We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mountain spring retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
St. Albert
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mountain spring retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Each spring we spend a week at this resort. Although we still see winter snow and the weather is cool, we view it as a start of spring.
The staff at the resort are friendly and helpful. Any concerns are dealt with quickly. Suggestions re activities are made along with the hourly shuttle to the Banff townsite.
The units have been renovated within the last few years and are clean and comfortable.
The resort also has an activities coordinator and these activities are planned daily. Besides this is the exercise facility, indoor pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor hot tub.

Room Tip: When booking, let them know your vacation wishes and they will plan it to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    348
    185
    75
    43
See reviews for
301
322
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed a week at Banff last fall and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We have traveled through Banff a number of other times on our many trips to Winnipeg and back home again but had never stayed for longer than a couple of hours. We decided to go to Banff last fall and spend a week there. What spectacular scenery! We stayed at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, which is just outside of the town itself about a mile or so. We were just far enough out that the rates were weren't as expensive as staying in town, but we were close enough to have a short trip into the town itself. It was nice and quiet also and we were right at the foot of "Cascade Mountain. What an impressive view! The Rocky Mountains are sedimentary upheaval mountains and the wildlife find salt deposits in the rocks to lick. I hadn't realized just what the mountains themselves were made of before, I had always thought that they were solid granite, but I was wrong. The wildlife around Banff are all protected and are in mass profusion. Lake Louise is a short distance from Banff and you can take a very scenic drive up through Jasper to the North all the way to the town of Jaspar itself. You won't be sorry for going there, believe me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
374 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was an RCI stay for us, and we loved it! We had a 2 BR unit upstairs for my husband, mom and me. Kitchen was very nice. Unit was immaculately clean. Bedrooms are small, but worked for us. Ventilation in upstairs bedrooms could be better... we opened the window a bit, which might not be practical year round. They had lots of activities available... walks ranging from easy to difficult, movies, board games, kids' activities. We went on the historical walking tour which was wonderful. Based on what we learned there, we decided to visit the Whyte Museum, which we loved. We made good use of their shuttle... runs on the hour 11am to 11pm and picks up from the back of Mt. Royal hotel at :15 past each hour. Pool and hot tub were great! There is one computer for public use downstairs in the restaurant. My only complaint: this property is as far from "handicapped accessible" as possible. Stairs to 2nd floor unit (all 2 BRs are 2nd floor), then stairs inside unit to both bedrooms. In the lobby bldg, stairs downstairs to the computer, the pool and the minimally used restaurant. Same in town... many businesses, such as restaurants and salons, require steps and don't have elevators. Best bet for accessible restaurants... those on Bear St. (Bear St. Tavern, Wild Flour, etc.) and Old Spaghetti Factory in Clock Tower Mall.. up escalator or elevator 2 levels). I was able to handle the stairs but noticed it and felt it. Overall, a very enjoyable stay, and I'm glad I was physically able to do this.

Room Tip: Lower level are all 1BRs. Upper level are all 2 BRs. No ramps or elevators. To stay at this prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My past experience with hotels offering kitchens is that they are much better equipped. This resort doesn't even give salt and pepper. There are no pictures on the walls, although I did like the duvets on the beds.Note the free shuttle only runs until 11PM and a taxi is $12.00 to town With a few extras this resort would be far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheilaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had a problem with the hotel right from the very beginning because I don't appreciate being mislead. I booked through Groupon which always provides a deal. However, afterwards, when I looked on booking.com I discovered that the booking would have been cheaper through them. I wouldn't have stayed at the hotel if it hadn't been for Groupon. In any event, I soon discovered how vacant the hotel was and it became clear why the resort needs Groupon to attract business.

The rooms are old, but clean despite the wear and tear and hideous color scheme. The walls are paper thin. We could hear every movement and conversation in the condo above us. In the kitchenette, there was a coffee maker but no coffee filters. The room cleaner began his rounds early and was knocking on our door as early as 9:00 a.m. This was not appreciated. Our condo was also right next to the highway which brought a lot of noise at night.

The pool and outdoor BBQ area are very practical and well maintained.

The food in the restaurant is very good - not the greasy pub food one would expect. The soups were home-made, daily, and even something as simple as chicken fingers were prepared from scratch and with fresh ingredients. The food was a welcome surprise.

All in all, I'd stay again, but not for $139.00 per night.; The one bedroom condo is worth about $99.00 per night. That's all I'd pay at any time of year.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justtakemetothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked in here as part of a last minute deal, one of the only places offering a room with a kitchen within our budget. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which to our surprise had a full sized kitchen. Rooms clean and newly renovated. You are a little way out of town, but the shuttle service is great, especially for those of us that didn't have a car. The resort is also one of the major stops for the us to Lake Louise and Sunshine. They also have fantastically cheap international call rates from the rooms.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

5stars. Clean rooms friendly staff and a short drive into downtown banff, shuttle service is a plus since there is not much parking on the weekend. Love the pool. In the suites you can light a fire.
As well as a deck where you can BBQ. 3 things I would change a newer shuttle(the one they have is dirty and broken) educate the staff on tourist attractions and update the pool change room, because there are too many mirrors and no privacy.
Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staticfire229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Expedia so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing