We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE STAY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“VERY NICE, CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE STAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here family day weekend in the wolf loft. The room was great, clean and very comfortable! Very cosy and home like! Full kitchen. Wood burning fire place. We went to the outdoor hot tub and that was very nice and spacious. Also have an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. They have a little play room as well in the pool area. They have a store right next to the bar. The gentlemen at the front desk were very courteous and polite! Always asking how our day was how out meals were etc. they ran fire wood to our room! They had a shuttle that goes into town every hour ( the lodge is about 4 km outside of Banff) very nice and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    337
    174
    67
    41
See reviews for
277
313
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Best things about resort: Close-by wildlife meant the herd of Elk grazed within the resort grounds last Tuesday! The beds were so comfortable, we slept like little children.

Best attractions or restaurants nearby:The entire town of Banff is available within a 5 minute drive. 3 ski areas within 45 minutes. Don't miss the drive up the Bow Valley Parkway and the walk up Johnston Canyon.


What this resort has that others do not is a superb staff. They went beyond polite in everything, making sure we were comfortable and there was nothing else we needed. Room service was not delicious, but it was delivered by the cook! The travel desk was staffed by a resident who really knew the area and listened to us before making recommendations. The huge outdoor hot tub was a social place where guests exchanged adventure stories and was a place to learn about what not to miss in the area. The rooms are small and far from fancy and there is no way that 6 people could sit down to dinner at the same table, but they were fully and comfortably furnished - there's even a pantry in the Kitchen. The beds had pillowtops on the matresses and the pillows were large and plentiful. We appreciated the very nice upstairs full bath, though the shower door on the downstairs bath did not keep water off the floor. This is a well-planned and well-placed resort that knows how to make people comfortable and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and stayed here for the weekend after checking a dozen other hotels. The reception guy started arguing about the size of our dog although we were very clear on the phone when we booked that we have a massive dog and he said it was fine. Our room was newly renovated and very nice but they did not put any sound proofing in. We could hear people upstairs walking constantly and the room beside is we could hear every bit of their conversation. I'm not sure why a hotel would cheap out like that. Besides that it was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We make a trip once a year and everytime we stay here. We enjoy the resort . The pool, and the hot tub are nice after a day playing in the snow. We love having the kitchen to enjoy healthy meals while we are away from home. My son enjoys the skating rink. Everything is great. The fireplace makes everything so cozy. Thanks. See you same time next year.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Actually I expected better.

Had a 1 bedroom suit. Main floor. It was dark and small. Nice to have the fireplace but the room smelled like fire all the time. Also it's dark due to the structures outside te main window. No natural light getting in.
Hot tub was OK, would like if the are could get opend up to enjoy the scenery a bit more while soaking. Staff seemed stressed/overworked

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor suit. More natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 71Gonzo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a find, we moved here after our first 7 days of hell from the Caribou Lodge which needs shutting down! And what a refreshing change, all the staff are so friendly and make sure you have a fantastic stay. The facilities here are great and have so much to do on the grounds. The hotel bar is ace and we meet a lot of nice people from Calgary who we ended up drinking with till very late. The hotel is a bit far away compared to other hotels however the hotel puts on a minibus to and from town (only 5min). The rooms are basic but very comfy and has everything you will need to have a great time. We found the prices in Banff restaurants to be very expensive since we last came to Banff so appreciated being able to cook a couple of times.

I we was to come back to Banff I would book here without doubt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RjColey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful rooms and scenery. So handy to have a kitchenette and a cozy fireplace! The pool and hot tubs are amazing. I'd love to go back, I just can't afford their prices.

Helpful?
2 Thank sunmama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing