We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was good except for the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Located outside of Banff this is a pretty nice resort. We had the one bedroom with kitchenette and it was equipped with everything we needed. It was also very clean. The only problem is that you could hear every single footstep from the people above. They were a family of four who got up every morning around 7:30 am to go skiing. This meant that, like it or not, I had to get up every morning....to the very loud banging. I wanted to scream. For this reason only I would not stay there again. I did not sleep in at all and this caused me some unnecessary stress. I did call to complain but all I got was that they are going skiing and there is nothing we could do. Management should ask those who are staying on the second floor to be quiet in the morning because of the poor people below...maybe this will help reduce the noise level.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boneca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in a queen "Studio Suite". The room was large with high ceilings and appeared to have recently been renovated. I liked the decor, and I'm quite particular about hotel decor! There was a kitchen with dining table and chairs, adjacent sitting area in front of the gas fireplace and a flat screen TV. The queen size bed was very comfortable and the room had a very nice new, large, bathroom. We had a great view of the mountains out our dining area window. It actually felt like we were on a getaway, not just staying at a hotel. It's a quick zip into town (we had a rental car) and if you aren't up for driving there is a shuttle and plenty of taxis. We could have walked but it isn't recommended in the winter. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianDocEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to here that you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed here March 2011 for 2 nights. We booked it for the wood burning fireplace which is about the only good thing about it. I don't know if they will ever renovate this place, not likely I guess, and if they do they will probably take out the wood burning fireplace. Regardless the bathroom is old and the tub seemed as though it has only been rinsed over time (not actually cleaned). This i'm sure is normal for a hotel but when you have a room that hasn't been renovated in 20 years (guess) it sure is more noticeable. The tv is still a CRT style, are you kidding me...get with the times. Because of this we could not hook up our laptop to play movies. Had to settle for lodgenet at $14 a pop. Wireless internet is free, but slow and unreliable. This hotel obviously survives by the fact that it is located in Banff, other than that look elsewhere...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesweetaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

We appreciate hearing your comments about our resort. We wanted to let you know that there is a renovation program in place at the resort. We have completed two thirds of the rooms with plans to complete the remainder of the property this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We have now been coming to RMR for many years. Over the last few years the rooms have gradually been refurbished with small extras like free wifi in the rooms. The rooms are small, but this is a limitation of the National Park, as are the limitations on how many and where barbecues can be.
Although located outside of town, there is ashuttle bus every hour into the centre.
Coaches to Lake Louise Ski Hill leave from this hotel and you are first on/last off on return.
The key to this place is the personal service where all the front desk staff wish to do is accommodate you...if they can, they will.
For the price, I feel this is the best value in Town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at the resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort and beautiful Banff National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

a great resort, 5 minutes away from from town but feels a thousand miles away, a shuttle to town on the hour,(sometimes at your call), skifield pick up daily, restaurant and bar , pool spa etc all right there, staff are all so hospitable

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2011

We appreciate your kind comments about your stay at the resort. You certainly do get the best of both worlds being on the outskirts of town in Banff National Park and close to all the action downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

On our fourth night during our six night stay some yahoo decided it would be a good idea to bang and pound on our one bedroom condo several times during the wee hours of the morning . On our last night the nicky nicky nine door prankster struck again. The hotel security (one guy) who also had to monitor 7 other properties under the Banff Lodging Co. property management was helpful but limited in his ability to assist . So needless to say not very effective security and no cameras on premise to ensure the safety of guests. Kind of concerning for anyone considering a stay at this resort.

The resort seemed like the ideal spot to take my two young children aged 5 and 7 until we realized that we had to walk from our unit, across the street, to the pool in the main building in the middle of winter -30's. The pull out sofa had the worst thin lumpy mattress next to a very drafty large patio window and door. The walls are paper thin you can hear everything above and behind you. The kids program seemed like a good, well planned out program for the week until we arrived the first day and a rude staff member told me that the kids activity listed from 10am to 11am was not the full hour (only around 45mins....) oh and that I had to stay with my kids as they were not a free babysitting service. nice.
My advise would be stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiShi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 10, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We take all feedback good and bad very seriously and use any negative feedback we receive to help improve our standards for future guests.

It is very unfortunate that your sleep was disturbed by the actions of what we can only assume were other guests and I do apologise that your stay with us was not as relaxing or enjoyable as it could or should have been.

We do have a very strict three strikes and you are out policy for guests that are having a good time at the expense of others but when we can not identify the offending party or catch them in the act it is difficult for us to find a solution sometimes.

I believe that I am familiar with the incident you mention and can confirm that once reported to us we did send security around to the block on numerous occasions but unfortunately as you know they were unable to find the culprits or any evidence of them around the unit.

We do indeed have a security camera system in place at the resort and are in the process of improving it.

I most certainly agree that no guest should ever feel unsafe at our resort and as such if anyone were to let us know that they were not happy staying here for security reasons we would be happy to offer them a room in one of our 7 sister hotels that do not have separate outdoor access buildings.

We are definitely looking into options for making the sofa beds more comfortable and we will be speaking to the staff with regards to your comments on the children’s activities.

Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention and should you wish to discuss them further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards,
Jim Milley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We absolutely loved this resort! We have stayed at the Fairmount Banff Springs, Banff Park Lodge and Red Carpet Inn (to name a few) and we just returned from staying at this resort and it was absolutely our favorite place to stay! We will most definitely be returning!

The resort boasts an indoor pool, 2 hottubs (indoor and out), squash courts and a nice gym. The pub, Peppers, is open until midnight, has pool, a dartboard, off sales and the bartender was great. There is also a restaurant, Seasons, but we didn't try it so I can't comment.

We booked the one bedroom condo with kitchen and it was perfect. We spent two nights here one with just the two of us and the other with a couple friend of ours. The room was great - full fridge and stove (no oven) and lots of dishes (everything you will need and then some) and a dishwasher in the kitchen. The living room/kitchen area boasts enough space to comfortably entertain 4-6 people. There is a pull-out coach and a separate bedroom with queen sized bed. Also, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the bathroom is nice and big, not crammed in like an afterthought. Also a wood fireplace, TV and wireless internet which was free and had great signal strength.

We ordered firewood to the room ($7.35) and room service a few times (food is average but decently priced and always arrived quickly and hot). We played at the squash courts ($5 for an hour or use the coupon in the book they give you when you check in) and used the gym - all of the facilities were well kept. Can't comment on the pool as we didn't use it but, despite what others have said, locker rooms appeared clean to us.

The resort is right off the highway a little bit removed from Banff but, as others have said, there is a free shuttle bus every hour into town until 11 pm and we found it kind of nice to be somewhat removed from the hustle/bustle of Banff. Great view of the mountains from the resort and there's a nice drive (or walk) up to tunnel mountain really close by. Yes, there is some walking involved to get to the main building with the amenities at the resort but it's like two minutes outside and in a beautiful setting so we didn't mind at all. And we were staying in one of the farthest away suites.

Definitely could see families enjoying this place but I would add the caveat that the resort also has all the makings of a great party place, so maybe stick to weekday getaways if you're bringing kids. Definitely excellent value for price paid, staff were all friendly and courteous and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasha_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Thank you for your kind words about the resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 33 in Banff
2,230 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,012 reviews
2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $85 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing