We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but avoid standard rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, but avoid standard rooms!”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We recently spent one night in Banff, after spending the day skiing with some visiting Irish friends. The location of this hotel is great and for us had been the selling point. We were in Banff for such a short period of time we wanted to be able to easily walk to restaurants, shops, and pubs.

We found the rooms basic, but clean. Front desk and bar staffs were friendly. We had a standard room that opened up to an indoor courtyard (no fresh air). While we noticed that the room was a bit warm and stuffy upon check-in, the hotel’s air conditioning / air circulation problems seemed to become more noticeable at night. We felt like we were trying to sleep in the middle of a summer heat wave, and tossed and turned most of the night. Our first clue probably should have been that the room came with two desk fans, one of which was set up on the dresser, having recently been used (who needs a fan in the middle of winter in the Rocky Mountains)? Our Irish friends had a similar standard room down the hall and had the same experience. As we were checking out, we mentioned the problem, and while staff indicated they appreciated the feedback, it was clear from their reaction that this was a frequent comment from guests.

The location is wonderful, and if the standard rooms had a well functioning air conditioning system, this hotel would be good value. I expect the exterior facing superior and premium rooms would be better as you’d have the option of letting cool air in from outside, but unfortunately our experience was ruined by the poor sleep we got, and we won’t be back. Next time we’ll go back to our tried and true favorites, The Rim Rock or the Delta Royal Canadian Lodge, which although less conveniently located and a little more expensive, have always been a great experience for us.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you reserve and pay for a premium or superior room, and even at that, I would be cautious about staying here in the height of a hot Alberta summer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CndMunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    375
    276
    121
    65
See reviews for
252
484
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We booked through Inghams to ski at Banff and were delighted by the Ptarmigan Inn. Our room was a 'superior', well-decorated with 2 very comfortable queen beds, TV, ensuite bathroom and external window with stunning mountain views. (Beware the rooms which have internal windows facing into a quadrangle, as we think that these might suffer from lack of fresh air at night - these may be the 'standard' rooms). A fridge would have been appreciated, but there were ice-dispensers on each floor so drinks could be kept cool in the ice bucket! There is a very nice bar, a restaurant serving both a la carte and an excellent buffet breakfast ($14 plus tax for unlimited cold & hot selection) and specialising in pizza & pasta in the evenings (we can't report on the evening meals as we always ventured out into the town, 2 minutes walk away). The steamroom, sauna and 2 hotpools were much enjoyed after a day's skiing and were a great place to socialise. In spite of its central location, our room was blissfully quiet, the silent nights only being gently disturbed by the dolorous hooting of distant trains as they passed along the Canadian Pacific Railway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillipoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn for two nights in March and found the rooms so dirty I had to switch rooms three times and all three times the rooms were dirty with hair in the beds, the bathroom and the tub. As well as the phones being dirty with sticky honey/vaseline type substance on them. There was not even a staff available to help me move all my bags around from room to room... TERRIBLE stay!

The staff was very unhelpful as welll and barely offered any compensation for the trouble. If my co-worker hadn't been staying at the same hotel I would of left the same night I got there.

I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I found the hotel very well situated and the staff were always eager and helpful with any questions regarding sight seeing and entertainment. Its small and friendly and therefore you get a very personal service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This was my second trip to Banff and the Ptarmigan is probably the best place to stay! It's right in the middle of the main strip in Banff so everything is an easy walk away. The staff at the front desk and bar are super friendly and know everything about the town and local ski resorts. Also, the rooms had super comfortable down mattress pads and awesome mountain views. Only one negative, I got back late one night and the underground parking was full. The back entrances were locked for the night (so secure), so I had to drive around the back to their above ground parking and walk back around to get in the hotel. This is still the only place I'll stay the next time I'm in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbiesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

There were 3 of us and we had a really great time. The lodgings were really nice, the rooms are large with lots of windows and overlooking a quiet street. The service is excellent, the staff courteous and friendly, trhe rooms were immaculately cleaned daily

We had breakfast daily in the restaurant - and really enjoyed the friendly ambience. The front office staff were great, guiding us with recommendations and bookings for excursions, advising where to change money, shopping. We visited the glaciers, went into the Rockies, went up the gondola for panoramic views of the neighbouring mountains

Heartily commend the staff and services and hope all who read this will give this Inn a "must stay at"

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2nd City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My friend and I stayed over a long weekend in March. Our itinerary included skiing at one of the local mountains as well as a heli-ski trip. The staff, especially the front desk, were extremely helpful and experienced with great advice ranging from places to ski to places to eat within our price range. I would highly recommend this hotel and most especially for the service given the large amount of accommodation choices within the area. Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persian_Beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 32 in Banff
1,172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing