We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, great value, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal location, great value, would stay again”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very good value for money and in a perfect location on the edge of downtown Banff (this becomes very important when the temp is -30c, you really don't want to walk too far down Banff Avenue to get back to your hotel!) and ski bus pick up at the front door. Friendly helpful staff always on hand. My room was at the back of the hotel with a lovely mountain view and was quiet enough. Extremely comfortable bed and bedlinen, no fridge but the balcony served that purpose. The free breakfast was a real bonus with a good choice and made to order omelettes. Enjoyed the hot tubs too.... who needs treadmills after all that skiing? Would definitely stay again, but avoid the 'standard' rooms with the internal atrium 'view'.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaO31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    382
    278
    122
    66
See reviews for
258
492
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed 6 nights as we were in town to see our son. The hotel itself is what you would expect for the money and does seem good value. Our room was on the second floor at the end of a corridor which meant we didn't have many neighbours so it should have been quiet. However, we were woken early every morning by people getting up early bathing and flushing the toilet. We have stayed at enough hotels to know you will always hear noise but this seemed overly loud to us and meant we were awake by 6am every day.

Breakfast is "free". Its not too bad although hubby didn't enjoy the sausages and egg. It was a nice surprise to find pancakes and there did appear to be something for everyone, although on busy days items didn't seem to be replaced very quickly. We also ate at the on site restaurant (The Meatball) and their food was so good we returned for a second night.

Location is fantastic, staff are friendly and when our kettle stopped working it was replaced immediately. Wi-Fi rarely worked in our room but if you wandered nearer to reception you could usually get a signal.

Overall, Banff is an expensive place to stay and the Inn is great value for money but if I return I will try somewhere else and hopefully get a little more sleep! However, if you're an early riser try it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann6712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie, ontario, canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Great value. Linens were wonderful. Stayed in premium room, which has mini fridge, fireplace, jacuzzi tub. Faces the street, which means you hear buses idling. Didn't notice noise so much on third morning. Breakfast included is good. All staff greet you with warm smiles. Location is fabulous. Fitnes centre is misnomer. Has out of order treadmill, 25 lb weights, in side corner of pool area. Great bargain all around.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gentletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and really enjoyed the room and free buffet breakfast. I also liked the location is right on the edge of downtown Banff so you can walk everywhere.

The weekend, my friend and I had small suite on the third floor. Not sure I would call it a suite as it seemed more like a storage from converted into a room with two double beds. We did say that we weren't happy and was told to consider booking at one of their newer locations The Fox. I really wasn't sold on the customer service provided.

It's too bad when a repeat customer decides to book elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: If you are offered a suite at this location ask if it's been up-dated and if it has two queens n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerrogers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here 1 night before going too another hotel for a hockey tournament. Soon as we checked in the staff were warm and welcoming,the rooms were pretty average a bed,a TV and a table.I went to the hot tubs and they were very well maintained,The breakfast was pretty good with bacon,hash browns,pancakes,sausage,omelette station.The location is great right in town.Overall If I could I would give this place, a for and a half stars

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed in 10+ different hotels in town but find myself always coming back to the Ptarmigan. Nothing matches it in terms of value for money, location and the friendliness of the staff who work there. The rooms are well kept, the beds are AMAZING and the workers there can't do enough to help you. For people who are saying the rooms need an update, go stay at the Fairmont and pay $450 a night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyPerth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week and had an incredible time!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were eager to help us get our room ready before regular check in time, friendly at the buffet and restaurant/bar, and helped us plan our Johnston canyon ice walk.

We also loved the location of our hotel. We were within walking distance of the town area. It was only a couple blocks away, and that was really nice.

Our hotel was kept clean and our room was spotless. We also found our room a good size with a little balcony overlooking the lobby!

We would definitely stay here again, and look forward to it :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing