We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with the family, close to downtown and a grocery store”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with the family, close to downtown and a grocery store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

For us, this was a very convenient hotel as it was just off the main street leading to downtown. For convenience, just around the corner is a Safeway grocery store to help you cut down on costs. Anything you need, food, toiletries, etc. You should be able to find there. The front staff were great with a very fast checkin and checkout experience. The room itself was 2 queens which were nicely separated so each set of two people had their private area which was great. The kids could go to sleep while mom and dad were busy planning the next day activities. The rate also include a complimentary buffet breakfast with cooked to order omelettes, great way to start the morning. In addition, they have an underground parade to keep your vehicle safe.

The only cons I can think of was that the WiFi was extremely slow, but don't fret there are many coffee shops in downtown with free WiFi so no worries. The other minor thing was that the room did not have A/C but it did have two fans which did the job so we were okay.

For future trips, I wouldn't mind staying here for a skiing trip as I said its conveniently located and has everything you need to start your day. Cheers. 8)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EtownTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    368
    273
    119
    64
See reviews for
249
475
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
231 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

As part of the Rocky Mountaineer Train trip, after second day's journey, we were put up in this small hotel in the small but very beautiful town of Banff in Canada. Although small, the hotel provides all normal amenities including free wi fi for its guests. However, the computer in the lobby level which is free for use by guests, was not properly working. Such things need to be kept in order to enable guests to use when needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Well what's to say, situated in more or less on the main street of Banff 10 min walk to centre of town. Breakfast buffet very good, rooms clean, excellent bar, 2 large Jacuzzi's, great safe ski storage and the bus service for Lake Louise, Sunshine and Norquay ski slopes pick up out side front door. Out there 2011 with my family also 2009 and heading back Feb 15. Booked with Canadian Affair but if you search on line may get flights, hotel etc slightly cheaper. All in all The Ptarmigan a great place to stay.

Richard

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowPlough5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

For the price paid at this hotel, it should have a/c. We were supplied with a table fan which did little to alleviate the discomfort. I noted a small space heater, so I'd be a little suspicious if there's heat in the room during the colder months. Both the room and bathroom were very small and the bare minimum amount of towels were supplied. The room and the entire hotel needs updating and feels shabby. It's obviously an older hotel since the hallways are very narrow. The only upside is the hotel's location in town which is very central and close to bars, restaurants, etc. If you have another hotel option, take it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This place looks great from far. But it is far from good. The beds are literary falling apart. They sag in the center and before I left I stripped the bed to discover the bed all torn up. The tiles in the bathroom were moldy and the icing on the cake was that there is NO AC in the rooms. I had to wait 30 min for a fan cause the only other employee working that night was scrubbing the floors.

The positive is the breakfast that was included.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J-n29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Got a good deal on a 2 night stay before high season and with free breakfast, parking, and bus passes we couldn't pass it up. Had stayed here before about 20 years ago (ouch, that long!) and knew what to expect. Had a room overlooking an inside atrium (not the front lobby one) and it was surprisingly quiet. Room was small but we managed to fit family luggage creatively in the room. Did not like the lack of fresh air circulation in the room. I guess we could have left the atrium door open, but chain lock was broken.
Breakfast was bland on the buffet side, but the custom omelettes were very good.
Parking garage is very tight and does not leave much room around for full size cars. Easier to just go down one more level where we found almost no one else.
Bathroom was small with thin wall to room.
Only would stay here if you get a good deal or if you really just plan on sleeping in the room and can accept all its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Overlooking inside atrium (not lobby one) are quiet. Just leave balcony door open for some air circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Dudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with family in June, 2014.

The hotel looks pretty run down and kind of average for the rates they charge and the rooms and bathrooms are extremely small. The washbasin was outside the bathroom, which was pretty awkward and uncomfortable. Location though is very nice, right in the heart of the town.

The bed too soft and caused a bad backache for the next few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreyance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing