We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, but not for what we paid.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 24, 2009

It really was a wonderful room (premium), soft bed, lots of pillows. Fridge was empty (honour bar would be nice at that rate). Jetted tub was too noisy to use. LCD TV but no HD channels. Underground parking didn't have enough space and the parking spots were very tight. After check-in we ended up parking in their outside lot and then had trouble finding our way back to the outside parking. Even the bellhop didn't know the way through the narrow hallways. The room was warm (no air) but at least a window opened wide.

As for the free wireless internet, we had to go to the lobby or restaurant to use it since the signal was too weak in our room. Typical false advertising and very disappointing. They need to add more access points if they wish to advertise this as an amenity.

On the bright side, the restaurant (The Meatball) is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinguni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

Thank you for writing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our company motto is that we do not like to pay for extras when we travel, and nor should you and this is why we offer free parking, free wireless internet and free local bus passes. We do strive to have these amenities accessible to all of our guest, occasionally we fall short and some of the items may not be available. In regards to the free wireless internet, we do our very best to offer a reliable connection, however this is not possible 100% of the time, however we will continue to strive to have all of these amenities available 100% of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
There are newer reviews for Banff Ptarmigan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

Having stayed in Banff in September 2008 we wanted to return to ski and chose the Ptarmigan Inn because it was near the centre and the ski bus stopped outside. It was excellent in every way. The location was perfect in that we never had far to walk when eating out and the supermarket was just round the corner. The ski bus stops just outside the door and tour buses either picked us up at the door or just next door.

The room was spacious and comfortable and the beds bliss after a day's skiing. Clothes dried overnight in the bathroom, the refreshment tray was replenished each day (we left a note for extra tea instead of coffee and got it) and there was plenty of clothes storage and hanging space - important when you have a load of ski gear. And talking of ski gear, the ski lockers downstairs were handy for access yet very secure and my husband appreciated the workshop room for ski maintenance.

Our room was internal with a balcony overlooking an interior atrium which felt very spacious although it meant you didn't know what the weather was like till you got to the front door. With temperatures outside of minus 15 to minus 35 the room was lovely and cosy but we did learn to pop downstairs and look outside before finally dressing for the day!

The free wifi available in the public areas was great and I was able to access it in our room which meant I could keep in touch with friends and family at home and make them envious! The bar area was friendly and welcoming with an open fire. We had several good nights there and found the bar staff very helpful and knowledgable about local events etc. We were having such a good time we were reluctant to tear ourselves away to eat but that was no problem as the bar staff arranged for the food to be brought through to the bar. The Caramba salad was so good I have been making it at home for guests. After a day's skiing, it was very relaxing to savour the hotel's pizza and Caramba salad served in the bar with a convivial crowd and an open fire and lots of cocktails to try out after. My taste buds tingle just thinking of it.

And I haven't even mentioned the hot spa pools yet. The skiing was brilliant and we skiied all day every day for 11 days non-stop and returned each day to soak in the pool and have all the strain massaged away by hot jets of water while we exchanged tall stories of our skiing prowess with the others who became "regulars".

We only ate in the dining room once and found the portions very generous (but remember we are oldies and may have smaller appetites). The food was delicious and although I don't remember there being a wide choice of dishes that was ok as we like to eat out and sample various other places of which there are plenty in Banff.

All in all the hotel was perfect for our needs. The staff were efficient and friendly and we were made to feel welcome. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MorayTraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We spent 3 nights in this hotel during our honeymoon travels, but think we were very badly advised. We had upgraded our room when booking but don't believe we got it. Rooms are very basic - we requested a room change given that we had paid an upgrade charge but were told that nothng else was available. We learnt whilst there that all the best rooms are reserved for the coach parties as the hotel rely on the ongoing business of the tour companies!!

We couldn't sleep at night because of the ongoin racket of the ice machine and lifts located outside our room!! This was a terrible start to our honeymoon...

The staff didn't appear to know what they were talking about, but I put this down to staff changes (students I believe taking time off from study!) due to the time of year - winter ski breaks were ending and sprint summer activities were jsut beginning...

Banff is an excellent location to stay - this hotel just didn't live up to much...

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvs2travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for the Bozo Cup 2009 and it was fabulous! Great rooms and amazing location! The views were beautiful and the staff was exceptional! Also, the restaurant in the hotel, the "Caramba" had spectacular food!!! We brought all of our friends there!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Try not to stay in room 103 or 104, the boiler room is underneath this floor, and found it very noisy at night and very hot. The windows open on the car park so not ideal from a safety point of view. We asked to be moved, and we had no problem with our request.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnetteWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

On the last day of our 10 day ski holiday, my husband fell and injured his knee. It was later determined that he tore both the ACL and MCL in his left knee.

When the front desk staff were informed that we were in need of medical assistance, they immediately gave information/advice as to the best way to address the situation and provided vouchers for a cab to and from the local hospital. Over the evening and throughout the night, they were invaluable in the transfer/receipt of numerous documents to and from our insurance company.

We were due to leave the following morning on the 7 am airport shuttle to commence our trip back to Australia via Hololulu so it was imperative that our travel plans be confirmed/approved by the insurance company.

Thanks to the assistance of the front desk staff, all the paperwork needed at a time like this arrived in the right place for the right people.
Thank you.
Margaret Whalen

The location is great. Easy walking distance to the downtown area, restaurants and shops, and, most importantly for those in ski boots and carrying skis, with the ski area shuttle busstop at the doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussieskiteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2009

We are so regretful that your husband injured himself while on vacation, and we wish him a speedy recovery. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you are able to return in the future, without any skiing injuries, perhaps we will see you again next year?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This hotel is nice, clean, comfortable and with in walking distance from downtown Banff. It is a bit confusing to find the parking as the underground parking is around the back on a side street. We were on the second floor looking out onto the back street. Great view of the mountain. The bed was very comfortable with a feather topper and pillows. The room was large and clean but the hallways were narrow and confusing to find your way around. The hotel rooms are built around a large atrium and have inside rooms that open out into this atrium. Not sure of this rooms purpose but there are chairs in there and it is very quiet. I recommend a room facing the outside if you stay there in the warmer months as there is no air conditioning in the rooms, although they do provide you with a large fan. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The underground parking garage is easily accessible to the elevators and secure.
There is no pool at the facilities but there is a hot tub in the spa area. We never used it. Not sure if you have to pay to use it. There didn't seem to be anyone there when we went down to look. You do have access to pools and hot tubs at any of the sister hotels along the strip and they are walking distance away. We went to the Inns of Banff at the End. The hot tub in outside, huge and on an upper floor and the view of the mountains is amazing. This hotel was very confusing to find your way around. You have to check in at the desk and get a access card. The pool at this hotel is small but nice. You have to go through the front lobby to the pool which we didn't like. There is also a nice hot tub by the pool. The other hotel hot tub that we looked at is The Fox. It is a grotto hot tub (underground) looks like a cave, but we didn't have time. There are about two other choices of hotels for pools and hot tubs you have access to that we didn't explore.
This hotel have restaurant facilities on site that looked nice but we didn't use. The only complaint about this hotel is the annoying East Indian music in the elevators otherwise it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilinda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $126 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing