We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good to be slightly out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good to be slightly out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Our room was lovely, in one of the suites, nice and spacious with good facilities. Not much atmosphere in the hotel, but that's not a bad thing as it is on the edge of town, and was peaceful away from the Banff tourist strip. Wifi was broken all the time, which is not ideal for a conference centre. Very affordable and would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank aclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    337
    173
    67
    41
See reviews for
277
312
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in he Banff Rocky Mountain Resort June 2013. We had 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. It is good location. The week we stayed was the week of the flooding. This location was dry and was not near the flooding. It is near the highway that takes you to Lake Louise, the other national parks and the Glacier Highway. The unit was clean. It has free wifi which we really needed to get updates on the roads closed due to flooding. There is an indoor pool and hot tub and outdoor pool. We used these on rainy days. There is a paved path you can walk on and see wildlife. The only 2 bedroom units are upstairs and the units are 2 levels so if you have trouble with stairs do not get the 2 bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

First the good: I stayed in one of the 2 story 2 bedroom condos while on a mini-vacation celebrating my birthday. Though the entire hotel is a bit dated, the place was pleasant and clean with nice bathrooms. The staff at the front desk, pool and restaurant were unfailingly polite and pleasant. Decent enough base camp to explore the rockies

The bad: Due to a problem with our room, we had to be switched to another unit. The pleasantness of our trip ended immediately on having to deal with the front desk manager and general manager. They were condescending, rude and extremely belligerently unhelpful. Not only did they refuse to take responsibility for the issues with the unit, they attempted to blame my partner and I. When maintenance confirmed that it was in fact a fault with the hotel, there was no apology and we were grudgingly accommodated. It's a shame that the management doesn't seem to have even a quarter of the customer service skills of their staff, and put such an awful experience in what would otherwise have been a pleasant trip.

Room Tip: The bedrooms in the 2 story condo are absolutely teeny, and right next to each other. Families with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rafiki_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Chester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a two bedroom, two storey condo and thought it had an excellent level of facilities. Two bathrooms, two adequate bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchen (oven, hob, toaster, microwave, fridge, freezer). There was also a dining table for four and a settee & TV. Free wifi was available and we found the speed to be fine. We were facing the wood at the back, which was really nice and saw quite a bit of wildlife including deer. We even saw a baby bear from the car driving from the hotel into Banff! The hotel and leisure staff are really lovely and very helpful. There's also a tennis court, gym, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs and a sauna which we made full use of. It is a little out of town, maybe a 5 minute drive, but there's a free hotel bus once an hour. This meant it was very quiet compared to Banff itself which is very touristy at night, so it was perfect for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This resort has very friendly staff. Three nice pools . The lobby and rec centre are quite nice.
The problem for us was the size of the units. We four adults chose to stay a week in a sleeps four unit. We could not move for tripping over each other. It's a good job that the outdoors are so spectacular. The pull out couch was the worst we have ever slept on. The kitchen appliances are of the lower grade and therefore ran most of the night and were very cheaply made. Two chairs with backs were provided and two without. Four people could not sit around the table to eat.
This is not a sleeps four!

Room Tip: No air conditioning. Need more adult endeavors at the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple 2-3 times a year for about 3 years and never have experienced a bad stay. Now days for hotels that's a big deal! Some of there rooms are in need of renovations but the ones they have finished renovating are very well done.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskatchewan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My biggest concern was some kind of mold on the bathroom ceiling. Secondly, the rooms are very small. A microwave would have made the experience better. No air conditioning. I was not aware of this before booking, but perhaps I missed reading it somewhere on the hotel website. I requested a second fan, as most of the days I was there the weather was hot, but the employees didn't respond, nor did they bring another fan. Drying hair with no air conditioner was not fun. Noise from upstairs was fairly loud.

Room Tip: I would probably choose a different hotel altogether. This hotel is fair in most ways, but it is de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing