We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Views, Pet Freindly resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Awesome Views, Pet Freindly resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We looked online to check out Banff and area Pet Freindly hotels, and with the information on their web site, we decided to check them out, and glad we did.

We ensured that they knew we wanted a Pet Freindly room and right off the bat we were given a pet treats package, with Milk Bones and a note of their policies for our companion.

That was followed by a dog water bowl and food dish along with a very comfortable doggie bed / cushion for our little Sheba Inu.

The Check in gentlemen were very friendly, accomodating, full of good knowledge of their resort and area.

The room was equipped with a fireplace, bar fridge and large bathroom. The layout was very homey and well laid out.

They had a large outdoor hot tub, and indoor pool and hot tub there as well. A cozy, bar type cafe overlooking the pools was quite inviting.

This is a great choice if you are traveling with Mans best freind for sure!

Room Tip: If traveling with your pet, either call in advance for high travel times or let you know you are req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviatorstarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    360
    190
    76
    45
See reviews for
306
333
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights they had a special on and if you paid more then could stay in the newer renovated wolf rooms . They were tastefully decorated. They only had two chairs in the kitchen area so it was awkward for 4 people. There was concerns about the housekeeping or lack of. They came at 630 at night after we had just arrived back for the day. The next day I called the front desk and requested they come before 3:00 . The room was not clean in that it required some dusting and to pick up items such as another patrons ear plugs. Upon leaving no one asked about our stay. It is a distance out of banff but they have a shuttle that leaves every hour. Pool and hot tub ok. Restaurant is more like a Cantine with a few groceries. We went into town to eat or cooked at the room.

Room Tip: The Reno rooms look better because of the decor. If you plan to use the pools then its better to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chbaldwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at The Banff Rocky Mountain Resort for 2 nights while on a mini ski-cation. We booked a 1 bedroom "wolf" suite online with a comment that we needed an animal free room due to one of our kids being allergic to dogs. On arrival they didn't have the room requested but immediately corrected the problem and were very apologetic and accommodating. The front desk staff were professional, organized and polite (and we arrived with the masses so they were busy!).
Our room was probably the furthest away from the main lodge ( a 1 min walk) and close to the road but we did not hear traffic...did see an elk in the forest from our room though! It was renovated and very comfortable (kitchen well stocked, beds cozy, and very very clean). We used the pool and outdoor hot tub after skiing....a little dated but clean and fun for the kids. We also used Peppers restaurant for room service..food was great, service was fast and reasonably priced (don't know why anyone would comment that it was expensive...that reviewer has never been to Banff restaurants!) We have stayed at a few resorts in Banff and Canmore (Hidden Ridge, Mystic Springs, Delta, Fox Suites) and I think this resort was the best for the money. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Banff Rocky Mountain for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to restaurant and pool ask for a room close to the main lodge...and if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2boys67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Bit pricey over xmas. Great 1 bedrm condo with nice fireplace and kitchenette. Resort is a stretch but great hot pool outside.

If you're looking for luxury this isn't it. It is a very nice place with children and a dog. Can't say anything bad about it. We enjoyed our stay at xmas and labour day. Staff is from Australia and atlantic Canada and were always professional and accomodating.

Bit out of town but it gives a more nice rural feeling to it.

We got what we came for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikecanadiensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pleasant stay, quiet, warm. Courteous staff. At our request they promptly delivered a microwave.
Hot tub, outside hot tub (-24 C !! when we were there), sauna, pool, all good. Ask for a padlock at reception for locker.
Plug-in parking (excellent for freezing temperatures in winter)
We would definitely go back next time.
Emilia and Alex.

Room Tip: our room 915 has mountain view
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights in Banff over Christmas at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort and it was just wonderful! This was our second stay at this resort and I am very glad we chose it again for our Christmas getaway. We had originally booked a studio suite and when we arrived we asked to be upgraded and we were able to be and were put into a loft suite. It was really nice to stretch out and having the extra bathroom was great. It is so nice to stay in a hotel that has a kitchen and being able to make breakfast and lunches saves a great deal of money so that is a huge help when going on vacation. We ate out at The Keg at Caribou Lodge on Christmas Eve and Christmas and having the meals made for us and cleaned up on Christmas was really stress free and enjoyable. The hot tub and pools were also really good and the change rooms were really clean. The only thing about the change rooms is that they are attached to the restaurant so when you are changing for swimming people come in to use the bathrooms, which is a little weird! All in all it was a wonderful vacation and I will be staying at this resort on any future trips to Banff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. •Indoor 15m swimming pool•Indoor and Outdoor hot tub•171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone•Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy•Tennis and squash courts•Onsite Laundry Facilities•Free parking and wired or wireless internet access•Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing