really enjoyed being away from the crowds. I wasn't expecting too much based on the age of the resort and some of the previous commenters, but I was thrilled with the resort and the accommodation and would love to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a Wolf Suite if they have them available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our room was better than the pics (we had the wolf lodge studio). It was cozy, warm, great proximity to town, the gym/facilities were awesome, staff was super friendly.
Only suggestion would be to purchase the wrapped burning green-friendly logs you can get at Canadian Tire etc.. to burn in the fireplace instead of wood. We got a bit smoky.
Loved it, would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom condo and the condo was very lovely. We had everything we needed. We had a full kitchen, fire place and full bathroom downstairs and 2 bedrooms and another full bathroom upstairs. It is fairly spacious and the couches and beds are very comfy. There is also lots of storage space. Its about 3km from the main town but its not a big deal as they run a free shuttle into town and back every hour. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing