We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$234
$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$217
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$152
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$305
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$340
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$228
$218
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$320
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveler rating
236
433
235
105
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
433
235
105
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswolf condohourly shuttletennis courtsbedroom condofull kitchensofa bedshuttle servicethe outdoor hot tubgas fireplaceself cateringrenovated roommain buildinglake louiseshort drivecoffee makercanadian rockiestimeshare
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Banff Rocky Mountain Resort is a combination of time share condos and hotel suites. I have been spending time here each August for the last five years.
There are positive and negative aspects to this place. The units are well appointed for self catering and are either one or two bedrooms. The resort has a variety of amenities including tennis courts, swimming pool, hot tubs, and a deli. There are daily activities organized for the family and a shuttle bus into the town center. All of this is great and gives you good value for the price, except in the summer high season when the prices are inflated
Now the quirks. The units vary greatly as to the degree they have been upgraded. Some are definitely more modern than others. The two bedroom suites tend to be on the upper level, which may be inconvenient with young children. The sound of little feet will carry through the floor to the unit below.
There supposedly is free Wi-Fi, but this didn't work at all, and, despite assurances that the "tech team" would be notified, this didn't happen. The cell phone coverage was also very spotty at best. This may be a problem for a business traveller.
Much of the resort is looking rundown. The stairs are in need of a coat of paint, the pool area is grubby and the pool deck needs repair and replacement. When we were there the outdoor hot tub contained cold water and was overflowing and flooding the sundeck. There is a fine dining restaurant off the lobby that is closed indefinitely. No attempt has been made to convert this into a functional space.
However, I find my stay is always pleasant. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there is a feeling of home away from home that is very appealing.

Room Tip: The rooms at the resort are separated by a major road. Request that you are given a room on the same side of the street as the lobby. Otherwise you could end up far from the amenities. If you are with a family ask for a main level 2 bedroom unit.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shimmerlinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this Hotel for 8 nights from Aug 3rd to Aug 11th, 2013. The setting is very nice on the outskirts of Banff. There is a bike path next to the Hotel that runs from Canmore to Banff. Half of the complex is for Time Share guests and the rest I guess for Hotel rental. We paid $2400.00 CDN for our stay while we met a couple in the pool that paid $280.00 for 7 nights via a Time Share promotion. Ouch.
The biggest disappointment we had was the lack of a sound barrier between the second floor suites and ours on the main floor. For 8 nights we could hear every move from the occupants above us. Unfortunately for us these individuals were up until well after 1am and would wake and start moving around by 6am. Sadly we did not get enough sleep because of the constant noise above us and one of the most uncomfortable beds we have slept on in a long time. This was also a newly renovated room.
The staff at this resort appeared to be mostly young men and women in their 20’s with customer service being close to the last thing on their minds. I waited 10 minutes to order a coffee to go from the restaurant while I watched two staff members have a disagreement in front of me without taking my order before I decided to drive into town to buy one at Starbucks. The cleanliness of our room depended on how much of a tip we left each morning for the cleaners. Sometimes we would get clean towels to replace the ones in the tub, or our waste baskets emptied but sometimes not.
The pool area and weight room needs some updating. Buckets were catching water from the ceiling in the gym and the timer on the indoor hot tub was broken. Parking was also an issue each night when we got back to the Hotel.
The last day of our stay we had family members come in from Calgary that rented a room at this same resort. I called the front desk and asked if it would be possible to check out at noon instead of 11am. This was declined by a female staff member stating “no, we are full tonight and need to have the room cleaned”. This is not the kind of taste I would want to leave with someone who just spent 8 nights at my resort as a 1 hour delay in checking out was not unreasonable.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaskatchewanViking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel room was clean. Iron blew circuit breaker in kitchen. No cell phone coverage around hotel exc in main bld. Buffet breakfast was pus - aweful , slow to replenish and crappy food! Do not eat there. We went out for breakfast the second day - the Chinese cleaners tore our room apart when we left because they thought we checked out. Poor staff with poor communication. Nice view and out of town a little, not a bad price for Banff, but if you look you can find better.

Room Tip: Stay in town and save the headache of parking, or even driving thru town- freaking nightmare.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This property has just been renovated, and has that brand new feel about it. We were unfortunately staying only one night en route to the Calgary Stampede. The accommodation is provided in a number of self catering units. We had been upgraded to a two bedroom apartment, which turned out to have two bedrooms and a spacious bathroom on a first floor, with a further bathroom and open plan kitchen, living space on the ground floor. All of the equipment was ultra modern with a spacious dining table. A full roast dinner was easily produced from the kitchen area.

The furnishings and fittings are all new and tastefully done, and the whole place was sparkling clean. The site is actually about a mile from the centre of Banff, but to help guests with the tight parking situation in Banff a shuttle bus runs every hour dropping off and picking up so no need to drive in and fight for a car parking space. There is a good sized Safeway in the centre of town so no problem getting supplies for self catering. The pool and spa area was tidy and comfortable and there are loads of other facilities on site tennis courts etc. There are even gas BBQ's available for guests to use if you fancy doing a BBQ. We wished we had time to stay longer and will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room - everything will be new
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

we needed to call room service because the first night we saw a big mouse in our kitchen. It was 1 AM and since we were with a baby we called to room service for a solution on this matter. The gentlemen on the phone first said it was a hotel in a national park so that is why we could see some wildlife...I replied that wildlife should be seen outside, no inside...So the gentleman gave us another room ( a better one) and issue solved. I would suggest that when replying to a customer, the first thing is to find a rapid solution, then try to justify, in any case the justification should be reasonable.
But at the end I must say that employees fixed the issue very well, So if I have to come back or recommend this hotel to a friend, i would definetiley do.
We enjoyed and had a great time in Banff. I would recommend that for the price, breakfast should be included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlosverolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews