We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Facilities, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Unless you like the bustle of the over-crowded town of Banff, you will enjoy this resort just on the edge of the town, surrounded by trees and possessing a great view of the mountains. The room we stayed in had two double beds and lots of room. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated, but the rest of the room could use some updating. All the hotels in Banff are very expensive, but if you pay more than $170/night for this one, you probably are paying too much for the quality of the facility.

On the plus side, the location is great and the staff (mostly Aussies, as are most of the seasonal workers in Banff) are very helpful. There is a nice pool with hottubs, and an excellent barbecue area just behind the pool. The room has a mini-fridge, but we were told that no microwaves were available.

On the negative side, the bathroom lighting left much to be desired, especially if you wanted to shave or put make-up on the left side of your face. Your right side will look great, though. The carpet needs replacing too, and our fridge had an inch of ice in the freezer when we arrived. Once we mention this, it was immediately defrosted though. Also, for $50/room the facility could supply new microwaves for all the rooms - not a great expense. The cleanliness of the room was adequate but not great.

Overall, a good facility if you can get a room for under $160. Otherwise, you might be disappointed at the quality for the price. I would prefer to stay outside the town center, though, because of the large crowds and heavy traffic there, so this location is excellent.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade from the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltwaterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments about the resort. I am glad to hear your concern about the fridge in your room was dealt with quickly by the staff. Appreciate your comments about the microwaves in the unit. To place microwaves in the junior suites will require an upgrade of the electrical in all the units and it is something we are considering. If cooking facilities are a requirement we have 132 other units that have full kitchens in them. Happy to hear you enjoyed the location away from the bustle of downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel in early August. Located some distance from downtown Banff, an hourly shuttle is provided for trips to the downtown area, otherwise a five minute drive is necessary. Reserved a room, a Jr suite, with two beds through booking.com but after check-in discovered the room only had one bed and a sofa bed. Complained to the desk clerk to no avail. His explanation was that booking.com considered this room to have two beds. According to him there were no other rooms of any type available with two beds. No apology or offer to compensate in any way for not having the correct accommodations available was received. Except for that bed snafu, the hotel seemed fine. The room was small but the bath was ok with nice counter space, the one bed was comfortable, TV and WiFi worked well but it was impossible to pour from the coffee pot without spilling coffee everywhere. There actually was a perfect place for a microwave and a fridge in a cabinet, but neither was provided. One kudo for the resort is that they did offer recycling of trash and did not replace towels or sheets unless requested (we did not). The Peppers bar/restaurant was a very nice place with a limited, but good, menu and both waitresses were friendly, helpful, and informative. I would stay here again but would make sure I contacted the hotel directly to verify that the room would be as advertised.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

I am so sorry to hear that our associate did not appear empathetic to your concerns. Please accept my sincere apologies. Your room type was assigned based on the request from your booking agent. Unfortunately, the resort was full during your stay and we could not move you to another room type. I hope that you still enjoyed Banff. I see from your email address that you enjoy hiking so I hope you had the time to go on a few hikes while you were here. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is located just outside of Banff downtown, but the drive is only about 5 min away so no big deal.

The hotel and the rooms seemed aged, but overall the room was clean and cozy.The room has a mini fridge, utensils, glass cups, and soap from Rocky Mountain Soap Company! The soap was a surprise as I was expecting cheap, low quality stuff.

One of the things I didn't like about the hotel was the noise. I stayed there in the summer and had to leave the window open, therefore I could hear people coming in/going out of their rooms, people talking, and a sound (very loud and repeats itself at least 7 times) that I think may be the train. Other than the noise factor the rooms were fine.

We went to the pub below the hotel for the breakfast buffet (only on Sundays). They ran out of eggs and potatoes during the first 45 min that we were there. Other than that they had sausage, bacon, bagels, toast, yogurt, and fruits. They only had 2 waitresses but there were too many customers, so we had to go up to the bar every time we wanted drinks. I would not suggest to go to the breakfast buffet unless you have lots of time to spare (to wait for food and service). But the staff at the pub and at the front desk were friendly though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheep227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your candid comments concerning your stay at the resort. Your comments about the breakfast buffet were appreciated and will help us work on the service there. I am glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and accommodating and that you were pleased with your accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here Aug 6, 2012. We stayed in a 2 bedroom renovated Wolf condo unit. Our unit was very clean. We are extremely picky when it comes to clean accommodations and this unit exceeded our expectations! The king size and queen size beds upstairs were very comfy. There are very nice walking trails around the resort. The staff were very nice and helpful!! The only con that I can say is that they advertise 32" tv's in both bedrooms upstairs plus another tv in the living room, well there are no tv's upstairs which would have been nice to have for the kids to watch when we were watching our show downstairs. Overall, I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Make sure you rent one of the new Wolf rooms, they are updated and quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dizzy2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of the new Wolf Suites and that you found the room cleanliness to be of a good quality. Yes, we are late in getting the tv's in the bedrooms. Our renovations ran a little later than planned and we put the rooms back in service with just one tv. We will be installing the additional tv's this fall when business levels allow us to get back into the units to install them. Appreciate your comments, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Located just a bit outside the center of Banff, but this is not an issue if you have car. They also have a free shuttle into town. We got a very spacious room with a full kitchen and dining table so we could really make ourselves at home. Facilities (pool, sauna, hot tubs, gym) are excellent. Very pleasant service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlisbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the fact you took the time to write a review about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a condo development, quite aged with all 2 bedrom units on secon and third floors.
Third floor bedrooms have no AC and are tiny...doors cannot be closed as they hit the bed! Furniture was worn and filthy. Refrigerator had terrible odor. Very sparse cooking pans. Carpets were dirty. All guest facilities..pool, etc are downstairs and through a "deli"...very awkward with difficult access. We took one of thier "tours" in a filthy, smelly van with a "guide" who simply read the posted descriptions and was toally disinteresed in her guests,.
Location is convenient to Banff but only good thing was the nice, fluffy towels! Move on!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

From your comments it is clear that our resort did not meet your needs. The doors in the units are all a standard size and your are the first person that has complained about the size of the doorways. It is true all of the two bedroom units are on the second level of the building and you do have to go up one flight of stairs to get to the bedrooms which, as you state, are not overly large. Yes, we have no air conditioning and there are no plans to put air conditioning in the guest rooms. I sincerely apologize for the fact that your felt that your room was not has clean as you would like it to be. I expect you spoke with Front Desk while you were here so that we could address your concerns. Rest assured that we have taken your comments to heart and your comments have been reviewed with the staff here at the resort. Thank you for writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were upgraded to a newly renovated two bedroom apartment, which was excellent. The resort is on a nice tree lined main road outside of Banff and we could drive downtown in about 4 minutes (or use their shuttle). Kitchen was great; room service prompt. Not enough storage in room for two people (let alone the six that it could fit!). Pool was a disappointment- very tired, grubby and needing a refurb or at least a deep clean. Room service failed to clean the room on one day. Front desk quite slow ro respond to simple requests (eg can i have some towels?). Some neighbouring aparments with pets can be quite noisy at night. Overall a good choice but not a polished performance.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Review_Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

I appreciate receiving your comments about your stay at the resort. Glad to hear that you like the new rooms. We do have plans to renovate the pool area, provided they are approved by Parks Canada, in the fall of 2013. I am sorry to hear that your requests were not handled as promptly as you would have liked. I will address your conerns with the staff involved. Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,159 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
992 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $109 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wired or wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing