We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend the Wolf Condos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend the Wolf Condos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Highlight of the early May weekend stay in Banff was the Wolf Condos accomodations. From the floor plan, decor, furniture, amenities and cool wolf prints, it really felt like a home away from home and really wanted to stay longer. Loved the fireplace and firewood delivered to the door. The resort staff was quick to help, courteous and professional. Since the weather was so amazing that weekend, I asked to have dinner on the sun deck outside the resort lobby. The steak sandwich from their onsite restaurant Peppers was tasty. Didn't have time to check out the other amenities however they were popular with the other guests. I prefer to stay away from crowds, so I enjoy the fact the resort is located on the way into town and away from Banff Avenue traffic. Only minus for some folks might be climbing stairs and some rough sidewalks if mobility is an issue. On your next trip to Banff, take the opportunity to check out Banff Rocky Mountain Resort and ask for Wolf Condos availability; it was a comfortable and relaxing stay. I will definitely return!

http://www.bestofbanff.com/banff-rocky-mountain-resort/index.html

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    346
    181
    73
    41
See reviews for
298
317
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked through Expedia for $89. It is not along with all the other motels on Banff Ave. It is by itself to the East on Banff Ave. Even our GPS was fooled . It is quite a walk to downtown , so we took our car to the shopping area. Checkin is quick because we did use Expedia , all they asked for was the credit card we used to book , and within 30 seconds we had directions to our our 8 unit building and checked out the room. Very cozy, clean, with gas fireplace. Could use some newer ammenities, ie furniture , bedding etc , but was just fine. Step outside the door and look out to some beautiful views of gorgeous mountains. Great price , value, and clean. What more could you ask for .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaahoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon offer. Nice location for us because we were looking for peace and quiet. We take day trips, so close proximity to the highway was good. If you want to be in the heart of it all in the Townsite this place is not so good. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room had obviously been renovated recently and was very nice. Everything pretty much new and very clean. Everything we needed. Kitchen fully equipped for families. Shuttle service worked with our dinner plans. No need to worry about that after dinner drink before driving. There is a restaurant on site that we did not try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedonohues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The locations is very good such you are not in town per say surrounded by the bus loads of tourists is more peaceful and at the entrance of Banff what allows you to move around to all other spots in the area... Having said that the units are very small so if you are a big family and believed the six people accommodation legend advertised you will be disappointed specially the appliances in the villas is of extremely poor quality from the toaster to the coffee maker and the DVD Players. I have to say that the staff is very nice and attentive and help you any way they can

Helpful?
2 Thank Andres L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warman, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We bought our stay through groupon so therefore it was reasonable... Rooms were clean but old. Old couch.. Old quilt and the pillows we so old had no fill to them... That being said it was quiet, clean and because of the groupon.. Cheap.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
A huge turn off was the shuttle service availability. Not starting till 11am is rather late. We chose to walk the 30 mins to downtown Banff instead of waiting . However on a couple of occasions when wanting to go back in the evening the van would be too full to accommodate all the guests. I wouldn't be upset if the van was full of paying guests and therefore we had to wait but that was not the case. Staff would catch rides on their off time back to the resort and would get priority over the paying guests. That does not seem right or fair. We got the distinct feeling that the young staff gave priority to their needs above the guests.
Other than that it was a fair experience. If you are looking for five star ...stay in a five star resort and pay the five star rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 91TiGeR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I went there in early May, it's more a resort than a hotel. But not much of activities at this time of the year.

The staff was very useful and friendly. My TV broke, and after 5 minutes the tech guy just come in and change it. I was very surprised by their efficiency!

It's a little bit far from "downtown", you'll need a car to get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
452 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The front desk clerk at the resort office was very pleasant and helpful with directions to local attractions. We found plenty of parking by the walkway to our 2nd-floor unit. We had a working fireplace — fully stocked with split wood and dry kindling. A big comfy leather couch faced it. Throws and couch pillows were out for our use. Overnight the heaters worked great. A flat screen TV worked fine. Our loft bed was firm yet comfortable. We didn’t like the bed's pillows — our only real complaint here. Our kitchenette had all basic necessities: silverware, plates, bowls, and glasses. Everything in kitchen cabinets was clean. Coffee maker was a snap to use; coffee was palatable. Bathroom linens and surfaces were spotless. Shower water was plenty hot. Highway noise was barely discernible. We hated to leave so soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing