We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, crappy sofa bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice room, crappy sofa bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice, quiet place to stay,
We, 3 adults, got a nice room with kitchen and a separate bedroom.

The resort has a decent pool.

Friendly staff.

One dowsinde:
the sofa bed was worn out, noisy and even dangerously unstable.

Our advice: nice place to stay as long as you do not have to use bunk-bed!

Room Tip: do not accept a room in which someone has to sleep on the sofa bed. Do not bunk on the sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BompieBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    369
    196
    81
    47
See reviews for
323
340
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A lovely resort with nicely spaced out accommodation of individual lodges and groups of lodges nestled amongst some majestic mountains a short distance from the centre of Banff. Easy access into town with a shuttle or by car.
Facilities were of high standard and included pool, gym, squash and tennis courts and other actives were on offer.
Service was excellent and the restaurant fun and good value.
Would definitely stay here again and so much to do in the area, could stay for 2 weeks here no problem!! Beautiful resort

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
732 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

While in Banff we stayed here three nights and were quite happy with it. The room was neat and tidy and cleaned up well each day. We did not use the restaurant at all but each evening I went in there to use the free computer and internet which was very handy. The resort had activities planned for each day if you wanted to be involved. I think there are a lot of timeshare owners staying there as well and they all seemed to be happy. The resort is just out of town on the main road which is handy. If you do not have or do not want to use your own vehicle you can go into town and return by their shuttle bus. there is a pool , spa etc there but we did not partake of them. The resort is well presented with lots of flowers about with nice mountains nearby. Good value we thought.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Housekeeping sitting around in large groups while our room was not attended. They came late after 4 PM to see if we needed anything. We had returned from hiking and found the room not cleaned. Therefore, we declined cleaning thereafter.
Refrigerator freezer too small for ice. No ice buckets provided for ice.
No views from most rooms.
Restaurant in the basement while kids played pool (disconcerting). They have a nice dining area upstairs which was not open. The food, however, was very good considering the first impression of the restaurant was uninviting.
Could not walk to center town had to take the shuttle. The shuttle was very convenient though.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from housekeeping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all, it's been a while since I stayed at this hotel. We visited Banff and this hotel in september 2012 and stayed here for about 5 days. Its situated close to the town/village of Banff and close to the highway, so its very convenient when traveling around.

The rooms were ok. Nothing special. It was big enough, good beds and we only stayed here during the evening/night. During the day we were outside, enjoying nature, hiking and driving around. Very fun to see elks in the garden in front of our room almost every morning!

We didnt have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so can't say anything about that. Neither did we use the swimmingpool, spa or sauna.

Biggest plus for us: the hotel is very close to the town/village of Banff, close to a few great hikingtrails and the service was great. Nice staff.

We would return here the next time we visit Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Banff Rocky Mountain Resort is a combination of time share condos and hotel suites. I have been spending time here each August for the last five years.
There are positive and negative aspects to this place. The units are well appointed for self catering and are either one or two bedrooms. The resort has a variety of amenities including tennis courts, swimming pool, hot tubs, and a deli. There are daily activities organized for the family and a shuttle bus into the town center. All of this is great and gives you good value for the price, except in the summer high season when the prices are inflated
Now the quirks. The units vary greatly as to the degree they have been upgraded. Some are definitely more modern than others. The two bedroom suites tend to be on the upper level, which may be inconvenient with young children. The sound of little feet will carry through the floor to the unit below.
There supposedly is free Wi-Fi, but this didn't work at all, and, despite assurances that the "tech team" would be notified, this didn't happen. The cell phone coverage was also very spotty at best. This may be a problem for a business traveller.
Much of the resort is looking rundown. The stairs are in need of a coat of paint, the pool area is grubby and the pool deck needs repair and replacement. When we were there the outdoor hot tub contained cold water and was overflowing and flooding the sundeck. There is a fine dining restaurant off the lobby that is closed indefinitely. No attempt has been made to convert this into a functional space.
However, I find my stay is always pleasant. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there is a feeling of home away from home that is very appealing.

Room Tip: The rooms at the resort are separated by a major road. Request that you are given a room on the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimmerlinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this Hotel for 8 nights from Aug 3rd to Aug 11th, 2013. The setting is very nice on the outskirts of Banff. There is a bike path next to the Hotel that runs from Canmore to Banff. Half of the complex is for Time Share guests and the rest I guess for Hotel rental. We paid $2400.00 CDN for our stay while we met a couple in the pool that paid $280.00 for 7 nights via a Time Share promotion. Ouch.
The biggest disappointment we had was the lack of a sound barrier between the second floor suites and ours on the main floor. For 8 nights we could hear every move from the occupants above us. Unfortunately for us these individuals were up until well after 1am and would wake and start moving around by 6am. Sadly we did not get enough sleep because of the constant noise above us and one of the most uncomfortable beds we have slept on in a long time. This was also a newly renovated room.
The staff at this resort appeared to be mostly young men and women in their 20’s with customer service being close to the last thing on their minds. I waited 10 minutes to order a coffee to go from the restaurant while I watched two staff members have a disagreement in front of me without taking my order before I decided to drive into town to buy one at Starbucks. The cleanliness of our room depended on how much of a tip we left each morning for the cleaners. Sometimes we would get clean towels to replace the ones in the tub, or our waste baskets emptied but sometimes not.
The pool area and weight room needs some updating. Buckets were catching water from the ceiling in the gym and the timer on the indoor hot tub was broken. Parking was also an issue each night when we got back to the Hotel.
The last day of our stay we had family members come in from Calgary that rented a room at this same resort. I called the front desk and asked if it would be possible to check out at noon instead of 11am. This was declined by a female staff member stating “no, we are full tonight and need to have the room cleaned”. This is not the kind of taste I would want to leave with someone who just spent 8 nights at my resort as a 1 hour delay in checking out was not unreasonable.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaskatchewanViking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing