We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Rocky Mountain resort for Thanksgiving and the location and views were awesome! We stayed in a one bedroom suite in the older part of the resort because we had our dog with us. But the suite was still very nice and had everything we needed, full kitchen, bathroom, bed, fireplace, sofa, etc. The resort offered a free shuttle into town so that was a nice feature, but get in line earlier as it is only a van so if it is full you will have to wait until the next round, but normally we didn't have an issue. The pool and hot tub was nice, nothing fancy but nice to relax in the hot tub at night. We did not eat at the resort, as we were generally gone during the day and then went into town for dinner. But overall the resort was very nice and the staff was very helpful!

Room Tip: Like i said we said in the older section of the resort across the street from the lobby, but they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedldf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    360
    190
    76
    45
See reviews for
306
333
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this resort in February for a brief holiday. The resort is on the outskirts of Banff and is a bit of walk into town but on a nice day, it is not difficult and is rather refreshing. It took us maybe 15 -20 minutes. There is a shuttle to downtown and back that runs every hour which is really convenient, especially if you go out for dinner and have a couple of drinks in town. The staff were very nice and helpful and really seemed to know what was happening in the area. We had a small two bedroom suite with kitchen and two bathrooms. It was all very clean except the fan above the stove. While we were cooking, we noticed grease dripping down from the mesh fan cover! As clean as the rest of the suite was, it was obvious that area had been overlooked! Hopefully the cleaning staff read our note when we left and addressed this problem and gave it a good scrubbing! The bedrooms were small but sufficient. Just a comfortable place to sleep after a day exploring the mountains. The pool was clean and in great shape, however, the outdoor hot tub area could use a bit of sprucing up as the paint on the fence was peeling. The hot tub itself was quite nice though. Cannot comment on the food as we mainly did our own cooking or grabbed a bite in town. Overall, a good place to spend a few days and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairiegirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I wish there was a 3.8 because thats what I would have given it. First off the grounds are very nice and the location is great. There is trails right off the resort. I liked that I wasnt right downtown Banff but more in a remote location min from the shops. We picked this resort because they are pet friendly which is a huge plus. They gave us treats and a pet dish upon checkin and would haven given us a pet bed if needed. The one bedroom was nice and had a kitchen which was also great. The suite was a little cramped. When using the pullout the loving room is completely gone. Also the mattress for the pullout might as well been a sheet of paper. My 3 year old son slept on it and it was okay for hiim but and adult no way. They rooms where clean but in need of a update. The pool and hottub area are clean but are really showing signs of age. With all that being said I would still recomend this hotel. We had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKALIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Although we have stayed in Banff many, many times, for some reason we have never stayed at this resort.....but that will change......we were pleasantly surprised at the lovely junior suite with fireplace. The bed was very comfortable, the staff very friendly, and we really enjoyed having a small sitting area to warm up by the gas fireplace. A large clean bathroom was also pleasant. There is plenty of free parking too! We did not have a chance to try the restaurant here. Value for the dollar was excellent! Normally we enjoy walking to the downtown area but this location was a bit too far to do that.

Room Tip: We stayed in a bottom floor suite....a bit of noise over head in the upstairs room....perhaps it mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was very impressed with the one bedroom wolf condo. It was newly renovated, very clean. It had a wood burning fireplace, full kitchen. I would highly recommend this room to anyone staying. It is small but very nice, for our family of three. It would only sleep a maximum of 4 people. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrie-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here family day weekend in the wolf loft. The room was great, clean and very comfortable! Very cosy and home like! Full kitchen. Wood burning fire place. We went to the outdoor hot tub and that was very nice and spacious. Also have an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. They have a little play room as well in the pool area. They have a store right next to the bar. The gentlemen at the front desk were very courteous and polite! Always asking how our day was how out meals were etc. they ran fire wood to our room! They had a shuttle that goes into town every hour ( the lodge is about 4 km outside of Banff) very nice and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Best things about resort: Close-by wildlife meant the herd of Elk grazed within the resort grounds last Tuesday! The beds were so comfortable, we slept like little children.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby:The entire town of Banff is available within a 5 minute drive. 3 ski areas within 45 minutes. Don't miss the drive up the Bow Valley Parkway and the walk up Johnston Canyon.


What this resort has that others do not is a superb staff. They went beyond polite in everything, making sure we were comfortable and there was nothing else we needed. Room service was not delicious, but it was delivered by the cook! The travel desk was staffed by a resident who really knew the area and listened to us before making recommendations. The huge outdoor hot tub was a social place where guests exchanged adventure stories and was a place to learn about what not to miss in the area. The rooms are small and far from fancy and there is no way that 6 people could sit down to dinner at the same table, but they were fully and comfortably furnished - there's even a pantry in the Kitchen. The beds had pillowtops on the matresses and the pillows were large and plentiful. We appreciated the very nice upstairs full bath, though the shower door on the downstairs bath did not keep water off the floor. This is a well-planned and well-placed resort that knows how to make people comfortable and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing